Product Reviews

No Nonsense Stain Block 750ml

No Nonsense Stain Block 750ml
Average Customer Rating:
2.864 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
9
12 of 22(55%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Review 1 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent coverage!
8 Aug 2015
By PaulM59
, Liverpool
" Does exactly what it says on the tin and is a lot cheaper than other products which also make the same claim. I've used quite a bit of this recently to cover water stains and in a greasy kitchen. Wouldn't consider the more expensive products because this is more than adequate/capable. "
Review 2 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brill
27 Mar 2015
By 1663
, thetford norfolk
" Stain block no nonsense the best I have used will use again. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blocks stains
16 Feb 2015
By Footie
, West London
" So the stain block blocks stains! These were yellow water marks on a white ceiling and white walls. Two coats of the stain block paint and one coat of white matt emulsion. Did the job. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stain Blocker Paint
5 Feb 2013
By CamelotGardens
, East Sussex
" Really excellent product for covering up marks, patches, crayon! Bit pricy but this size great for small areas. Large ones useful for pubs n clubs decorating old "smoking rooms" "
Review 5 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OK but not brilliant
27 May 2015
By Newbury
, Newbury
" Wood stain is sucked out of the wood and mixes with the paint while wet, probably because this is a water based paint. Spirit based block is much better in my experience. Second and third coats improve the performance to provide an acceptable result. "
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product
18 Mar 2015
By mevcg
, Kilbirnie
" Painted on water stains and hey presto! covered stains easily, painted over with emulsion and stains are gone. "
Review 7 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stain block
28 Aug 2014
By LeDoc
, Dorset
" Had a stubborn stain left on a ceiling which has repeatedly returned from old soot staining where chimney was removed years ago. Two coats seems to have done the trick, I'm impressed as I've used other "named" sealers before and it's still leached through. "
Review 8 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Worked Reasonably well
8 Oct 2013
By JohnyF
, Aberdeen
" Used this produce to cover nicotine stains on a buy to let we had just bought. Covered 90% of the stains in one coat. (10% of the ceiling showed slight yellow when coated with emulsion). We then re-coated the 10% with stain block and after another coat of emulsion it was all white. Also tried a more expensive branded product on a different ceiling and got a similar performance. I have little experience of stain blocks but I think that it is pretty difficult to keep the stain away which is why this product gets poorer reviews. I have used the aerosols in the past on small stains and found them very successful but would have cost a fortune to do all these ceilings with that product. If it is a small stain I would recommend the aerosol as an alternative however. You can apply more coats quickly with it. on a small area. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good for low coverage
16 Aug 2013
By DIYJon
, Cornwall
" Used this to cover coal dust and nicotine covered beams. Took two coats as the stain bleed through the first coat, does say on the tin that it can take up to two coats. I have used other oil based products that would have covered in one coat. I would say its a good product for light application but not for heavy cover. "
Review 10 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy clean stainblock paint
4 Oct 2012
By jim9
, Cumbria
" Went on fine - bit thick and consequently difficult to spread - but it's designed to block stains so not surprising its thick. Washed out from brushes very easily with water which is a surprise. Average value for money - seen similar products cheaper since. Not painted over yet as still not dry 3 hours later, so not yet able to rate this aspect but has a glossy finish so bit concerned. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did the job
11 Jun 2012
By DeeAyeWhy
, Edinburgh
" I've got no experience with similar products; only know that you can't cover old stains caused by leaks with normal emulsion or [as far as I'm aware] not even with oil based paint.
I did have to apply two coats to cover the stains, but I found it pleasant to work with and in the end it did the job.
Not sure what stains 'happygolucky' (review 8/5/12) was trying to cover, but I would happily buy this product again, just like other No Nonsense products I've used such as their decorator's caulk and powder filler. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not a one coat job
23 Apr 2015
By Rolwal
, Stourbridge
" I had light stains on my paint work from condensation in a bathroom and I was surprised that I had to do two coats of stain block and to get an acceptable finish with my Crown paint. It would have been more of a problem if I had had worse staining or a larger area. Next time I would try something else. "
Review 13 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No Nonsense Stain Block White
19 Apr 2015
By Kentdiy
, Kent
" Takes a few coats to do the job - needed it to cover dried water stains. "
Review 14 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not block soot stains
4 Nov 2014
By DMole
, West Wales
" A broken chimney stack led to some sooty water penetrating the wall in my kitchen. After cleaning and allowing the area to dry thoroughly (two months) was concerned by a few small stained areas so used this paint prior to top coat.
Four coats later the brown stain is still coming through. As I don't want to top coat in brown I need to find another fix. I think the problem is that this paint is water-based.
I wish I had read all the feedback rather than the first page! "
Review 15 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THE TIN LIES!
9 Mar 2014
By XXXXXXX
, Oxfordshire
" Poor opacity. Stains bleed through far too easily. Three or four coats required. Nothing like as good a conventional primer or undercoat. "
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't do what it says
12 Jan 2014
By MJH1
, Newcastle
" Got a tin of this to cover some marker pen marks and a dried water mark - after 4 coats of using this the marks were still coming through. Went to a local cheapy shop known for its good discounts, who had a brand named Stain Block for the same price - did the job in one coat. You could tell the difference immediately with the consistency of the paint itself. "
Review 17 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor performance
5 Oct 2013
By joe90gt
, gloucester
" It took six coats to stop a water stain coming through the ceiling, even now I'm not sure its stopped. Not worth the money by any stretch of the imagination - don't bother with this rubbish - in fact i think I'll take it back "
Review 18 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
total rubbish
19 Dec 2012
By painter49
, south west
" This product is a total waste of money.
Used 5 coats on a tobacco stained ceiling
and was totally ineffective with almost immediate bleeding through white emulsion.
Most screwfix products are good quality
but in this case no nonsense means no
good
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stain No Block
23 Oct 2012
By Harry1960
, Norwich
" I used this on an old dry water stain and it does not work at all!!
I wish I read the prievious reveiws as I dont seem to be the only one saying this.
Its a shame as lots of the 'no nonsense' products are good.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for No Nonsense Stain Block White 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
no nonsenese No Worky
28 Sep 2012
By Dampworks
, Bromley
" it does not work on old water stains, i did 4 coats and it still bled through, being a damp expert i know the stain was dry enough for most stain blocks, i shall stick to zinzarr in future its a couple of quid more but when your in centeral london on a sunday mornign you need it to work firsty time.. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>