Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

5Ltr. Clear, high performance waterproof treatment for exterior porous surfaces. Repels water on wood, brick, concrete, paving, asbestos and cement.

5Ltr. Clear, high performance waterproof treatment for exterior porous surfaces. Repels water on wood, brick, concrete, paving, asbestos and cement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Review 1 for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product
30 Mar 2014
By AdeptPropertyMaintenance
, Hitchin
"This is just the best product, I've used Thompson's water seal but in my opinion this is so much better. Don't bother with the rest as this is the best by far."
Review 2 for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
no nonsense water repellent we
12 Mar 2014
By Doogie
, Plymouth
"Brilliant product, best I've ever used, easy and quick to apply, soaks in quickly, dries quickly, invisible once dried, and it works well!
I would recommend this to anyone who needs a water repellent treatment.
Named "No Nonsene" very appropriate excellent product.
"
Review 3 for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than Thompsons water ba
8 Feb 2014
By truebuilder
, aylesbury
"Far better than Thompsons new water based product. This is like the old Thompsons that used to work so well until they ruined the formula.
So YOU'VE BEEN WARNED! Buy this 'no nonsense' product and save yourself a load of hassle!
Screwfix should be congratulated on sourcing this brilliant traditional water-proofer.
"
Review 4 for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It did what it said it would.
30 Aug 2013
By upnorthgeorge
, Northumberland
"During heavy driving rain the inside of my single brick wall garage was running with water that was penetrating the brick.
I had used Thompson's Brick Sealent many years ago and it did a good job but the brick wall needed a recoat and after reading negative reviews about the 'new' water based Thompson's I decided to buy the solvent based 'No Nonsense' Brick Sealent.
It did what it said on the can and days after I applied it we had driving rain and the inside garage wall remained dry.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Nonsense Brick Sealer
29 May 2013
By Dishywasher
, Somerset
"Sprayed the whole bungalow and all the garden brick walls with this product. Water just beads off now when it rains. Best value product on the market in my eyes. Just need to be careful with over spray on windows and clean off immediately."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product
6 Mar 2013
By Welshguy
, Merthyr Tydfil
"Very good, does exactly what its supposed to do.
It has the same consistency as water, so you will need to cover everything that you dont want to get sealer on.
The smell is quite strong and does linger for about 2 days, but its not any worse than a gloss paint."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product
1 Dec 2012
By BillDL
, Hamilton
"I lined the walls of my bathroom with thick cement board (tile backer board) and bought this to waterproof the boards that were beneath the level of the bath and not covered with ceramic tiles. I first tested it on an offcut of the cement board, and was very impressed by the way this compound did not alter the appearance at all, and water just beaded on it and ran off. I will use this stuff in the Summer to coat the walls of my prefab garage. The turpentine odour isn't any more pungent than gloss paint. Be well aware that you will probably never be able to paint or stick anything onto the areas you coated. I haven't used any of the big brand name equivalents, and therefore cannot make a direct comparison other than on price which is ver good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Repellent water sealer
1 Oct 2012
By Ringer
, London
"No Nonsence have a range of products, one of which is their clear water repellent sealer for exterior porous surfaces. Having used decking oil before, I find that this product performs the same function at half the price, without leaving an oily residue. Being clear it allows the natural wood colour to show whilst sealing it against the elements. The only downside I found was that ammounts of 500mls or so, if left for an hour during application, will set into a gel. This however can be reconstituted by adding a little fresh liquid. I used three applications on a bit of decking and water was shed off inclined surfaces after rain. All in all a good product at a good price."
Review 9 for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent water repellant
24 Aug 2012
By RockyRoadP
, Surrey
"This was an excellent water resistant primer and only needed 1 and a half cans to cover a new very large wooden workshop (5.5m x 4m) inside and out. The wood was untreated and this only required one coat, the rain just beaded off and pine remained completely dry. Was an excellent base coat for the Culprinol Shades Garden Paint and also stopped the pine knots bleeding through. Great value for money!!!"
Review 10 for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Weather Proofing
17 Mar 2014
By HairyBiker
, Kent
"A reasonably priced product. After spraying my garage wall, which rain had penetrated during all the heavy rain storms we've been having, we haven't had any rain to test it to see if it has cured the problem. Will update the results when that happens."
Review 11 for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Product and Value
22 Mar 2013
By Billfish
, West Yorkshire
"I would normally have gone for the Thompson's sealer but my brother in law talked me into buying the No Nonsense product instead. Being solvent based it stops on the bricks much better than the water based Thompson's sealer which runs off the wall before it has a chance to soak in.
It certainly does what it says on the tin but you must follow the instructions( which is common sense really) re dry conditions, temperature etc to get the best results.
I will certainly buy it again.
"
Review 12 for No Nonsense Water Repellent Seal Clear 5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than Thompsons
25 Mar 2012
By 4711
, Suffolk
"Much, much better than the current water-based alternatives. It's also cheaper by a couple of quid per 5 litres.
Used on a brick wall it is absorbed much more and does not run down the wall and puddle on the floor. It goes where it should ie into the masonry. Yes it is smelly and can be 'headachey' if you overdo it so an effective mask and eye protection is advisable.
This product may not be quite as environmentally friendly as the water-based competition but if you want a product that works then this is the one."
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.