Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita 18V Li-Ion Combi Drill

Makita 18V Li-Ion Combi Drill
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
42 of 46(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Review 1 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita 453SH
21 Nov 2014
By A1sparks
, Cannock
" I Purchased this drill because my original unit (which I have had for over 2 years), and included two,3AH battery's developed a slight problem with the trigger, regarding speed control only, but is still going strong.
I now use this new drill with my original battery's for the everyday use, and my old drill with the 1.3AH battery as a screwdriver/ anything else accessory.
Great bit of kit.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product
28 Jul 2014
By Joe19
, Warwickshire
" Bought to replace an old NiCd powered drill, the Makita showed just how weak the old one had become.
Really fast to charge up, great range of speed settings and easy control on the trigger.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita Rechargable Drill
21 Jun 2014
By Leo2014
, Bridlington
" The build quality, feel and use of this product are excellent.
Comes with a near full on charged battery out of the box.
Blasts into brick walls like butter on high speed hammer setting. (makita masonary bits from makita multi bit set used, sold seperate)
Drill provides excellent value for money.
It comes with a solid battery charger, case and screwdriver bit, posidrive and flatblade.
Used it to install a security system, with alarm bell box on roof apex, light enough to climb ladders with, completely portable and plenty of power to cut through brick walls.
Feels very positive to hold and plenty of grip with rubber handle.
For a battery drill this has a lot of power, this is felt when tightening the chuck.
I can highly recommend this product, it is very high quality.
"
Review 4 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-I
7 Jun 2014
By GeoffN
, Penzance
" The name Makita has been with me since the 1970's - always reliable as a site tool (110v) and over the past few years Makita have produced some outstanding 240v hand tools..
This drill is a fantastic tool and is perfectly balanced (and fast on recharge) at a budget price too. I would recommend this drill to anyone without hesitation.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
makita drill
5 Jun 2014
By JMTC
, Bridgwater
" I bought one by one about 3 of those drills for our workshop. Would i recommend it? yes if you are looking for light-mid duty drill. We are using it for drilling into different types of steel. I wouldn't use it for masonry jobs - seems bit weak for that. but if you want it for DIY at home then i would say yes. This is definitely not Heavy Duty Drill. AND remember to register it on Makita's website for warranty ;o) "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice piece of equipment
8 May 2014
By Boulder
, Suffolk
" very light and easy to use, ideal for the home DIY enthusiast, battery life is great around the house "
Review 7 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good workhorse
23 Jan 2014
By Dringer
, Crewkerne
" Does the job required of it, represents good value for money would be better if it came with two batteries as standard "
Review 8 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drill,great price!
13 Jan 2014
By Hagalout
, Bromley
" Bought this in a Scewfix sale and i am very happy with its performance and value for money.Always used cheaper drills before this one but would not go back to cheaper products.
This has done all asked of it with no problems.
"
Review 9 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the Job!
9 Jan 2014
By BarneyG
, Bucks
" Good value for this, most trusted, brand. Don't know how I ever did without this tool: so easy to use and change bits. I can do jobs with ease and in a fraction of the time now. It's light, very controllable and flexible. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant piece of kit
13 Sep 2013
By jigglyjohn
, Sheffield
" I use cordless drills daily for various tasks in my work self employed and this has to be the best value combination drill driver I have bought to date (and I do go through a few)
My main criteria for a drill is the battery and longevity of use and I bought the extra battery with this as it was on offer so I can use this all day long without worrying about the battery going flat - Absolutely brilliant piece of kit.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-I
11 Sep 2013
By Stjoey1
, West Midlands
" Fantastic drill for a fantastic price,drills through virtually anything with great ease,very powerful drill,highly recommend it.Screwfix service was impeccable to.Fantastic. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drill
9 Sep 2013
By CuttingEdge
, Bristol
" This drill is a big improvement on my last drill (14v) you can really feel the extra power.
Fast charging so I probably won't need an extra battery.
I have used it for a few jobs in the three weeks I have had it. I have been very satisfied with the speed and power of drilling and driving. The hammer action has gone into brick well. I have not yet had to recharge the battery. "
Review 13 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita combi drill
9 Sep 2013
By makitauser
, Nottingham
" A really good combi drill for the price, very powerful, long lasting battery and comfortable to use all day long.
Dissapointed that I purchased with a spare battery deal and a few days later the same offer was on including spare battery and 101 piece bit set
"
Review 14 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
31 Aug 2013
By Wurz1
, Woking
" great bit of kit. exceeded expectation and capability. definitely recommend this item "
Review 15 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit
19 Aug 2013
By divadoll
, Kent
" Really light weight but up to the job with trade usage. Smaller slide on batteries are lighter but still hold great charge "
Review 16 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Practical and well-priced Dril
19 Aug 2013
By Cub1
, Chichester
" I bought this after using several other combi- and cordless drills. The product is durable and has a good range of bits available in addition to which I purchased a second battery pack. I'd recommend this for renovation and DIY but recognise in making this rating/review that the product may not be sufficiently powerful for professionals. "
Review 17 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Most impressed
26 Jun 2013
By agydrvr
, Notts
" An impressive product. Tactile finish that feels well balanced. Very compact design belies excellent power and versatility. One quick charge gave me power for a weekend away caravanning (zipped jack legs down & back up again no problem) then, back home, fitted an external socket in brickwork (4 x 6mm holes x 35mm deep) plus 1 x 20mm x 200mm in double brickwork mortar for the cable. All using the hammer action. Then finished off by driving all the screws home using the supplied bit. Still plenty of charge left for another day! Great all rounder for DIY use! Early days to enthuse about reliability but it looks promising! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top combi!
17 Jun 2013
By drillington
, london
" For the money you can't go wrong! I have a few of this model and must say with heavy daily use they have all been faultless! Some may say the battery pack is small but I have a few spare 3ah battery's so this is not a big problem - quick charging of 30 min but I also have the 9amp charger so this battery is fully recharged in around 10 minutes - great drills! "
Review 19 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbeatable value
13 Jun 2013
By omaghgirl
, Omagh
" "I purchased this drill/driver as an upgrade to my previous makita which was the ni/cad battery version. This drill is much lighter but packs a mighty punch, with a much longer battery life- up to 2/3 times longer. A great performer on a range of jobs (I've just completed a 12ft raised decking project). I would recommend this drill/driver for any type of user, from everyday DIY'ers to more advanced users who may require a light but powerful and reliable drill/driver. The saving in RRP of this drill makes it a real bargain and with a half price second battery availablethis really is an offer not to be missed.
A+++++
"
Review 20 for Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita 18v combi drill
3 Apr 2013
By Garry6
, Worksop
" Fantastic, Briliant, Great, Fantastic little drill. "I love it." Good for most jobs around the home, light weight, powerful. Would recommend to anyone. "
Page : 1 2 3 next>