Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Makita DHP453SY 18V Combi

Makita DHP453SY 18V Combi
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Review 1 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita cordless drill/driver.
19 Mar 2015
By Baconboyblue
, Gloucestershire
" As a not very good DIYer I always hankered after a quality drill. The 30 minute charging facility is an added bonus as the drill is always available to do those spontaneous jobs around the house.
Like the feel,power and ease of use.
Very pleased with whole purchasing experience.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing drill
21 Feb 2015
By Paulavfc
, Birmingham
" I find this drill lighter than the dewalt and I use it everyday so the light weight helps a lot. Really good quality drill has not let me down and iv had it over a year now. The batteries hold there charge really well "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita 18 volt cordless drill
4 Feb 2015
By KidCurry
, Amesbury
" Purchased as a gift for my son he has not stopped praising it. It is powerful easy to use and batteries hold their charge for long periods. I too have used the drill and I agree with my son's comments. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
3 Oct 2014
By gavintonhandy
, scottishborders
" In reply to negative post when screwing with a drill driver use the low gear ratio have used Makita for over twenty years and still use the first one I bought "
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAKITA DRILL
2 Oct 2014
By dweeeb
, Chelmsford
" I have given five stars above for all though as I have only had the drill one day the rating for performance and reliability is based on a similar drill I bought some years ago which is still going strong. "
Review 6 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid good quality kit
23 Jul 2014
By Dave111
, Bangor
" Solid, good quality kit, good warranty, feels good in the hand, does what it says on the tin "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A trusted and satisfying tool
19 Jul 2014
By Superstringy
, Newark-on-Trent
" I bought this as a companion piece to a larger SDS corded hammer drill, also Makita.
The carry case is good; rugged but light and the drill fits in comfortably but is so handy to have around it stays in my Fatmax.
The drill is of great build quality and is weighted and balanced beautifully. It feels solid and comfortable in the hand and the rubberised grip keeps it locked in your grip without any chafing or sweating.
The trigger is responsive and the drill is incredibly fast to spin up - with the magnetic breaking effect stopping it dead as soon as you release it.
Drilling into wood and using as a cordless screwdriver are effortless and the chuckless bit change is smooth.
Battery life seems good, have had two weeks' of occasional work out of it on the first charge so far.
I think the only thing that would have given it the perfect 5 by 5 rating would be if a second battery was bundled at the price; they are quite expensive to buy separately.
That being said you do get what you pay for, and I'd expect to be using this for years to come. "
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well pleased
8 Jun 2014
By whiskers
, Bexhill-on-sea
" I am very pleased with this drill as it does a very good job ,I had one before this one and it lasted very ,many years in fact . :) "
Review 9 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great drill
14 May 2014
By catflap
, harlow
" hard working drill, good to handle, great power and battery lasts a long time, strong case "
Review 10 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic drill.
23 Feb 2014
By Bakr
, London
" Want a reliable, great performance,lighter,better looking, powerful motor ,hardworking ,well worth the extra money and mature drill?don't look anything else until you have had a real good look at this .
I bought this in a screw fix and I am very happy
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for me . . .
22 Feb 2014
By PandM4d
, Dumfries
" Well packed - first time using Makita products. Had a choice of the DeWalt with two batteries or the Makita with one battery. As I am a DIY'er decided to try the Makita - do I really need two batteries?
Charged the battery before first use - only 30 minutes charging time. Easy to use charging unit and good display. Drilled a few holes and put in a few screws. Forgot to change the setting from drill to screwdriver the first time and found the torque settings didn't work on drill setting - found out the power of the drill the hard way! There is plenty of power there for our use!
Simple instructions with clear line drawn illustrations.
Useful 7 piece drill, screwdriver bit and mandrell supplied with combi drill. Haven't tried the hammer drill setting yet as the current project only has plasterboard walls.
Not disappointed so far. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bits fall out
9 Apr 2015
By smudger80
, southampton
" Its an ok drill. does everything I ask of it. however, it depends on whether you will get annoyed by tightening the chuck to within an inch of its life, giving a spin, and then have the bits fall out. I have no idea why this happens. I have gotten used to it by now so i'll keep using it til it dies. its far worse with smaller bits. I've tried tightening it at various levels but still the same. you have been warned. "
Review 13 for Makita DHP453SY 18V 1.5Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lacking power
16 Feb 2014
By cider
, leeds
" Bought this because my dewalt batteries have just about had it,very disappointed,lacks power,batteries may last longer but there is no power,my dewalt batteries that are only half power screwed screws in better than this,should have stuck to dewalt. "
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.