Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Erbauer 4" Belt Sander 230-40V

Erbauer 4" Belt Sander 230-40V
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Review 1 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Erbauer ERB378SDR Sander
28 Jul 2015
By Fubab
, Darwen
" I bought this product to sand a floor which it finished with ease,The only problem I had was the zip on the dust bag broke on the 3rd empty after using the sander for the first time.
Took it back to Screwfix where I was asked did I want a replacement or refund I opted for a replacement which I can pick up the next day
The sander performed with ease just a faulty zip "
Review 2 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking Belt Sander
10 Jul 2015
By Oakboy
, Scottish Borders
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Does exactly what it's meant to.
Couldn't afford the more expensive brands and find it hard to believe that they would be worth the extra money.
Like previous Erbauer purchases, this feels well built, comfortable to hold and reliable. Working with green oak beams to remove bandsaw marks etc., and "finishing" sawn oak boards for oak framed extension - this sander is a "beast".
It's heavy/substantial (you would struggle to use this single-handed or above your head) but just let it sit on the piece with its own weight and its works perfectly - "eats" through material effortlessly and is easy to work with. Has already paid for itself is time and effort saved.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She's a Beast!
19 Jun 2015
By moggiex
, Bristol
" This sander has one speed setting set to "Eat Everything".
I bought this sander to do numerous jobs, striping 8 doors, a patio set, a huge dresser & multiple solid wood kitchen worktops. It's excelled at them all.
Reading the other reviews I knew this sander was going to be heavy and it is. It's nothing like a 3" sander and feels well made.
The weight helps with the sanding as hardly any pressure needs to be applied when using it, just steer.
AND you're going to need BOTH hands with this sander. She likes to pull away from you, especially if you do apply pressure when using it.
My biggest tips would be:
When it arrived the belt adjustment was way off and the belt flew off, a few twists of the left side knob and tracking it was easy.
Before using it on anything, try it out on some old stock or on a patch where no-one will see and if it's not clamped down, put at least 2 clamps on.
This sander and lower grit belts will remove a lot of material fast. In fact on the patio table top, it was sanded in minutes with a 80 grit belt, ready for a quick spin on higher grit papers with a orbital sander.
Note: Use a higher density grit paper first, several times 180 grit paper worked well, however on a really worn & water damaged kitchen work top, I ended up down at 60 grit because of the water damage (and then worked up wards).
Changing the belt is easy, tilt the sander to the left, flick the arm up and get the arrows pointing the right way and drop in, flick the arm back down again.
The dust collection is really good and the sander comes with two dust collection bags that attach to the top.
I've not used it yet with a vacuum cleaner like I have to do with the random orbital sander because the collection is so good on it.
There is no speed setting, but they got the speed just right which is a moderate speed. Any faster it would clog up easily and any slower would leave grit lines behind.
Clean up is easy. Dump the contents of the sanding bag in the bin and I found that a quick brush round with a soft bristled brush works well for the sides & belt area.
Oh and if one of the sanding belts becomes clogged up with material, such as old kitchen oil, tilt the sander on it's side and use a wire brush to clean the belt. Works a treat!
There are two negatives I can think of:
1. If you were going to be using this to sand a floor (which it would eat for breakfast and ask for seconds, 3rds and then "where is dinner?") is that the belt doesn't go right up to the outside edge as others have noted.
2. The carry bag is really well made, my only slight niggle is that the top flap with the velcro on it could have been an inch longer so it's easier to close. And yea that's a minor one :)
Would I buy it again?
Oh yea!
Its by far my favourite purchase this year. It's a beast and is perfect for the grunt work, finish with higher grit papers on a smaller sander and I've been really impressed with the results. "
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great kit
4 Mar 2015
By jigglyjohn
, Sheffield
" I have bought several Erbaur tools now and I am never disappointed with the performance and quality - highly delighted "
Review 5 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
powerfull
25 Dec 2014
By jadlyn
, bracknell
" when i received this product it was larger than i thought it would be and when i put it to use.
powerful or what it took of like a rocket. and the results where better than i expected.it's a perfect tool 10 out of 10
"
Review 6 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Sander
10 Oct 2014
By Niki
, Bath
" I have a Dewalt 3" sander, but bought this 4" sander for some floor sanding.
I was quite surprised at how much bigger and heavier the 4" sanders are and indeed they are much more suited to floors than their smaller brethren. If you need a lighter, more maneuverable sander for general purpose sanding I would recommend a 3" sander.
The motor is nice and smooth and relatively quiet. Speed is fixed at about "moderate" which is fine for most jobs, especially this the larger belt sanders are not really "general purpose" machines. Speed control seems more suited to a 3" sander in my opinion.
It tracks well, and it's as easy to change belts as you would expect. As one other reviewer said, buy good belts. These machines sand at an alarming rate, so cheap belts wear out pretty fast.
"
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Sander
8 Aug 2014
By Hemobbad
, Windermere
" Has a real quality Feel to it and really does make light work of sanding removing a significant amount of material compared to an orbital sander. dust extraction is great when connect to a standard vacuum cleaner. Would definitely recommend this product. "
Review 8 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erbauer 4" Sander
18 Jul 2014
By scan
, Uxbridge
" I've just sanded the Kitchen floor. Done a great job. It is heavy and powerful so don't let it runaway from you. I've hired the commercial ones before. This does an equally good job but takes a little longer and less damage. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good tool.
8 Nov 2013
By JITSU
, Chippenham
" I needed a 4'' Belt Sander for a refurb job on large quantity of Iroko which had been varnished and badly scored. I bought the Erbauer on price and reviews and I'm glad I did. It's a great Sander and cheap at the price. It's very powerful and will happily work all day,which it still does regularly. The only thing you can do to improve this bit of kit is buy some quality belts, the Screwfix ones work OK but bump on the belt joins so to save your machine buy some decent belts.
P40 belts soon took care of the Iroko!
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A sturdy bit of kit
23 Oct 2013
By Mmmorri
, Wales
" I bought this when my old belt sander stripped the rubber off it's drive cylinder. I suspect it was me being too heavy handed so splashed-out on this, one of my favourite brands. It's certainly a sturdy bit of kit and I'm sure it will survive my handling as it's solidly made and not for the feint hearted. I used it on my first job for tidying-up my joinery on a roof refurbishment project and it coped without any problem. Belt tracking was spot-on and the dust bag did a good job although I normally use a vacuum extraction attachment. It will now probably get stored away for the winter and brought out for my next project in the spring.
p.s. Does a good job of sharpening pencils too!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding piece of kit
16 Jun 2013
By BeardedKing
, Stafford
" I bought this sander to do final finishing on all the floorboards in our cottage. 80% of the boards had the Georgian, thick dark shellac wax on them and were an absolute nightmare to strip, so an industrial sander was hired to get the bulk of it off, but this sander came into its own for the final finishing runs.
The sander is a good weight and well balanced, which helps to keep it straight and flush on the surface being sanded. The motor is very powerful and if you're not expecting it, will pull you along with it if you're not careful.
I opted for Makita 100 x 610 belts as the quality was better and unlike myself and other users had experienced with the Screwfix belts, these didn't judder, which was better for getting that perfect finish.
The dust bag is a bit flimsy and the zip on mine broke after about 2 weeks, but the sander comes with an extractor/vacuum attachment, which I have duct taped to an old Dyson hoover. This means that my working environment is 90% dust free and it stops the dust port getting clogged.
Would absolutely recommend this for the keen DIY enthusiast/amateur carpenter or house renovator. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent sander
11 Dec 2012
By denraz
, Wembley
" Bought this belt sander for quite big job reclaimed oak board sanding. This machine went through the boards surface effortlessly. Very powerful tool. Would recommend it if heavy sanding required. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best sander for price...
21 Sep 2012
By Trady
, Warrington
" This is a very good sander. I’ve use it a few time now and it’s done a good job every time. Well worth considering. First one was damaged, plastic dust outlet broken but screwfix exchanged with no problems. "
Review 14 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rolls royce of sanders
21 Mar 2012
By powercrazy
, kent
" overall performance,excellent.Only problem I have,it states that it has variable speed and it has'nt,hence the 2 star rating for features.Got in touch with technical department but they could'nt help me. "
Review 15 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up
22 Sep 2014
By Loadstodo
, Huntley Glouc
" Belt change is simple, as is adjustment. If you want a large powerful budget belt sander this will be it. The supplied fine grit belts bump a fair bit at the joint but better can be easily bought. Have sanded off varnish and taken some sawn timber down to a very fine finish. Was effortless. "
Review 16 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good for the price
4 Jun 2014
By hugzy
, Blackpool
" Not had much use as yet, but works well so far. Will write more after a while when used more. "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tough sander
2 May 2014
By ednotdave
, Kent
" Very pleased, so far, with this sander. Takes a lot off with the right belt, but is quite heavy to hold. A bit too soon to rate for reliability, so 3 stars for now. "
Review 18 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Belting machine
17 May 2012
By Nogster
, Reading
" This is a verry good machine for the price, only problem the zip broke on the dust bag Screwfix sent a complete new machine the next day I then returned the first one for a refund. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than expected
3 Apr 2012
By rayc
, Milton keynes
" I bought this for a one off job as my Makita unit was on a different site and I simply couldn't be bothered to drive the 80 mile round trip to collect it. I worked out that even if if burnt it out and had to buy another to finish the job it was cheaper than my time on the road driving.
I used this for 7 hrs the first day, 8 hrs the second day and finished the job in 4 hrs the third day and this didn't miss a beat at all. Even the makita starts to get hot after continuous use, this just warmed up but I never felt I needed to leave it to cool down.
I don't normally buy cheap unless its for a throwaway job but this delivered in all aspects "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value sander
24 Feb 2012
By localdiy
, Aylesbury
" A budget worthwhile tool with good performance. Instructions and website vague on speed control hence description and manual could be more informative. Had to spend 1/2 hour on help line to determine how to adjust the speed. "
Page : 1 2 next>