Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Direct Power BS26S3 5kg SDS Plus Drill 230V

Direct Power BS26S3 5kg SDS Plus Drill 230V
Average Customer Rating:
4.329 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
34
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
80 of 85(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Review 1 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Serious drill for the money
22 Feb 2014
By TenTeasADay
, Bristol
" I bought this to demolish a garden wall, and then drill holes in concrete blocks to secure fencing posts. I expected it might just last for that job and not much more.
Instead I found this to be a hefty, well made drill, easily capable of going through anything.
The 2 SDS bits supplied with the drill are reasonable standard, and have lasted for a number of jobs now (chisel bit used mostly).
Shame there is no variable speed (so 3 stars on features) but at this price I can't complain.
Much better to buy a cheap, good drill like this than spend £££ on a big name only to loose it or get it pinched.
"
Review 2 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant for the money
17 Apr 2013
By notmyrealnameeither
, Conwy
" Bought one of these a couple of years ago for £30. My house is built out of the hardest stone in the UK (Penmaenmawr Granite) this drill easily copes while hammer drills bounce off, aerial fitter had to use it because his cordless metabo sds couldn't drill all the way through the outside wall, this thing with a meter long 10mm bit coped easily. "
Review 3 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Power Drill
7 Jan 2013
By Hiioppy
, Warrington
" One of the best drills I have ever bought.
Replacing old fencing at home, chopped through the old post bases without any problem.
Brill.
"
Review 4 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Direct Power SDS Plus
16 Sep 2012
By Harthill
, Harthill
" Excellent driller and remarkable value - but I can't get the chisel function to work. Item 8 in the manual followed but still no success. Item 9 para 3 seems to be wrong.
Anyone got any suggestions to get the chisel function to work before I go back to the shop?
Stan
"
Review 5 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SDS Drill
29 Aug 2012
By Martin65
, Norwich
" Wish I had bought one years ago as it goes in to anything unlike my old hammer drill "
Review 6 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Direct Power SDS Drill
14 Jul 2012
By ExpatKS
, Wales and Doha Qatar
" I struggled for years with a hammer cordless and then bought this one. Brilliant. It drills rawplug holes in a second and chisels out old cement like butter.
I bought a seperate set of SDS drills and now I just look for holes to drill. It's so simple. My neighbour has it at present and he's obviously using it to its full capacity. it's quite heavy but excellent value. It does what it says on the box. "
Review 7 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
31 May 2012
By gata6
, Boston and Spain
" Bought this for renovating a bungalow stripping tiles etc ..brilliant...used it in spain for lifting tiles on outside patio and levelling the plugging again brilliant value for money exceptional...no complaints bought one for a friend as well now "
Review 8 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sds drill
4 Apr 2012
By firebobby51
, Spain
" I have had one of these for a few years now.
Made my life much easier. Like all sds drills they are heavy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so excellent
23 Nov 2011
By domino316
, Heckmondwike
" I checked several other drills on other sites and normally I would not give house room to anything other than the usual well known brands.
I read the reviews on this and even better I found it on Screwfix for a lot less....easy to set up (only criticism was not being able to see the switch positions on the drill (not helped by the small photos in the manual))...however, after opening the box it took more time to set the depth gauge than it did to drill five holes full depth of a wall plug in a chimney breast to fit a bracket..THIS IS A DRILL.....it looks the part, its not unwieldy and now its going to be responsible for turning my house into Swiss Cheese as I find things to use it on. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value what a tool
12 Nov 2011
By RodGB
, Dorset
" Wish I'd bought something like this drill a long time ago when drilling it's like drilling through butter, well worth the money. "
Review 11 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sds 5kg rotorstop hammer drill
15 Sep 2011
By almarsh
, cheshire
" I had over 4,000 bricks to clean off before relaying. A friend of mine suggested this after having chased out some rather hard concrete flooring, it was the best under £50 purchase I have made in the past year. it rips through the work in seconds. The 5kg weight does seem heavy after an hour or so of continuous work but I would say if you need a hammer drill its the best I have used for its price. To save on postage add the widder sds chisel heads to your purchase, et voila ! free extras instead of postage cost :-) gotta be a winner !!!
Buy it and then nod your head when you see i'm right. Good luck,
Marshy.
"
Review 12 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Direct Power BS26S3 5kg SDS Pl
23 Aug 2011
By SeanieKC
, Nottingham
" Demon of a drill. Dont waste money paying for a brand when it comes to heavy drills - the dust gets them all in the end!! Had this drill in Ireland for 5 years. Used it every day and NEVER gave a bit of hassle. When I needed a drill to do a job here in the UK, didnt even consider anything else. Great, sturdy piece of kit. Buy it !!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sds gold
6 May 2011
By alasteros
, north devon
" for the money..a great drill..not too heavy..just
does the job well. drilling into stone-easy,
chipping away render-easy.
"
Review 14 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheep but worth it
26 Apr 2011
By TCarp
, Bedford
" I brought this drill thinking i wouldn't need to do much heavy work, so i wouldn't wear it out, and then found many jobs that i thought would push it to the limit - taking plaster, render and cement of walls, taking double-brick walls down, as well as drilling.
It has lasted very well with the heavy use, and that includes using it all day. I've used it on and off for about 6 months now.
If anything, it is very noisy, the case is cheap and very tight to fit the drill into, and the cable is only about 6 foot long. Also, the box with the drill bits in is positioned so that the drill cable is bent at an angle which eventually makes the wires loose (It easy enough to take out, but i've learnt the hard way!)
The drill doesn't drill that fast, but is powerful enough, and it also doesn't have a backwards action for drilling.
I like this drill, and it should keep going well, once i fix the wire...
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sds drill
15 Apr 2011
By yardy
, gloucestershire
" This does what it says on the box. Cuts through concrete like butter. will be buying more sds drill bits to complement what there was in the box. i will be using this drill to remove wall tiles in our bathroom refit. iam sure i will have no problems. On the whole a good purchase, the only very small niggle i had to wait overnight for the item to be sent to my local branch as it's not kept as stock in the local branches. "
Review 16 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ignore the cheap price
25 Feb 2011
By Fulk
, Chesterfield
" Just bought this to replace my 10 year old Nutool SDS drill, was pleasantly surprised it's identical!
Works just as well, I hope it gives me another 10 years of life. "
Review 17 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well worth it!
13 Nov 2010
By renov8
, Edinburgh
" I have been using this drill for over 2 years now, not professionally every day, but during a total house renovation so it has been used a fair bit.
The only minus point is that the chisel rotates a bit in use, rather than being locked. Once you get used to this it's fine.
Have used it with 1m long drill bits through walls and it performed well. Have also broken lots of concrete floor up with it - again it was quick and easy to use and got the job done. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Need to replace after 12 years
10 Oct 2010
By TommyTwoFeet
, Wakefield
" I bought this product about 12 years ago when we bought a house that needed renovating.
Hoped it would last 12 months under the impression that I could buy 10 of these instead of buying a £400 one (hope you understand my maths!).
Anyway - it has been a real stalwart for 12 years and only recently had some problem with the gearbox. Could probably get it fixed but going to buy a new one for the price.
The old one probably deserves to be retired now.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic
1 Aug 2010
By ladydiyerA1
, Exeter
" Absolutely brilliant! I'm a girl diyer, always tried to do things without expensive power tools. Brought this to remove ceramic tiles from concrete floor, it was great. Done the job in two days! (it was a large area). Recommend it to anyone who wants to do a job quicker and easier for £35. Bargain... "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Direct Power 850W SDS Drill xx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best toy!
13 Mar 2010
By Dieseldes
, Stirling
" first use was to break up a 60's fireplace, moved 2 tons of brick and concrete, in 6 hours with ease, drilled into concrete like butter, best purchase (toy)for a while. Every man should have one!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 next>