Product Reviews

Energer 3" Belt Sander 230V

Energer 3" Belt Sander 230V
Average Customer Rating:
3.611 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
28 of 36(78%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Review 1 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
surprisingly effective
21 Jul 2015
By McKee
, Belfast
" Have used this sander for range of jobs now - has performed surprisingly well - more than adequate for any DIY job.
Putting the hoover on the dust collection port meant the dust was negligible - which can be a real hindrance when sanding.
So far this whole energer range seems to be quite good! "
Review 2 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great value
4 May 2015
By Alfrombristol
, Bristol
" Solidly built and comfortable to use. Replacement for my previous (other make) which sadly died, but impressed with the variable speed feature on this unit. The tracking control is a bit clumsy as it seems to vibrate loose and needs regular tightening to keep belt in centre. Reliability yet to be proven. "
Review 3 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Energetic Belt sander
8 Mar 2015
By DWKW
, Glossop
" Sturdy built machine. Comfortable to use. As good as any machines experienced over the years. Reliability longer term still needs to be proved. Very pleased with the purchase and unbelievable delivery time, free, having purchased other items. "
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tidy piece of kit
6 Nov 2014
By daveylamp
, Walsall
" Brought this to sand my hall floor. Did the job great. "
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DIY tool
3 Nov 2014
By StanTheDIYMan
, South East
" Does the job really well. Solid enough for diy tasks. Only used a couple of times but hopefully will prove reliable for years to come. Dust bag a little loose but easily solved with a piece of tape to ensure snug fit. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Excellent Sander
27 Jun 2014
By NorfolkLad
, Norfolk
" I have just purchased this to replace my old one which sadly died. It it much better than the old one, lighter and easier to use with ergonomic hand holds. It was also priced very competitively. Thoroughly recommended product. I have only rated the 'Reliability' as average as I haven't had it long enough to judge this. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Surprisingly good
26 Jun 2014
By JackOfAllTrades65
, Northampton
" I am really impressed by this tool.
At the price, I wasn't expecting it to be this good.
It may not stand up to everyday use but I used almost continuously for nearly five hours.
The first belt shredded soon after starting. I think I might have misunderstood the instructions.
I tried to run the belt in the centre of the plate and it rubbed against a piece of metal that seems to serve no purpose other than to give the belt something to rub against.
Once I realised that I needed to centre the belt on the rollers, not the plate, I had no further problems.
I would recommend this to anyone.
The only reason that I have given only three stars for reliability because I won't really be able to judge that until I have owned it for a while. It certainly seems to be well made. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good tool
16 Jun 2014
By RetroDennis
, Penwith
" I'm only a DIYer so I don't give this as much punishment as a professional but for me it does the job I need it to do. A good buy. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energer Belt Sander
27 May 2014
By HarryLulia
, Cambridge
" Great little product - probably not for the long term but if you have a need to sand some surfaces quickly the value for money is great. I have had one of these before - they seem to have beefed up the rollers- previously the rubber ones used to wear and the belt tracking would then suffer - these seem to be a bit tougher. Time may tell but I've finished the main job and the sander is fine. Noisy - suggest wearing ear defenders in tight spaces "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good sander
20 Aug 2015
By Paparon
, Falkirk
" Bought this to assist with the sanding of blocks cut from tree stumps,worked tirelessly for 2 hours with no problems as to sanding ability however the dust bag is as much use as a chocolate fire guard,the dust kept coming out through the bag as if it wasn't even there causing all the dust to go everywhere,other than that good piece of kit for a good price. "
Review 11 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Get what you pay for
15 Jul 2015
By cdxli
, Norfolk
" Decided to give this a go, as the price wasnt too offensive.
First impressions, build quality is good, easy to use out of the box, and it sands!
My only observations would be, it runs really hot, and the belt aligner at the front is a bit rubbish, so you'll need to regularly check the belt is aligned, if not, the belt will run to the side, hit the foot and shred the belt. Not sure if that's a common thing with belt sanders, maybe that's what you get for paying for a "quality" brand.
I struggled with my floor a bit with this, but I think that was more down to not using a really coarse paper to begin with, and the number of cut nails the sander encountered - next time I would start with a really course grade and work down... "
Review 12 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cheap replacement
25 Jun 2015
By toggy68
, Aberdeen
" had lent out my bosch but need a belt sander to finish the job. This machine is value for money, maybe doesn't have the finesse of the bosch but does what it was bought for. time will tell re reliability. "
Review 13 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it is designed for.
30 May 2015
By Chriskis
, Slough
" Very good bit of kit for the price, just remember to adjust the belt to stop it rubbing and all is good. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value
20 May 2015
By RobgeeDIY
, Nantwich
" Bought this to see if it would do the job I had in mind and what further use I would get out of a belt sander with a view to upgrading. The sander is well made, easy to change the sanding belts and performs very well. It has been used on 3 jobs, is very reliable and still going strong. If it fails - which it is showing no signs of doing - I will buy another rather than upgrading to a more expensive make. I have no hesitation recommending this tool. "
Review 15 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value
10 May 2015
By indavillage
, Swansea
" Simple to use, light and fairly cheap ... Im happy with this tool its working well. "
Review 16 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product at a great price
4 May 2015
By RobinP
, Northants
" I purchased this product for a one off job as the price was very appealing. I used it for that job but realised how useful this was and will be using it a lot more now.
It it exactly what I wanted it for and feels a sturdy solid machine. I see no reason it could not be used for quite heavy work.
"
Review 17 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sander broke
22 Apr 2015
By Godan
, Hereford
" my Sander stopped in the middle of a job! This sander was on the Screwfix web site, thought it would see me over, it's working well , sanding doors and facia boards, as with all belt sanders, look out for nails. It's easy to adjust the belt running, the same size belts (cut down) fit power file, bonus!, I would say it's paid for itself already. "
Review 18 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energer 459 belt sander
23 Feb 2015
By TryDIY2
, Norwich.
" Have to say that apart from a fresh air demo, I havn't used this as yet. I intend to soon as a DIYer.
I bought this sander from a new Screwfix shop with10% off,so the price was very keen. I will use in my kitchen on some stubborn heavy duty areas to start with.
Its a basic belt sander which i'm sure will be fine
for my diy use, as it appears to be designed well enough, & made robustly enough for occasional usage, but prob. not strong enough for pro. use.
"
Review 19 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
great for occasional use
18 Dec 2014
By timberwolf1
, London
" I work with a lot of rough wood so tend to be hard on sanders, I've brought £100+ one and cheap ones. I needed to pick up a cheap danger to finish a job, tried this and for the price it's excellent. Pros: low noise, easy belt change, reasonable dust extraction, sturdy.
Cons: dust bag falls off easily, extraction system blocks easily, brushes wore out fast (but it did get heavy use).
"
Review 20 for Energer ENB459SDR 800W 3" Belt Sander 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than expected
6 Dec 2014
By SBlaine12
, Llanelli
" i purchased this item on a whim only due to the cost i thought i would give a cheaper brand a go for a change. i was advised by the guys at my local screwfix that it had not had amazing reviews but then it has only had 16 they told me that energer brand was one of their own and that there are better ones out there. this is something that i know but i thought whatever i'll give it a go so after using the belt sander i must admit its ease of use was awesome and it gives you an overall satisfaction after using it as it leaves the area used by the sender to be perfectly the way that you exactly wanted to be. Would I recommend this item to other people yes go for it you will be pleasantly surprised. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>