Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Ring 12V Car Battery Charger

Ring 12V Car Battery Charger
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Review 1 for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
battery charger
10 Jan 2014
By
, OLDHAM
"Excellent value,great product does what it should do."
Review 2 for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use battery charger
23 Dec 2012
By
, bridgwater
"excellent charger, easy to use works well. looked elsewhere for the same spec but nowhere could come up with the same price"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good & Fast - reliable charger
13 Dec 2012
By
, HULL
"When your car or van battery is flat, you'll probably need it charged quickly. That means putting Amps into dead batteries as fast as possible. This model is rated at 12 amps (max) so it does the job as quickly as is possible.
I've had this model Ring charger for over 4 years - it does the job just fine.
The crocodile clips ideally need replacing now - purely through 4 years of regular use & abuse.
On fast charge it charges even the biggest of car batteries quickly and without any difficulty.
Usually you can put enough charge in a (almost) flat battery in about half an hour, sufficient to get a car engine cranking over fast enough to start.... obviously totally flat batteries will take longer.
I once used it to charge up wheel-chair batteries.
The voltage switch is handy feature too...... lets you see the charge status
For the money it's well on top of the job, and a purchase that i don't think you'd ever regret."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Battery Charger
5 Oct 2012
By
, Maidstone
"Picked it up today. Plugged it in on high charge for 3 hours and car started immediately from a flat battery. well satisfied. intend to use on low charge weather permitting tomorrow.Good value for money"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good auto battery charger
20 Nov 2013
By
, Cheltenham
"We wanted a simple easy to use car battery charger. This one fitted the bill as it is simple to use. Being only for 12 volt charging means that my partner cannot select 6 volt and wonder why it has not charged the battery!
We liked the 'wrong polarity' light but found that the 'charging' light lit as soon as leads were connected to the battery and hence before the power was switched on. The red power on light needs to be brighter as it is not very visible even on a dull day.
I do not think that the instruction book warned you that on fast charge the charger could cycle on and off.
Very good to have pockets for the leads to be stowed away in when not in use.
Well made and of sturdy plastic.
Cannot really comment on reliabilty as we have not used it for long enough.
"
Review 6 for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Almost what it says on the tin
29 Aug 2013
By
, Reading
"Good for charging 12v batteries. Description of product is accurate, but the attached photos are misleading; it does not charge 6v batteries and it doesn't have an LED display (other than the 4 status lights). If you don't need these features then it's great.
Can't comment on the reliability...yet.
"
Review 7 for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little Charger
24 Dec 2012
By
, Boston
"Nothing wrong with the charger it works!!
Pity Screwfix didn't have the "Standard Charge 12", as it has the reconditioning facility for Gel type batteries & a meter that shows charge voltages.
For DIY occasional use it will be fine & it comes from a trusted manufacturer.
It has completely revived a 12volt Gel jump start unit... Thanks
"
Review 8 for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ring Battery Charger 12V 8A
18 Jun 2012
By
, Plymouth
"Good value for money.
I needed a charger quickly and this fitted my needs.
Not particularly fast charger, but the indicator lights are useful, Ideal for emergency use.
Not had it log enough for reliability to be assessed.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bought because it looks ok
26 Sep 2012
By
, Bridgwater
"have not tried this produce yet, but it looks the part and as long as it does its job when needed then i will be very happy"
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't do what it should
6 Mar 2014
By
, london
"Brought this to charge my bike battery (lead-acid) and read some other reviews with people saying it didnt work but just thought they proberbly didnt kinow what they were doing so went ahead anyway. My battery still had a little charge in it just not enough to start the bike it was above 0 ohms though as i know a totally dead battery will not charge. Plugged it in for a slow charge and 4 hours later went to start the bike and nothing, tried fast charge after and same story. Just ended up buying a new battery which was the same price as this,"
Review 11 for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simply does not work
25 Jan 2014
By
, bristol
"Does not charge my car battery, what else is there to say."
Review 12 for Ring RCB208 8A Car Battery Charger 12V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
25 Dec 2013
By
, Essex
"On attaching the charger to my 2.0L car battery, it displayed the "charging" light, it clearly wasn't as I hadn't plugged it into the mains yet! I then put it on for a slow charge and after 4 hours it had made no difference. I switched it to a fast charge and within about half hour, I checked back and the "charged" light was on. I reconnected the battery and there wasn't enough charge to start the car. I tried it on our 2.5L camper battery and it again displayed charge when it wasn't. Gave the car a second go, but still not enough charge to start it. Took it back for a refund, which was a hassle as the computers were playing up and a grilling from the assistant who was clearly aware of how much hassle a refund would be. The one star is the lowest I can give, but one star too many."