Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hardworking, 2-speed combi drill with all-metal gearing. Supplied with carry case.

Hardworking, 2-speed combi drill with all-metal gearing. Supplied with carry case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
35 of 39(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Review 1 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good workhorse
23 Jan 2014
By Dringer
, Crewkerne
"Does the job required of it, represents good value for money would be better if it came with two batteries as standard"
Review 2 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drill,great price!
13 Jan 2014
By Hagalout
, Bromley
"Bought this in a Scewfix sale and i am very happy with its performance and value for money.Always used cheaper drills before this one but would not go back to cheaper products.
This has done all asked of it with no problems.
"
Review 3 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the Job!
9 Jan 2014
By BarneyG
, Bucks
"Good value for this, most trusted, brand. Don't know how I ever did without this tool: so easy to use and change bits. I can do jobs with ease and in a fraction of the time now. It's light, very controllable and flexible."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant piece of kit
13 Sep 2013
By jigglyjohn
, Sheffield
"I use cordless drills daily for various tasks in my work self employed and this has to be the best value combination drill driver I have bought to date (and I do go through a few)
My main criteria for a drill is the battery and longevity of use and I bought the extra battery with this as it was on offer so I can use this all day long without worrying about the battery going flat - Absolutely brilliant piece of kit.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-I
11 Sep 2013
By Stjoey1
, West Midlands
"Fantastic drill for a fantastic price,drills through virtually anything with great ease,very powerful drill,highly recommend it.Screwfix service was impeccable to.Fantastic."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drill
9 Sep 2013
By CuttingEdge
, Bristol
"This drill is a big improvement on my last drill (14v) you can really feel the extra power.
Fast charging so I probably won't need an extra battery.
I have used it for a few jobs in the three weeks I have had it. I have been very satisfied with the speed and power of drilling and driving. The hammer action has gone into brick well. I have not yet had to recharge the battery."
Review 7 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita combi drill
9 Sep 2013
By makitauser
, Nottingham
"A really good combi drill for the price, very powerful, long lasting battery and comfortable to use all day long.
Dissapointed that I purchased with a spare battery deal and a few days later the same offer was on including spare battery and 101 piece bit set
"
Review 8 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
31 Aug 2013
By Wurz1
, Woking
"great bit of kit. exceeded expectation and capability. definitely recommend this item"
Review 9 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit
19 Aug 2013
By divadoll
, Kent
"Really light weight but up to the job with trade usage. Smaller slide on batteries are lighter but still hold great charge"
Review 10 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Practical and well-priced Dril
19 Aug 2013
By Cub1
, Chichester
"I bought this after using several other combi- and cordless drills. The product is durable and has a good range of bits available in addition to which I purchased a second battery pack. I'd recommend this for renovation and DIY but recognise in making this rating/review that the product may not be sufficiently powerful for professionals."
Review 11 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Most impressed
26 Jun 2013
By agydrvr
, Notts
"An impressive product. Tactile finish that feels well balanced. Very compact design belies excellent power and versatility. One quick charge gave me power for a weekend away caravanning (zipped jack legs down & back up again no problem) then, back home, fitted an external socket in brickwork (4 x 6mm holes x 35mm deep) plus 1 x 20mm x 200mm in double brickwork mortar for the cable. All using the hammer action. Then finished off by driving all the screws home using the supplied bit. Still plenty of charge left for another day! Great all rounder for DIY use! Early days to enthuse about reliability but it looks promising!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top combi!
17 Jun 2013
By drillington
, london
"For the money you can't go wrong! I have a few of this model and must say with heavy daily use they have all been faultless! Some may say the battery pack is small but I have a few spare 3ah battery's so this is not a big problem - quick charging of 30 min but I also have the 9amp charger so this battery is fully recharged in around 10 minutes - great drills!"
Review 13 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbeatable value
13 Jun 2013
By omaghgirl
, Omagh
""I purchased this drill/driver as an upgrade to my previous makita which was the ni/cad battery version. This drill is much lighter but packs a mighty punch, with a much longer battery life- up to 2/3 times longer. A great performer on a range of jobs (I've just completed a 12ft raised decking project). I would recommend this drill/driver for any type of user, from everyday DIY'ers to more advanced users who may require a light but powerful and reliable drill/driver. The saving in RRP of this drill makes it a real bargain and with a half price second battery availablethis really is an offer not to be missed.
A+++++
"
Review 14 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita 18v combi drill
3 Apr 2013
By Garry6
, Worksop
"Fantastic, Briliant, Great, Fantastic little drill. "I love it." Good for most jobs around the home, light weight, powerful. Would recommend to anyone."
Review 15 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Drill
20 Mar 2013
By phiz
, Huddersfield
"I bought this drill to replace my other makita Ni-Cd because it was on offer. (under £100) It is an excellent drill for the money and would recomend it. More power & longer lasting. Very happy."
Review 16 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wicked drill/driver
18 Mar 2013
By Tezz
, surrey/sussex boarde
"I purchased this drill/driver as an upgrade to my previous drill/driver which was the ni/cad battery version this machine seems to have more power, last loads longer ( around 2.5 times longer) and is a much lighter machine. if the machine last like the old one I will be over the moon. I would strongly recommend this drill/driver, make shore you buy with two batteries, one battery is silly."
Review 17 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A drilling experience
17 Mar 2013
By Kenthegardener
, Ely. Cambs
"Good piece of kit. Rugged, and does what you think it should. Buy and enjoy!"
Review 18 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best Drill
13 Mar 2013
By twinkletoes
, essex
"I was really pleased with this drill, especially the price. I bought another battery and got money off, if you bought them together. Excellent."
Review 19 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy
9 Mar 2013
By Pylon
, Preston
"This drill is excellent, it's light with the small battery on it but lasts really well with the decent battery supplied, I have another Makita drill which is a bit older but has not got the lion battery and you do notice the difference.
Well built and robust enough to stand up to all sorts of jobs, would recommend this drill to anyone, works really good as a driver as well, I have just put some brackets up in my garage and the screws were driven straight in to the block work with out any pilot holes needed, these were size 8 screw 80 mm long and went straight in.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Briliant
4 Mar 2013
By Tom13
, stroud
"oh my god i love this drill i only got it today and i am already in love, i had a bosch psr 14.4 before but that is nothing compared to this ......... buy it best value ever at only £100 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Page : 1 2 next>