Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Powered by Briggs & Stratton 40cm self-propelled petrol rotary mower with long lasting steel blade.

Powered by Briggs & Stratton 40cm self-propelled petrol rotary mower with long lasting steel blade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.015 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
8
55 of 68(81%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Review 1 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased
29 Oct 2013
By ParklandsCobbler
, Northampton
" Only used this mower twice so far, but easy to start, cuts very well and being self propelled makes it easy to use.Packaged very well on arrival.Instructions fairly good although where to fill the oil I did not find clear at all.Even asked my son in law and he agreed with me but we got there in the end.Appears to be great value for money. "
Review 2 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because I'm worth it
26 Oct 2013
By OnLineShopper
, Hereford
" Just bought first brand new self propelled motor mower. Only used it a couple of times, so early days, but so far it has worked well on very wet lawns. Makes short work of long grass. Height adjuster operates on all wheels. Throttle enables more power and faster propulsion when needed. Got a very good deal at half list price and very pleased with purchase. "
Review 3 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
40cm Self-Propelled Mower
24 Oct 2013
By TheOwl
, Bristol
" Early days as used only twice since delivery but, up to now, very pleased with the mower. Well engineered although the handle feels like it could do with being a little more robust for what is quite a heavy machine.
Bought during sale so considered to be excellent value for money at what was half price. "
Review 4 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Self propelled petrol mower
24 Oct 2013
By Rogblade
, Ranskill, Retford
" Fast service from Screwfix and excellent price. Mower easily assembled and seems robust construction. Only used once so far but started easily and it performed well. The self propelled action is a bit fast but I got used to it. I have only given 3 stars for reliability because I cannot assess this on only one use. I can recommend this mower. "
Review 5 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!
11 Oct 2013
By Anonymous
, clevedon
" I have just collected one of these from the Brislington store in Bristol, and I have to say how pleased I am with it, and especially with the staff at the branch.
I put the mower together, which was very easy and was even motivated to more the lawn there and then.
I remember to fill up the oil, then filled with petrol, primed the carb and it roared into life on the very first pull!
An excellent product, and excellent service from the screw fix staff. All in all an excellent choice by me to go for this mower after looking at several alternatives online.
I've given it 5 stars for reliability but I've only had it a day!
Thank you very much screw fix! "
Review 6 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
indestructible!!
15 Sep 2013
By westcoast
, solihull
" I bought this mower to reclaim gardens where the grass has overgrown and i dont know whats hidden under it ,to save some life on my honda's iv had it a year now and ploughed thru some of the worst grounds possible iv hacked thru jungles and 2ft grass on its back wheels ,its been brutalized driven over rocks and thru brambles i also use it to vac up hedge cuttings and it still wont die !
starts first time and its in use almost every day
"
Review 7 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
9 Sep 2013
By doody42
, Milton Keynes
" Assembled easily. Started almost immediately. Very very happy with it. "
Review 8 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product
1 Sep 2013
By Anonymous
, Sheffield
" This is my first petrol lawn mower after having used electric lawn mowers for years. It took me about 15 minutes to put it together but took about 7 presses of the primer before I got it to start. I think it took this many presses as it was new and first time used. It only took 2 or 3 presses the next time it was used and it starts first or second pull of the starter chord every time. The self propelled option is a godsend.
Now I find cutting the grass almost a pleasure instead of a chore.
"
Review 9 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lawn Mower
27 Jul 2013
By Mick1951
, Chelford
" Very pleased with my new Petrol Lawn mower.
Product Code 57652
Great price.
Delivery came on time as planned--Free
Easy to put together.
"
Review 10 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent quality. Great value
5 Jul 2013
By johalandmeg
, yeovil
" Did quite a bit of research before buying. Think made correct choice. Exact same engine (Briggs and Stratton 450 Series 148cc) as used on far more expensive mowers, Mountfield etc. just put on a different deck, but a decent steel deck. Plenty of power, slices through 5/6 inch grass with no problem at all, picks up clippings very well, bag fills very well, compacts down, good sized bag. No problems putting together, takes 5 mins. Starts first or second pull, cold or hot. Very good height adjustment, single lever, very easy to use. Comments from other reviewers about not cutting low enough, fine for me, I do not have a bowling green lawn, but if I did would buy a cylinder type mower. This cuts as low as any other rotary mower I have owned. Self propelled speed could be a little faster for me, but fine as is, the extra £20 over a hand push is a no brainer though.
Have only used half a dozen times so can not really comment on reliability, but build quality seems very good. Overall very pleased, would recommend, really would be silly paying twice the price for a mower with same engine!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy for All
22 Jun 2013
By GrampsG
, Fife
" I bought this as a 2nd mower but actually prefer it to the larger one I have. Very Easy to use, with the steel deck puts up with a bit more rough and ready areas that have not recently been cut. Not only can my wife use it with ease but my 11 year old grandson can use it with little supervision once he remembered which handle to use as the self propel and slow down the throttle to his ability. "
Review 12 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower
17 Jun 2013
By Allan72
, Melton Mowbray
" Great Mower, very quick to set up out of box, within 5 minutes it was up and running. It took 2 pulls of cord to get running on first start up but following that starts first pull every time. Quieter than expected when running. Height adjustment is a simple 1 lever to adjust so very easy and quick to change for rough terrain. Great machine at super price. "
Review 13 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lawn Mower with Briggs & Strat
15 Jun 2013
By Fredhippytittymus
, Telford
" Excellent value for money. If you don't want to spend too much money on a lawnmower but want a good one, look no further this is it. "
Review 14 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lawnmower
8 Jun 2013
By onlymesue
, wales
" Very pleased with it,, easy to put together,, and easy to start and handle.. cuts grass well, already recommended it to my daughter and partner. "
Review 15 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value lawnmower
5 Jun 2013
By Jimmy23
, Southampton
" I looked at a variety of petrol mowers before buying this one. However no other lawnmower I could find offered self propulsion, single lever height adjustment, steel deck and a Briggs and Stratton engine for anything close to the price of this lawnmower. (£159 on offer)
So I picked the lawnmower up from my local Screwfix, got it home, put it together, put oil and petrol in it and it started on the second pull.
I am very happy with the performance of the Lawnmower. The engine is has a lot of torque and powers through every type of grass. The single lever height adjustment is excellent, although the lever does restrict how close you can cut against walls and fences. But I discovered that if you simply use the left side (where there is no height adjustment lever) of the lawnmower to cut against walls/fences you can get as close as with any other lawnmower.
Some previous reviews mention that the minimum cutting height of the mower is not low enough. I certainly don't find this the case. In fact I find the lowest setting a little too low a lot of the time and use the next setting up.
Initially I was a little surprised at how heavy the lawnmower was. However I put this down to my previous lawnmower being a very light electric model. After a few mowing sessions I am completely used to the weight and in actuality this mower is no heaver than other steel decked mowers.
The build quality of the machine seems very good. Well designed steel deck and grass pickup chute ensures very efficient collection of cuttings, and overall the machine feels solid. My only minor gripes are with the grass collection box. It is perhaps a little small.....another 5-10 litres capacity wouldn't go amiss. It is of the steel frame/fabric covering design, which is pretty common on a lot of lawnmowers. However although the fabric catches grass easily enough, it doesn't stop grit and dust, so sometimes when cutting near borders in very dry conditions, the mower can pick up a bit of dust/soil which you then gets blown out of the top of the grass box and into your face! To be fair, I'm sure any mower with a fabric box could do this, but a lot of other mowers have a solid top to the fabric box which would stop debris from going in your face.
The self propelled feature is excellent and I'm glad I didn't get the push version of the mower. It really makes the mowing much easier. There is a throttle lever to adjust the engine speed (and hence the self propelled speed), but it has a very limited range. In fact I measured the engine RPM with an optical tachometer (don't try this at home kids!) and at the lowest throttle setting the engine was at 2700 RPM and at the highest setting it was at 3000 RPM. I leave it at the lowest setting. A tank of fuel (0.8L) gives about 2hrs continuous running at this throttle setting....enough to cut both my front and back garden 3 times.
Overall, excellent and you can't beat it's value for money. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great small petrol mower!
30 May 2013
By Kiwigardener
, Chatham
" Easy to set up & use, starts every time (so far!) I would give 5 stars for every catagory except value as it went on sale for £40 cheaper the week after I bought it -_- gutted... Thought I was getting a good deal! "
Review 17 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Price for a mower
27 May 2013
By Eurofighter
, Gillinham,Kent
" As everyone seems to say very good. Easy to start. You can adjust the speed for the self-propelled slow to bit faster . Great grass cut. Mower seems well made Pleased with service at my screw fix as well "
Review 18 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Mower
26 May 2013
By BazzaW
, Surrey
" Straightforward to assemble, mowing a pleasure. Starts easily usually one or two pulls, then first time once warmed up. Light so easy to use plus you can disengage self propelling for tricky edges and easily re-engage to continue - both by just using the hand controlled top bar.
Very competitive price.
So glad I finally gave up on my 10 year old mower, this model is so much easier to use "
Review 19 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Little Gem
25 May 2013
By Femurs
, Shropshire.
" This little machine is a Gem! Easy assemly instructions, easy starter and effortless to operate. "
Review 20 for 40cm 3hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower w.Briggs & Stratton Engine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value
18 May 2013
By Barlamb
, Wokingham
" We bought this as it was on offer but it's brilliant. Does what it says on the tin "
Page : 1 2 3 4 next>