Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack

Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Average Customer Rating:
2.609 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
11 of 23(48%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Review 1 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent products.
12 Apr 2015
By
, UK
" I was initially put off this fork and spade set by the 3/5 star reviews. I only bought it because everything else was out of stock at the time I needed them. I'm really glad I ended up with this set.
As long as you use them for the level of work the price suggests, which is light to medium work they will be superb. You can't blame a cheap product for failing if you try and dig up a mountain. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stanley Spade and fork set
25 Aug 2014
By
, Lincolnshire
" Overall to cut a long story short, the Stanley spade and fork set is fantastic for its design, construction materials used for durability, and best of all its price of £24.99 (when purchased) - Also a 10 Year guarantee! to top it.
You have to pay £20 to £30 for a FISKAR fork or spade of the same quality with the ergonic designed handles and durable material, so for £25 for the set, with a 10 year guarantee, it is very good overall - you will be pushed to find a similar deal for sure.
The Epoxy-Coated Carbon Steel Blades and the composite plastic monomer handles are definitely what the higher grade individual fork and spades use, so its a no brainer to buy this set at £24.99
I have used the set for a lot of landscaping work and the spade blade has remained sharp for lining and cutting, and the forks sharp for puncturing hard soil.
Hopefully this will help people with the usage and comparison details included. "
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great so far, 1 month and happ
28 Jul 2014
By
, Greater London
" I have only used this set for a month or so, but so far as good as new.
my other fork and spade bent in seconds making me just spend the money and get a decent set.
the quality seems great, easy and comfortable to use and i dont have to worry about using them gently.
would def reccomend. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stanley spade and fork twin pa
19 Jun 2014
By
, swindon
" Great tools at a great price, robust yet easy to use, would recommend to friends "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well worth the price
14 Jun 2014
By
, liverpool
" I wouldn’t of been surprised to see them being sold separately for the same price
soild life long tool
"
Review 6 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product to use in the ga
12 Jun 2014
By
, bedford
" Good sturdy product with good handles and a colour that I can`t loose them "
Review 7 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good Spade and fork
18 Jun 2015
By
, Dover
" Both good, strong great for what I bought them for, digging up lawn, only thing wish spade was little wider. "
Review 8 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Suprised
27 May 2015
By
, Swindon
" Only used the Stanley fork so far and as expected the Quality name has outshone itself.The fork went into the clay soil we have easily and because of the handle design was easy to lift and ,the bonus part was that it did not bend or break after a whole days gardening.Why would you not want a garden tool that worked and was so cheap to buy as well.Cannot wait to try the Spade now.Well done Screwfix great product. "
Review 9 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfactory
14 May 2015
By
, Dumbarton
" The spade is really good and cut through tree roots pretty easily the fork on the other hand bent really easily after about 30 minutes of work. So if you need the fork for turning over soil that's free of roots then it will be fine. The grip it really comfy. "
Review 10 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
28 Apr 2015
By
, Liverpool
" You get what you pay for with this twin pack. Although it has the STANLEY name on it it's not the quality one would expect from them.
The fork feels brittle and the welding looks slightly dodgy making you expect a prong to ping off any moment. The spade quality seems alright but is a bit on the thin side for my personal liking plus the sloping edges could lead to slips causing grazed ankles.
Overall this twin pack is good for light gardening work and for the price is nothing to complain about. Just be careful not to injure your ankles with the spade and wear goggles in case of flying fork prongs.
ENSURE YOU REGISTER FOR THE 10 YEAR GUARANTEE just in case though - details are on the spade! "
Review 11 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not fit for purpose
20 Aug 2015
By
, Scottish Highlands
" I broke the fork on the first push into the ground, and we are talking sodden soft highland peaty earth!
Assuming it was a manufacturer's fault I replaced it like for like and managed only 2 fork loads the second time round.
Now I appreciate you can't expect miracles from something as cheap as this, but it has absolutely no value whatsoever if you can't even turn soft earth.
The spade has fared better hence the 2 stars. Unless you are seeking some weird horticultural garden decoration I would stay well away. "
Review 12 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fork broke within 10 minutes !
8 Sep 2014
By
, Cornwall
" OK, so at the price these are I should not expect too much, but previous reviews seemed to suggest that these were tough tools...
The spade seems to be pretty good so far, but I only bought them today and have spent less than an hour using both. I would have given it a higher rating had the fork performed better.
So, on to the fork - maybe I got a rogue one but one tang broke off within 10 minutes and a second bent badly - and all I was digging into was a flower bed, so it hadn't had a hard life !
I'll be taking it back tomorrow and don't imagine there will be any problems getting it exchanged but I may go for a more expensive one just in case, as the time lost going back would have been better spent finishing the job !
"
Review 13 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not good
21 Jun 2014
By
, Bucks
" Fork prong went out of shape on first day of use - I was only turning a section of garden over, and there were roots, but nothing this product should of damaged.
Also the spade head is slanted - this makes it hard to get any impact using your foot to push the spade into the ground.
Wouldn't recommend. "
Review 14 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sorry, no good.
21 Mar 2016
By
, Dorset
" 2 fork prongs broke off within a few minutes, so can't recommend. Not much more to say.
I have to give one star for all categories.
"
Review 15 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brittle failure of fork
21 Feb 2016
By
, Reading
" The fork in this set had a brittle failure the first time I used it with one of the prongs shearing off when caught under a small root. second central prong snapped the next time I dug in. very poor weld quality "
Review 16 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money
20 Oct 2015
By
, Perthshire
" Bought these a few while back as the reviews were good. My wife used them for the first time today, the fork tynes bent so easily, she said she wasnt putting much force on it. I did manage to straighten them, but the steel is so soft, it bent back into shape very easy. So no, I would not recommend this item. SCRAP value. "
Review 17 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good spade, Rubbish fork!!!
21 Jun 2015
By
, norwich
" So I removed the three cable ties and packing from this spade and fork set, gave them a quick visual (as you do), went outside and sunk the fork into some soft soil for the first time. I then lifted it out to find one of the outer forks bent out of shape. This is a chocolate fork!!
Spade seems good. I am disappointed really with the kit so hoping to exchange them tomorrow with something better.... "
Review 18 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I must have been unlucky
13 Jun 2015
By
, Hudderfield
" After just ten minutes in medium soil, one of the forks twisted. Ten out of ten for Screwfix Leeds Road Huddersfield staff who replaced it immediately. The usual excellent service. "
Review 19 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
12 May 2015
By
, Hertfordshire
" I purchased this combo as the reviews were very good and the price for both was unbeatable. The fork was quite a strange size. Longer than I was used to and wider/heavier.
On first use, I used it to dig over a heavily weeded flower bed. Clearing all in my way. Dissapointingly, the fork bent during this first job. The roots were not that heavy and the end prong stuck out 45 degrees and I was forced to return to my old fork to continue the job.
I would not recommend. "
Review 20 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
spade ok,fork terrible
20 Mar 2015
By
, leighton buzzard
" The folk lasted less than 30 seconds, one of the prongs snapped, dont waste you money "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>