Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

S&J Fixed Pruning Saw 12¾"

S&J Fixed Pruning Saw 12¾"
Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Review 1 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
20 Mar 2016
By
, Kingston
" Really sharp and fast. Done a massive garden and had no problems start to finish. Cuts trees down with a 5 inch trunk no problems. Well reccomended "
Review 2 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb bit of kit!
3 Feb 2016
By
, Staffordshire
" Bought this to cut some branches from trees in our garden which I couldn't get at with a bow saw. Superb! It's cuts on the push and pull stroke. Razor sharp is not an exaggeration, although only time will tell as to how long it stays that way. On the basis of use so far, I would recommend this to anyone. Along with the superb Screwfix purchasing experience, no complaints so far. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really sharp saw
26 Jan 2016
By
, Taunton
" This saw cuts green wood upto 100mm thick with ease. It is larger than I expected but is very well made and comfortable to use "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leylandii cutting made easy
27 Oct 2015
By
, Nuneaton
" After trying a few products (shears, saws, hedge cutter, chainsaw - and nothing really working thought i'ld try these. Amazing quality and once you are through the outer greenery this makes light work of all upper trunks / branches. What has been a week long job became a days work :) "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job
15 Sep 2015
By
, Norfolk
" Light weight and razor sharp. Easily cut through 3-4 inch tree branches. Great service and speedy delivery from Screwfix. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome
14 Aug 2015
By
, Nottingham
" Very impressive. Cuts through a 3 inch branch in 30 seconds, easy and no fuss. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very handy saw
2 Jan 2015
By
, Ringwood, Hampshire
" The wife wanted this to do the garden, she has been praising it non-stop since I brought it back for her. Apart from being a great saw my wife loves me even more!
Cutting blade is longer than expected but this is only an advantage for the clearance work she wants doing and cuts like going through butter. "
18 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are good
22 Nov 2014
By
, Norfolk
" This is a brilliant tool. It cuts through even quite big branches in just a few strokes.
I have just cut down 23 trees and the saw lops them up in just a few minutes.
I have never had a problem with the blade coming loose.
Recommended.
"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick saw
5 Nov 2014
By
, Nottingham
" The handle is comfortable even when used for quite a long time. The blade cuts very quickly and is very strong so you don't get and bending. The curved blade helps avoid the saw jumping out of the cut mid way which is useful when you are at an awkward angle at full stretch entangled in a spiky bush. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Razor sharp!
21 Oct 2014
By
, SE
" After getting this out of the plastic wrapper, used it straight away on 3 inch branches. Ripped through them like a knife through butter! I hope it continues or that replacement blades are available.
Drawback is that this is a fixed blade so you cant fold it away or even protect the blade. So I will have to keep it away from the kids.
This seems good value for the money.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pruning saw
12 Aug 2014
By
, Ripon
" Great. Went through 17 leylandii trunks in 1 hour as if they were butter. 40mm to 80mm dia. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pruner
22 Oct 2013
By
, S Wales
" The saw proved to be excellent at its job once I got it out of the packaging. Presumably for safety it is blister wrapped in very hard plastic so it is necessary to cut it out of the packaging with a sharp knife which on the hard shiny plastic is neither easy or particularly safe.
For the job I bought it to do it was a trifle long as I had limited space, but the small inconvenience was worth it for an excellent tool
"
Review 13 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Green wood - no problem
29 Jul 2013
By
, Daventry
" Used to top fir trees. 4" branches no problem at all. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cuts through live wood easily
23 May 2013
By
, High Wycombe
" I've chopped down small trees with this saw quickly, and it lops branches down a treat.
Never had any problems with the blade falling out - i've bought two and one was looser than the other, but never to the extent that it fell out. Maybe you have to just make sure you don't hold it on the locking mechanism
"
Review 15 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
loose blade
1 Feb 2016
By
, Hull
" Several revues have referred to the fact that the blade can come loose. I presumed that the need to be able to loosen the blade was to fit a replacement to the handle if the blade became worn or damaged. However, I could not find any reference to replacement blades either from Screwfix or even from Spear & Jackson direct.
I contacted S&J about this and was told "In the unlikely event that your blade was to break or become faulty, a spare blade would be available from ourselves and supplied with our compliments. Unfortunately they are not available to purchase."
That begs the question, 'why bother to have a system where the blade is removable if spares are so difficult to obtain'? The blade may as well be fixed permanently to he handle. "
Review 16 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great saw!!
12 Nov 2014
By
, Morecambe
" This saw certainly is razor sharp I have the scar and the remnants of my leather glove to prove it.
I will be using my chainsaw gloves with this from now on. Would have give 5 stars all round but the blade locking screw comes loose a lot and blade drops out, not what you need when you are up a tree harnessed in!
"
Review 17 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great saw
21 Sep 2014
By
, tameside
" After looking at the review l thought I would give it a go blade very sharp blade fell out once so I put glue on the release so didn't happen again as I was cutting above my head but a very good saw would recommend "
Review 18 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product
28 Jul 2014
By
, Staffordshire
" This is a very good saw and useful for cutting branches/trees much thicker than you would think possible for a hand pruning saw, and with little effort. "
Review 19 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Spear & Jackson Pruning Saw
1 May 2012
By
, New Haw
" Good blade cuts and cuts cant complain with the cutting ability at all, you can even do 10" trunks with this I have found instead of faffing with a chain saw. However, the lever on the side of the handle which locks in the blade frequently comes loose and on occasion the blade has just dropped out! But good blade, excellent value. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spear & Jackson Razorsharp Fixed Blade Pruning Saw
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good performance overall
18 Jul 2012
By
, Halifax
" Blade performance is excellent, however its not fixed as the title suggests.
There is a locking mechanism for the blade which comes loose and the blade falls out which lets this product down
I returned mine after a mishap which left me with a deep cut to my knuckle after the blade slipped out
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>