Product Reviews

Energer 3" Belt Sander 230V

Energer 3" Belt Sander 230V
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
22 of 28(79%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Review 1 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great value
4 May 2015
By Alfrombristol
, Bristol
" Solidly built and comfortable to use. Replacement for my previous (other make) which sadly died, but impressed with the variable speed feature on this unit. The tracking control is a bit clumsy as it seems to vibrate loose and needs regular tightening to keep belt in centre. Reliability yet to be proven. "
Review 2 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Energetic Belt sander
8 Mar 2015
By DWKW
, Glossop
" Sturdy built machine. Comfortable to use. As good as any machines experienced over the years. Reliability longer term still needs to be proved. Very pleased with the purchase and unbelievable delivery time, free, having purchased other items. "
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tidy piece of kit
6 Nov 2014
By daveylamp
, Walsall
" Brought this to sand my hall floor. Did the job great. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DIY tool
3 Nov 2014
By StanTheDIYMan
, South East
" Does the job really well. Solid enough for diy tasks. Only used a couple of times but hopefully will prove reliable for years to come. Dust bag a little loose but easily solved with a piece of tape to ensure snug fit. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Excellent Sander
27 Jun 2014
By NorfolkLad
, Norfolk
" I have just purchased this to replace my old one which sadly died. It it much better than the old one, lighter and easier to use with ergonomic hand holds. It was also priced very competitively. Thoroughly recommended product. I have only rated the 'Reliability' as average as I haven't had it long enough to judge this. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Surprisingly good
26 Jun 2014
By JackOfAllTrades65
, Northampton
" I am really impressed by this tool.
At the price, I wasn't expecting it to be this good.
It may not stand up to everyday use but I used almost continuously for nearly five hours.
The first belt shredded soon after starting. I think I might have misunderstood the instructions.
I tried to run the belt in the centre of the plate and it rubbed against a piece of metal that seems to serve no purpose other than to give the belt something to rub against.
Once I realised that I needed to centre the belt on the rollers, not the plate, I had no further problems.
I would recommend this to anyone.
The only reason that I have given only three stars for reliability because I won't really be able to judge that until I have owned it for a while. It certainly seems to be well made. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good tool
16 Jun 2014
By RetroDennis
, Penwith
" I'm only a DIYer so I don't give this as much punishment as a professional but for me it does the job I need it to do. A good buy. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energer Belt Sander
27 May 2014
By HarryLulia
, Cambridge
" Great little product - probably not for the long term but if you have a need to sand some surfaces quickly the value for money is great. I have had one of these before - they seem to have beefed up the rollers- previously the rubber ones used to wear and the belt tracking would then suffer - these seem to be a bit tougher. Time may tell but I've finished the main job and the sander is fine. Noisy - suggest wearing ear defenders in tight spaces "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value
20 May 2015
By RobgeeDIY
, Nantwich
" Bought this to see if it would do the job I had in mind and what further use I would get out of a belt sander with a view to upgrading. The sander is well made, easy to change the sanding belts and performs very well. It has been used on 3 jobs, is very reliable and still going strong. If it fails - which it is showing no signs of doing - I will buy another rather than upgrading to a more expensive make. I have no hesitation recommending this tool. "
Review 10 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value
10 May 2015
By indavillage
, Swansea
" Simple to use, light and fairly cheap ... Im happy with this tool its working well. "
Review 11 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product at a great price
4 May 2015
By RobinP
, Northants
" I purchased this product for a one off job as the price was very appealing. I used it for that job but realised how useful this was and will be using it a lot more now.
It it exactly what I wanted it for and feels a sturdy solid machine. I see no reason it could not be used for quite heavy work.
"
Review 12 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sander broke
22 Apr 2015
By Godan
, Hereford
" my Sander stopped in the middle of a job! This sander was on the Screwfix web site, thought it would see me over, it's working well , sanding doors and facia boards, as with all belt sanders, look out for nails. It's easy to adjust the belt running, the same size belts (cut down) fit power file, bonus!, I would say it's paid for itself already. "
Review 13 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energer 459 belt sander
23 Feb 2015
By TryDIY2
, Norwich.
" Have to say that apart from a fresh air demo, I havn't used this as yet. I intend to soon as a DIYer.
I bought this sander from a new Screwfix shop with10% off,so the price was very keen. I will use in my kitchen on some stubborn heavy duty areas to start with.
Its a basic belt sander which i'm sure will be fine
for my diy use, as it appears to be designed well enough, & made robustly enough for occasional usage, but prob. not strong enough for pro. use.
"
Review 14 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
great for occasional use
18 Dec 2014
By timberwolf1
, London
" I work with a lot of rough wood so tend to be hard on sanders, I've brought £100+ one and cheap ones. I needed to pick up a cheap danger to finish a job, tried this and for the price it's excellent. Pros: low noise, easy belt change, reasonable dust extraction, sturdy.
Cons: dust bag falls off easily, extraction system blocks easily, brushes wore out fast (but it did get heavy use).
"
Review 15 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than expected
6 Dec 2014
By SBlaine12
, Llanelli
" i purchased this item on a whim only due to the cost i thought i would give a cheaper brand a go for a change. i was advised by the guys at my local screwfix that it had not had amazing reviews but then it has only had 16 they told me that energer brand was one of their own and that there are better ones out there. this is something that i know but i thought whatever i'll give it a go so after using the belt sander i must admit its ease of use was awesome and it gives you an overall satisfaction after using it as it leaves the area used by the sender to be perfectly the way that you exactly wanted to be. Would I recommend this item to other people yes go for it you will be pleasantly surprised. "
Review 16 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bang for buck
30 Sep 2014
By Crg90
, Glasgow.
" Bought this as I needed to do quite a large amount of sanding of older wood. And my orbit sander wasn't up to the job. This did a job that would have taken me 3-4 hours in just about an hour. The vacuum bag is grate and saves a lot of cleaning up. Would recommend this to the occasional DIYer. Looks a good solid product but can't fully comment on reliability for every day professional use. But so far so good. "
Review 17 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well designed, great price
20 Aug 2014
By KevinM37
, Biggleswade
" My old sander broke in the middle of preparing an oak Lintel, so I bought this based on price and reviews. The belt on my old one had cut into the body of the machine but this model has a small (replaceable) plate which the belt hits and you know you have to just adjust the roller.
Also the dust bag is a good size and with a wrap of tape around the spout fit nice and tight.
Finally it has a speed control for fine work, all for £30. 3 stars for reliability because I've only used it for 2 days
"
Review 18 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energer Belt Sander
18 Aug 2014
By Giveitago1
, Solihull
" Just the job! works brilliantly and quick, just what I needed. "
Review 19 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energer 3" Belt sander
2 Jul 2014
By devious
, treorchy
" Great value for the money. Only had it a few days and used only once so cannot really comment on reliability. "
Review 20 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Worth a punt
22 Apr 2014
By Andyjoiner
, Kent
" Im a Carpenter & Joiner and i've worked in workshops using expensive Makita belt sanders day in day out but have never owned my own.
Im more of a site/domestic joiner these days and just needed a belt sander to sand up some panel doors and a bespoke arched door I had just made for a client.
Upon realising HSS hire was £25 to hire the makita belt sander for ONE day and Screwfix had a belt sander to buy for £28 i thought it must be worth a punt.
The belt sander performed exactly as it should and cleaned up the doors to the same standard I could have expected from any belt sander ive used previously and got the job done. Reason its cheap is its build quality is cheap and motor is slower. I noticed that when the belt travelled in to the side of the rollers (as it will on any belt sander not adjusted perfectly) it chewed up the plastic casing which is not a problem on more expensive models. Cant comment on it any more than my days usage but it still works, its still in the van and if you need to hire a belt sander for a day might just be worth getting one of these and maybe getting a few more jobs out of it! "
Page : 1 2 next>