Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rotak 40 Ergoflex rotary lawn mower with high speed 1700W Bosch powerdrive motor and unique grass comb technology.

Rotak 40 Ergoflex rotary lawn mower with high speed 1700W Bosch powerdrive motor and unique grass comb technology.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Review 1 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great lawnmower
24 Jun 2014
By Sooza
, Leicestershire
"I recently replace my old Bosch lawnmower after many years of great, reliable use and bought a replacement and I love it... its easy to manoever, quieter and new shaped handles a great improvement although a little tricky getting handle aligned when putting together. Looking forward to many years of mowing ahead !"
Review 2 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with my purchase
8 Jun 2014
By KA71
, Tyne and Wear
"I bought this mower after reading reviews, as every review seemed very positive - across a number of sites - and I wasn't disappointed.
I've recently had a new lawn laid and the grass had got very long, very quickly. I also cut the grass the day after a very heavy rainfall and to cut both my front and back gardens took about 90 minutes in total (including emptying the cutting box numerous times!)
I had to empty the box a lot due to the grass being so long and wet, but this mower made very short work of a job which has previously taken me the best part of at least 3 hours. It gave a good even finish and I didn't find it overly noisy.
I did have to manouevre it a bit to change direction, but it made a great job of the edges and I'm looking forward to using it again!
The mower was a comfortable height for me to push (I'm 5'2") and fairly easy to put together.
I'm very happy with my purchase and would not hesitate to recommend it. Screwfix had the best price at the time I bought it and I also want to say thanks to the man in the store at Kingston Park who put it in the car for me!"
Review 3 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Up-graded lawn mower
16 May 2014
By Anonymous
, Montrose
"I bought a Bosch Rotak 40 about 7 years ago after reading a Which? report. It gave sterling service until my son tried mowing a meadow about half the size of a football pitch! The replacement Rotak 40 Ergo Flex is an improvement on what was already a belting piece of kit. Highly recommended. Cuts right to the edge, leaves an impressive striped finish and the new design handles are a significant improvement. Still top of the list with Which? too."
Review 4 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
b0sch rotak 40
1 Mar 2014
By wraggman
, preston lancs
"well packed,early delivery,easy to assemble looks good just waiting for wife to get mowing"
Review 5 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good Lawn Mower
31 May 2013
By crouch
, Brighton
"Good make, my second one. Took a bit of putting together. Cuts well and if it is as reliable at previous one I will be more than pleased"
Review 6 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great easy to use mower.
9 May 2013
By KfordScrooge
, Dudley
"The Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex did just what it said. It replaced a flymo 380 and did the job in half the time with much less effort. The easy to use height adjustment feature is really great for those first few cuts"
Review 7 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellant mower
15 May 2012
By adelaide
, Manchester
"This is an excellent mower, there are no grass cuttings blown out of the sides of the mower or collection box, which in itself stores all the cuttings in one cut of my garden which is 20' x 30', so no repeated emptying which is time saving.
The mower itself is very light and can be picked up with ease.
Assembly was also very easy and takes about 15 minutes.
All in all a very good mower and Screwfix are one of the cheapest suppliers.
I would recommend this product 100 %
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bosch quality mower
15 Mar 2012
By Scillyview
, Isles of Scilly
"Great service from Screwfix as always. Ordered Tuesday evening (late) and delivered Thursday.
I did toy with buying a petrol mower but decided electric would be best for my purposes not least because of the hassle and cost or buying / storing petrol for me.
I saw this on offer on Screwfix (discounted and best value for me) and after reading positive reviews elsewhere on the net made the purchase.
Once i opened the box I was up and mowing in less than half an hour. Trickiest part was aligning the three parts of the grass box....I say tricky but counted that I only had to 3 things to build for the whole project so not bad.
I embarked on the first cut since the last in autumn with with some trepidation because not only was the grass damp but quite high too. I used the highest cut setting to start. The Bosch didnt miss a beat and never bogged down (glad i went for the higher 1700 watt motor of the larger mower). The 50 litre grass box stayed in place, filled well and was easy to take off and empty. This first cut generated about 20 fills of the grass box (a medium sized lawn). At the end it was easy to clean and pack away.
So, my first mow was a great success and I am looking forward to a number of years of trusty service from my Bosch."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Best price & delivery options
25 Jul 2014
By Cloudwatcher
, Luton
"My first online purchase from Screwfix. Best price with the best range of delivery / collections options as well. The buying process worked well and delivery was as expected, I really appreciated the Screwfix approach to online sales. The mower itself is a more or less direct replacement for a Qualcast 400 (same company and similar mower) which conked out, but this has better features such as folding handles, and combs for long grass (!), not to mention a much better quality cable. It cuts edges well and I am pleased with the result on our lawn."
Review 10 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top quality mower
19 Jun 2014
By delsy
, Ferndown, Dorset
"A well made mower, solidly built, mutiple cutting heights with large grass box and effective roller for a reasonably light machine (my wife says!). Best price on the day."
Review 11 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Little Mower
5 Jun 2014
By PardeysMum
, West Sussex
"We have just moved house and the grass was seriously overgrown in our new place. The Rotak tackled it with ease on the highest cut. The height adjustment was generous and easy to alter. The lawn is just getting better with every cut. There is a generous lead too. The only reason I didn't give it 5* was because the assembly instructions were very scant. The pictures weren't clear and there were no written instructions to support them. We had to repeat things to get them right and it took two of us to connect the handle to the uprights because it was unweildy. Still it was well worth the wait and we are really pleased with our new versatile electric rotary mower."
Review 12 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Misleading name 'Powerdrive'
19 May 2014
By Beatability
, Coventry
"Misleading name for this model as states 'Powerdrive', this however only refers to the system used for the cutting action as machine is a PUSH MOWER and NOT SELF PROPELLED.
Easy to assemble, though grass box a bit fiddly.
Does the cutting and collecting well even on grass that was quite long.
Overall a good machine.
Unable to rate reliability properly as only used once so far
Would recommend
"
Review 13 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great upto a point
22 Aug 2013
By TimR01
, Reading
"Putting it together is easy enough, just make sure the holes for the handle screws all line up before you insert the screws and start tightening them up.
This is a very good lawnmower but there are a some usage issues.
1). The grass clippings do not compact well in the collection box so I am forever emptying the box to stop leaving a trail of cutting cluimps behind me. To put this in proportion I cannot cut more than 100 ft without having to empty to box.
2). The raise and lower control is awkward to use being prone to sticking and needing more force than it should. Which is of concern as the mechanism appears to be mainly plastic.
3). The flashy gismo's that are supposed to guide 'edge of the lawn grass' to the cutter, don't! Which is aggrevating as I have some 300ft + of edges.
I would recommend this mower to anyone who has a smaller grass area and who wants a light effective machine.
My grass area is 36ft x 85 ft and the forever empying of the grass box is driving me nuts."
Review 14 for Bosch Rotak 40 Ergoflex 40cm Rotary Electric Lawn Mower 230V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Disappointing cut
26 Apr 2013
By Boohoo
, West Sussex
"I have previously had cylinder mowers and the cut of this rotary mower cannot compare for lawn finish.
The handle is fiddly to dissassemble therefore takes up a lot of storage space.
In its favour it is very quiet and easy to manoevre.
"