Product Reviews

15mm x ½" Straight

15mm x ½" Straight
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
7
13 of 22(59%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Review 1 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plumbing componants
16 May 2016
By
, Hemelhempstead
" Good quality.vslue for money.does as it ought to.very pleased with this part "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says
7 Jan 2016
By
, Lincoln
" Bought this to replace an ageing valve on the toilet which wasn't sealing too well anymore. Was same length as original, which as a bonus as some are different lengths and fitted with no leaks; valve works well with screw simple to turn; maybe old one was seizing up.
Very happy with the product and would recommend.
"
Review 3 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works perfectly
29 Jul 2015
By
, Saltash
" So long as you heed the earlier comment to hand tighten the exit - appliance side - of the valve with an allen key in the end, there's no reason for this to leak. Fitted in seconds, working fine. "
Review 4 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job
11 Oct 2011
By
, Lincolnshire
" Easy to install.
Easy operation and firm shut off on isolator.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Your everyday service valve
10 Jun 2016
By
, Bridgend
" As a plumber I use these all the time , was late and usual suppliers closed , was a little steep on price but was desperate , it's always good that screwfix open so late "
Review 6 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect - if tightened first!
4 Jun 2016
By
, Crawley
" Valve of good quality - just remember to tighten the output end with an Allen key - or you'll be scratching your head wondering why it leaks!
Would recommend! "
Review 7 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great value
26 Oct 2015
By
, cumbria
" So long as you heed the earlier comment to hand tighten the exit - appliance side - of the valve with an allen key in the end, there's no reason for this to leak. Fitted in seconds, working fine. " "
Review 8 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but one tip..
5 Jun 2015
By
, Greenock
" Before you start get an Allen key and tighten the female end. Bought two of these and both of them leaked. Had to disconnect and tighten them up. Worked fine after that. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service valve
19 May 2015
By
, London
" Does about the job, but still pearling drop of water one every other time! "
Review 10 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says in the book
25 Oct 2012
By
, TAUNTON
" Does exactly what it says in the book. It's a good reliable valve "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Straight Service Valve
2 Jun 2012
By
, Southampton
" Cheap replacement that does the job! It replaced a leaking original fit toilet service valve with ease. The job took me 10 mins including isolating the cold water and removing the old valve. Local Plumber quoted £50 for the same job. The valve has been in place for 2 weeks, no sign of any leaks or problems, so very happy. "
Review 12 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK with care
16 Jul 2016
By
, Mansfield
" I bought this product to fix a leak. I didn't read the reviews till after I bought it. At least I read them before I tried to use it.
The key point is that the body of the valve is in two parts, with an O-ring seal between them. As noted by others, you need a 9mm (3/8") allen key to separate them.
I recommend that when you use this valve the first thing you do is take it apart, and then carefully reassemble it, ensuring the O-ring is fully seated, and the output end is tightened into the body. When I installed it I checked for tightness, but didn't check the seating. Fortunately I was careful not to apply too much water pressure in the first instance, because it sprayed water everywhere. After taking it apart and reassembling it was fine.
So, should you buy this one or a more expensive single piece item? This one has value for money. But you also need to spend a little time in preparation. Once sorted though, it seems fine. It depends what is important to you. "
Review 13 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Allen key required
24 Dec 2015
By
, Maidstone
" Why on earth this has been designed in 2 pieces I will never know; there really is no need. As previous posters have said, make sure that the allen key socket is tightened before fitting, otherwise you will be fighting a battle with the compression fitting to the pipe, the nut to the tap end and stopping the middle part from spinning undone. Just a nuisance device really and best avoided in my opinion. "
Review 14 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pretty average isolation valve
30 Nov 2015
By
, Lichfield
" Make sure you have a 3/8" allen key to tighten the valve together.
Mine weaped very slightly when closed. Not bad for the price though. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frustrating Fitting
24 Jun 2013
By
, Stirling
" I have used this valve twice and like a previous reviewer found that the half inch connection unscrews and causes a leak. I had forgotten that this happens but will not buy it again. "
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not fit for purpose
12 May 2016
By
, Gloucestershire
" Purchased this valve with a concealed cistern to replace it for a customer. The valve becomes loose in the body when you tighten the nut to the fill valve and leaks. I tried a few times to re-assemble the fitting but it still leaked so fitted a flexi hose in the end. I would never fit another one of these valves again. I cant risk it leaking in a customers house. "
Review 17 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Valve leaks
8 Mar 2016
By
, Wirral
" Valve when screwed up to 1/2" plastic cistern fill valve continually leaked. I tried numerous time, connecting it to 2 different fill valves, with no success. Could not tighten nut enough to compress plastic washer. I cross threaded the nut thread a few times, no matter how hard I tried to keep it square.
As said on another rating, the body is in 2 parts and when you tighten the nut up, the lower body unscrews and leaks.
I tried numerous ways and times and even asked a plumber mate to have a go. It leaked for him also.
I have now removed it (again) and replaced it with a 1/2" flexible pipe, which is not leaking.
I am going to return this and ask for a refund, as in my opinion it is unfit for purpose. "
Review 18 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BEWARE - IN 2 PARTS!
14 Nov 2015
By
, Bristol
" Ok, so plumbing isn't my favourite job, but I thought I could handle changing a service valve (and cistern filler) as we had a leak.
This product just added to my pain.
The valve is actually in two parts, which I only realised after I had installed everything, switched on the water, had water pouring out of it, scratched my head for a while and then read some of the negative reviews on here!!
Before installing one of these, make sure the service end is screwed into the main body. I used a bit of PTFE tape just to make sure. "
Review 19 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid
22 Oct 2014
By
, Buckinghamshire
" This product is likely to come apart when first used. After reading previous reviews, I checked the insert was suitably tightened, however, by the time I nipped it up it had managed to loosen itself. The first time you notice this is when you open the valve and spray water all over the room. Clearly there is a manufacturing/assembly issue with this product. There is an alternative Conex available from Screwfix, but unfortunately it is shorter and not a direct replacement. "
Review 20 for 15mm x ½" Straight Service Valve
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appalling
11 Oct 2014
By
, Uk
" Be warned, The valves are not fully assembled. The shaft on all 4 packs I purchased were loose. I hadn't notice until filling the system, Had to remove and tighten every one of the shafts .
I Don't expect to have too tighten a machined thread on the shaft. This should have been completed before leaving the factory. Friday afternoon job. 3/8 Allen key required.
"
Page : 1 2 next>