Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Quick and efficient sanding of large surfaces. With quick-release belt change. Supplied with 3 x assorted sanding belts and carry case.

Quick and efficient sanding of large surfaces. With quick-release belt change. Supplied with 3 x assorted sanding belts and carry case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Review 1 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erbauer 4" Sander
18 Jul 2014
By scan
, Uxbridge
"I've just sanded the Kitchen floor. Done a great job. It is heavy and powerful so don't let it runaway from you. I've hired the commercial ones before. This does an equally good job but takes a little longer and less damage."
Review 2 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good tool.
8 Nov 2013
By JITSU
, Chippenham
"I needed a 4'' Belt Sander for a refurb job on large quantity of Iroko which had been varnished and badly scored. I bought the Erbauer on price and reviews and I'm glad I did. It's a great Sander and cheap at the price. It's very powerful and will happily work all day,which it still does regularly. The only thing you can do to improve this bit of kit is buy some quality belts, the Screwfix ones work OK but bump on the belt joins so to save your machine buy some decent belts.
P40 belts soon took care of the Iroko!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A sturdy bit of kit
23 Oct 2013
By Mmmorri
, Wales
"I bought this when my old belt sander stripped the rubber off it's drive cylinder. I suspect it was me being too heavy handed so splashed-out on this, one of my favourite brands. It's certainly a sturdy bit of kit and I'm sure it will survive my handling as it's solidly made and not for the feint hearted. I used it on my first job for tidying-up my joinery on a roof refurbishment project and it coped without any problem. Belt tracking was spot-on and the dust bag did a good job although I normally use a vacuum extraction attachment. It will now probably get stored away for the winter and brought out for my next project in the spring.
p.s. Does a good job of sharpening pencils too!
"
Review 4 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding piece of kit
16 Jun 2013
By BeardedKing
, Stafford
"I bought this sander to do final finishing on all the floorboards in our cottage. 80% of the boards had the Georgian, thick dark shellac wax on them and were an absolute nightmare to strip, so an industrial sander was hired to get the bulk of it off, but this sander came into its own for the final finishing runs.
The sander is a good weight and well balanced, which helps to keep it straight and flush on the surface being sanded. The motor is very powerful and if you're not expecting it, will pull you along with it if you're not careful.
I opted for Makita 100 x 610 belts as the quality was better and unlike myself and other users had experienced with the Screwfix belts, these didn't judder, which was better for getting that perfect finish.
The dust bag is a bit flimsy and the zip on mine broke after about 2 weeks, but the sander comes with an extractor/vacuum attachment, which I have duct taped to an old Dyson hoover. This means that my working environment is 90% dust free and it stops the dust port getting clogged.
Would absolutely recommend this for the keen DIY enthusiast/amateur carpenter or house renovator."
Review 5 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent sander
11 Dec 2012
By denraz
, Wembley
"Bought this belt sander for quite big job reclaimed oak board sanding. This machine went through the boards surface effortlessly. Very powerful tool. Would recommend it if heavy sanding required."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best sander for price...
21 Sep 2012
By Trady
, Warrington
"This is a very good sander. I’ve use it a few time now and it’s done a good job every time. Well worth considering. First one was damaged, plastic dust outlet broken but screwfix exchanged with no problems."
Review 7 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rolls royce of sanders
21 Mar 2012
By powercrazy
, kent
"overall performance,excellent.Only problem I have,it states that it has variable speed and it has'nt,hence the 2 star rating for features.Got in touch with technical department but they could'nt help me."
Review 8 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good for the price
4 Jun 2014
By hugzy
, Blackpool
"Not had much use as yet, but works well so far. Will write more after a while when used more."
Review 9 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tough sander
2 May 2014
By ednotdave
, Kent
"Very pleased, so far, with this sander. Takes a lot off with the right belt, but is quite heavy to hold. A bit too soon to rate for reliability, so 3 stars for now."
Review 10 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Belting machine
17 May 2012
By Nogster
, Reading
"This is a verry good machine for the price, only problem the zip broke on the dust bag Screwfix sent a complete new machine the next day I then returned the first one for a refund."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than expected
3 Apr 2012
By rayc
, Milton keynes
"I bought this for a one off job as my Makita unit was on a different site and I simply couldn't be bothered to drive the 80 mile round trip to collect it. I worked out that even if if burnt it out and had to buy another to finish the job it was cheaper than my time on the road driving.
I used this for 7 hrs the first day, 8 hrs the second day and finished the job in 4 hrs the third day and this didn't miss a beat at all. Even the makita starts to get hot after continuous use, this just warmed up but I never felt I needed to leave it to cool down.
I don't normally buy cheap unless its for a throwaway job but this delivered in all aspects"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value sander
24 Feb 2012
By localdiy
, Aylesbury
"A budget worthwhile tool with good performance. Instructions and website vague on speed control hence description and manual could be more informative. Had to spend 1/2 hour on help line to determine how to adjust the speed."
Review 13 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good but let down by failure
11 Mar 2013
By Muddydave
, Stratford
"The sander itself is good, does what it says, is sturdy but one of the brushes failed after a few hours use. Screw fix replaced it straight away with no hassle but it was annoying. New one seems fine."
Review 14 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
erbauer belt sander
6 Mar 2013
By geofftygeoff
, pembrokeshire
"A well balanced and easy to use machine, and not too heavy as they can be with 100mm belts. However the tube connector for the dust bag is rubbish. It is very brittle and will break off in the bag. this leaves the machine venting dust directly into the users eyes. this is a shame as the rest of the machine is great for the cost."
Review 15 for Erbauer ERB378SDR 1200W Compact 4" Belt Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Faulty carbon brush
6 Jan 2013
By sandshoe
, Isle of Mull
"Ordered this sander to clean up 2 floors, prior to re-varnishing. First one arrived promptly, but within 10minutes of use, one of the brushes failed and the machine stopped. No replacement brushes available and the whole machine had to be replaced - which was done promptly and without fuss. Second machine worked very well. How about Screwfix keeping basic spares for their own products?"