Product Reviews

Substantial 800W motor strips and sands large surfaces quickly. Dust bag extraction for clean and tidy work.

Substantial 800W motor strips and sands large surfaces quickly. Dust bag extraction for clean and tidy work.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Review 1 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Excellent Sander
27 Jun 2014
By NorfolkLad
, Norfolk
"I have just purchased this to replace my old one which sadly died. It it much better than the old one, lighter and easier to use with ergonomic hand holds. It was also priced very competitively. Thoroughly recommended product. I have only rated the 'Reliability' as average as I haven't had it long enough to judge this."
Review 2 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Surprisingly good
26 Jun 2014
By JackOfAllTrades65
, Northampton
"I am really impressed by this tool.
At the price, I wasn't expecting it to be this good.
It may not stand up to everyday use but I used almost continuously for nearly five hours.
The first belt shredded soon after starting. I think I might have misunderstood the instructions.
I tried to run the belt in the centre of the plate and it rubbed against a piece of metal that seems to serve no purpose other than to give the belt something to rub against.
Once I realised that I needed to centre the belt on the rollers, not the plate, I had no further problems.
I would recommend this to anyone.
The only reason that I have given only three stars for reliability because I won't really be able to judge that until I have owned it for a while. It certainly seems to be well made."
Review 3 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good tool
16 Jun 2014
By RetroDennis
, Penwith
"I'm only a DIYer so I don't give this as much punishment as a professional but for me it does the job I need it to do. A good buy."
Review 4 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energer Belt Sander
27 May 2014
By HarryLulia
, Cambridge
"Great little product - probably not for the long term but if you have a need to sand some surfaces quickly the value for money is great. I have had one of these before - they seem to have beefed up the rollers- previously the rubber ones used to wear and the belt tracking would then suffer - these seem to be a bit tougher. Time may tell but I've finished the main job and the sander is fine. Noisy - suggest wearing ear defenders in tight spaces"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energer Belt Sander
18 Aug 2014
By Giveitago1
, Solihull
"Just the job! works brilliantly and quick, just what I needed."
Review 6 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energer 3" Belt sander
2 Jul 2014
By devious
, treorchy
"Great value for the money. Only had it a few days and used only once so cannot really comment on reliability."
Review 7 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Worth a punt
22 Apr 2014
By Andyjoiner
, Kent
"Im a Carpenter & Joiner and i've worked in workshops using expensive Makita belt sanders day in day out but have never owned my own.
Im more of a site/domestic joiner these days and just needed a belt sander to sand up some panel doors and a bespoke arched door I had just made for a client.
Upon realising HSS hire was £25 to hire the makita belt sander for ONE day and Screwfix had a belt sander to buy for £28 i thought it must be worth a punt.
The belt sander performed exactly as it should and cleaned up the doors to the same standard I could have expected from any belt sander ive used previously and got the job done. Reason its cheap is its build quality is cheap and motor is slower. I noticed that when the belt travelled in to the side of the rollers (as it will on any belt sander not adjusted perfectly) it chewed up the plastic casing which is not a problem on more expensive models. Cant comment on it any more than my days usage but it still works, its still in the van and if you need to hire a belt sander for a day might just be worth getting one of these and maybe getting a few more jobs out of it!"
Review 8 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fine for the amateur
22 Apr 2014
By MickeyDaFish
, Greater London
"I was worried about this due to the cheapness and the other reviews. But after using it to sand most of a floor I am happy I brought it.
Used it for about 8 hours straight with no issues.
Easy to use. Powerful enough and works well.
I would recommend this to any of my friends."
Review 9 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap and cheerful
16 Mar 2013
By HairyAnimal
, Gloucestershire
"The trouble with picking the cheapest of anything is that it can be a bit of a gamble ... will it be good enough? This is (currently) Screwfix's cheapest belt sander and I have a large area of wood that needs sanding, so I wasn't too sure it would be up to it. I needn't have worried, the job is 3/4 finished and it's fine. It's relatively light in weight, which has meant that it's not too stressful when sanding above head/shoulder level. Sanding for hours at a time, doesn't seem to be a problem for it; it doesn't overheat (though conditions have been cold) and the only interruptions to work-flow are to empty the dust bag and to change the belt (very quick & easy). A lot of the dust seems to go in the bag, but inevitably, some doesn't, so eye, nose & mouth protection is essential. Another must is ear protection: at full speed the noise is seriously unpleasant and probably risks damage to one's hearing as the tool is inevitably used close to the body. I didn't find instructions in the manual on how to adjust the running position of the belt, but it didn't take long to figure out which control adjusts it. Overall, I'm pleased with it - it does all I require."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cheap sander
21 May 2014
By OccasionalDIY
, newport
"seemed to work all right for a hour but then belt broke and I could then see why .
a piece of plastic had jutted out from under the belt - not good
Promptly returned and replace by screw-fix,
no prob's but how long will this one last ???
I know its their cheapest but it should still be fit for purpose.
Give it a try yourselves but keep the receipt...
"
Review 11 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap for a reason
16 Mar 2014
By phoneblower
, London
"I purchased this to replace a different cheap one that gave up the ghost after 10 years work and this has lasted a week before giving up after cleaning off old tile adhesive."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 failures in two hours
16 Aug 2013
By Eveshamdiyer
, Evesham
"I bought this at 2:15pm. It's now 4:25 and I'm returning my SECOND sander. First one lasted 4 mins before stopping suddenly. Second one was MUCH better - that lasted 35 minutes before folding the sanding belt back under itself, jamming the mechanism and stopping.
OK - it's the cheapest on here but come on Screwfix - we trust you to sell stuff that works. I've lost one and half hours and 30 miles in petrol and couldn't recommend this product for filing paper. Disappointing.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.