Product Reviews

Professional quality tool with guidewheels for rapid wall chasing. Supplied with 2 x diamond discs and carry case.

Professional quality tool with guidewheels for rapid wall chasing. Supplied with 2 x diamond discs and carry case.
Average Customer Rating:
3.789 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
13 of 19(68%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Review 1 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent tool for the money
7 Apr 2014
By Leer1
, Essex
"Used it to chase some switch lines from ceiling to light switch, fitted 25mm conduit nicely on the 30mm setting. Worked very well & very quickly.
Also used in basement to chase around 15 meters, this was quite hard but still performed well.
Does kick back sometimes & stops while cutting but you just need to take it slowly & gently, nice & straight. Once you get use to how it works it's fine.
Managed to fit my henry Hoover on with a bit of duct tape, would still recommend wearing a mask.
Would recommend"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb
20 Dec 2013
By SaladFingers
, Buckinghamshire
"I had mixed feelings before purchasing and before using, due to the mixed reviews, but I took the plunge and bought this wall chaser.
I'm a spark by trade, so I don't have time for products to let me down, but this is superb and doubley (if that's a word) so for the money. First appearances out of the box are a bit rough around the edges but it's a fantastic performer.
As for other peoples comments about the machine stopping in the wall, perhaps they were not guiding the machine in a straight line, thus putting a side load onto the cutting discs. Mine certainly doesn't stop in walls and I made a cut in a sand/cement mix plaster wall which is rock hard and into hard brick walls and it was like a knife through butter - a chase takes seconds.
Dust extraction. I read other peoples comments about not being able to fit a vacuum cleaner and about the machine being dusty. I have a Dyson and I found that if I use 32mm waste pipe as an adaptor with some duct tape to ensure it doesn't pull free, my Dyson takes the dust away in an instant leaving what I would honestly say as a 95% dust free application. There's going to be some residual dust due to the work, but there was no clouds of dust being thrown across the room, which there most certainly would have been without the vac attached.
What can I say, it works, it works well, for the money too, it's simply fantastic."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic wall chaser
12 Nov 2013
By flyrem
, tonbridge
"this saved time and money, worked brilliantly, and would highly recommend to anyone. thought it might be too lightweight for the amount of chasing out i need to do, but it worked a treat!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth for noise and dust
30 Oct 2012
By PSUK
, Worthing
"I had around 20m of chasing to run - mix of brick and block. Bought this product as I could not face chasing by hand.
Takes a few seconds for the discs to spin up to speed but can live with that. You need a firm grip as the unit can flip if it catches.
I should have thought about PPE. Get a dust mask and googles.
Noise is as expected. LOUD. Amount of dust was shocking. next time I will need this I will get a vacuum attached and all PPE.
Seriously worth the money though. Cracking tool. Just get PPE's up!!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT WALL CHASER
17 Sep 2012
By ART123
, CODSALL
"GREAT PRODUCT. EASY TO USE.BRILLIANT SERVICE. HERE NEXT DAY. THOROUGHLY RECOMMEND. GREAT WEB SITE."
Review 6 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent chasing tool
20 Jul 2012
By krispyspark
, Hertford
"I used one of these that did not belong to me and was a bit sceptical that it was going to be any good(price seemed to cheap for this tool) how wrong i was. This thing is great used it to chase a couple of property's with no problems at all. Just purchased my own.
Highly recommended..........
"
Review 7 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product
23 May 2012
By Daimack
, Wales
"I've used this chaser to rewire an 1850's house with stone walls, so it was never going to be an easy or clean job! The chaser coped well, I left it on the 30mm setting throughout as that allowed me to finish off the chase with a cold chisel and use 20mm plastic conduit to protect the cables. The chaser does produce a lot of dust but has a vacuum connection facility which works pretty well (the vacuum will need emptying frequently, but thats not an issue with the chaser). Its not too loud and as mentioned by another reviewer will now fit into the case with the discs in place. Good quality for the price, recommended"
Review 8 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use
9 May 2012
By Dexx
, Devon
"Had to do a few metres of chasing across a concrete floor to a kitchen island unit so took the plunge and bought this chaser rather then using an SDS drill. In use it's easy if you've used angle grinders before, and the soft start makes it easier still. Other reviews seem to suggest that if you hook up a vacuum cleaner to this (and the previous model) then you'll get 'virtually no dust'. I wish that had been the case for me as I covered everything in a fine concrete dust even with it hooked up. If you were doing wall plaster it would cut like a knife through butter and probably kick up way less dust. A broad chisel is supplied in the case to break the 'fin' that is lelt between the two slots, it's very useful actually doing the job just right and a nice little touch by Erbauer."
Review 9 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wall chaser fits in the case!
20 Mar 2012
By johnboy37
, Wallingford
"This is a decent bit of kit. It's the updated version of the previous model and erbauer/screwfix have taken design limitations of it on board. The wall chaser now fits into the case with the blades in place, as with the previous model you had to remove them before putting it away. Spot on for the money, esp with a 2 yr warranty!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A ton well worth spent
12 Jul 2014
By Murdoch
, Woking
"Been pondering whether to buy one or not - so took the plunge to avoid chasing 6 new cable drops.
So glad I did this, but don't forget to buy a mask, some googles, some gloves and ear defenders too!"
Review 11 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Doesn't like going forward
22 May 2013
By spark1000
, Cambridge
"Bought as a replacement to earlier Erbuaer model,
Pro's
Case allows you to store without removing disks
Con's
Can't remove disks anyway I might have a fight with it one day to see what I may be doing wrong if I ever get bored enough, or more likely when the disks need replacing
Doesn't like being pushed away from you, only cuts nicely when allowed come back on it's self (eg cuts down a wall fine but up a wall is a mess). A bit odd as I've not encountered this issue before.
Recommend? well it's comparatively cheap,
Reliability? don't know yet.
"
Review 12 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wall chaser
26 Nov 2012
By Fibretechs
, Newent
"I bought this to use instead of a normal angle grinder since it has a dust extraction facility.
This is very poor in my opinion. It should have at dust bag or an attachment that fit a hose.
I tried it firstly with my trade Dyson and the attachment fell off all the time. I then purchased a Henry Hoover and the attachment does not fit snug with the dust extraction outlet. So folks beware if you are going to create a lot of dust which this thing does - make sure your customer and neighbours are aware.
Apart from this poor feature it is very powerful and fast at wall chasing."
Review 13 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
saves time
31 Oct 2012
By sham
, Stourbridge
"First time i have used a wall chaser and i was not sure what to expect. I worked out that you have to let the machine get up to full speed before cutting into the wall or it will just stop. It did cut into engineering brick from floor to ceiling in approx 10 minutes.should have connected the chaser to the vacuum cleaner as i had to leave the room for 30 minutes for the dust to settle . A well built useful tool at a very good price. A good purchase."
Review 14 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mediocre performance
4 Mar 2013
By souty
, Surrey
"Overall performance has been okay. Main challenge was that the dust extractor connection does not appear to be a standard size - had to use duct tape to connect my vacuum. Found that the cutter tends to stall quite easily when running up a 1930s breeze block wall."
Review 15 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Poor replacement
12 May 2013
By Sparkybath
, Bath
"I bought the original 3 years ago. It was brilliant. Worked it to death, still going strong. Unfortunately it was stolen.
I replaced it with this with the later version, what a mistake, the replacement unit had poor dust control and less power. I took it it back and got the original.
"
Review 16 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Erbauer wall chaser
25 Mar 2013
By rugbydude
, Peterborough
"A cheap chaser for very occasional use - unfortunately i wanted something for more than this & ended up returning it.
The machine took a while to get up to speed & kept slowing / stopping while cutting chase - may have been better if only 1 disc was fitted but then why make it to take 2?. I didn't feel confident that it would last.
Dust extraction was very good with just my Henry coupled up but would be better with sprung bottom plate for initial plunge.
If you want a chaser for occasional use it's good value, if like me you want something that will last you'll have to look at spending
£300 +
"
Review 17 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not as good as previous model
13 Mar 2013
By scrumble
, suffolk
"had the previous model which worked well, broke that so deceided to get the newer version, not as good, not as powerful and with the older model you could connect the hoover and get virtually no dust. this new version fills the room with dust. no good. im going back to the old model."
Review 18 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Same as others, Dissapointed.
1 Jun 2013
By ihatediydontyou
, Essex
"Tried to get the older model but was no longer available and ended up with this device, what a mistake. The motor just keeps dying at full depth cuts and the dust [even with a really powerful hoover attached] is an absolute nightmare. I had a devil of a time trying to keep the cut straight on the wall as i had to keep removing the blades from the wall as they had stopped, and this was just normal brick!
I can't really comment on the reliability as after i've finished the chasing I'm doing today, it's never going to be used again.
"
Review 19 for Erbauer ERB383WCH 125mm Wall Chaser 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Disappointing Product
10 Oct 2012
By DriverElectrical1
, St Ives, Cambs
"Having bought this wall chaser a couple of weeks ago we finally used it yesterday with disappointing results. Even with a Henry hoover attached, the amount of dust created was far more than expected. After having done three cable drop chases the depth setting bolt mechanism fell apart and could not be fitted back correctly. In the end we resorted to the original method for chasing plastered brick walls using a chisel bit and hammer drill. I shall be taking the chaser back to screwfix and hope to get a refund. I would definitely not recommend this chaser and will be buying a more expensive one now by a better manufacturer in the hope that you only get what you pay for!"