Product Reviews

Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack

Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Average Customer Rating:
2.85 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
11 of 20(55%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Review 1 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent products.
12 Apr 2015
By Tradesman129
, UK
" I was initially put off this fork and spade set by the 3/5 star reviews. I only bought it because everything else was out of stock at the time I needed them. I'm really glad I ended up with this set.
As long as you use them for the level of work the price suggests, which is light to medium work they will be superb. You can't blame a cheap product for failing if you try and dig up a mountain. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stanley Spade and fork set
25 Aug 2014
By Turbolrf
, Lincolnshire
" Overall to cut a long story short, the Stanley spade and fork set is fantastic for its design, construction materials used for durability, and best of all its price of £24.99 (when purchased) - Also a 10 Year guarantee! to top it.
You have to pay £20 to £30 for a FISKAR fork or spade of the same quality with the ergonic designed handles and durable material, so for £25 for the set, with a 10 year guarantee, it is very good overall - you will be pushed to find a similar deal for sure.
The Epoxy-Coated Carbon Steel Blades and the composite plastic monomer handles are definitely what the higher grade individual fork and spades use, so its a no brainer to buy this set at £24.99
I have used the set for a lot of landscaping work and the spade blade has remained sharp for lining and cutting, and the forks sharp for puncturing hard soil.
Hopefully this will help people with the usage and comparison details included. "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great so far, 1 month and happ
28 Jul 2014
By MickeyDaFish
, Greater London
" I have only used this set for a month or so, but so far as good as new.
my other fork and spade bent in seconds making me just spend the money and get a decent set.
the quality seems great, easy and comfortable to use and i dont have to worry about using them gently.
would def reccomend. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stanley spade and fork twin pa
19 Jun 2014
By innesmcguiness123
, swindon
" Great tools at a great price, robust yet easy to use, would recommend to friends "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well worth the price
14 Jun 2014
By mcjl2
, liverpool
" I wouldn’t of been surprised to see them being sold separately for the same price
soild life long tool
"
Review 6 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product to use in the ga
12 Jun 2014
By kennel
, bedford
" Good sturdy product with good handles and a colour that I can`t loose them "
Review 7 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good Spade and fork
18 Jun 2015
By Pandatatt
, Dover
" Both good, strong great for what I bought them for, digging up lawn, only thing wish spade was little wider. "
Review 8 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Suprised
27 May 2015
By Gadgetman2
, Swindon
" Only used the Stanley fork so far and as expected the Quality name has outshone itself.The fork went into the clay soil we have easily and because of the handle design was easy to lift and ,the bonus part was that it did not bend or break after a whole days gardening.Why would you not want a garden tool that worked and was so cheap to buy as well.Cannot wait to try the Spade now.Well done Screwfix great product. "
Review 9 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfactory
14 May 2015
By Neil51
, Dumbarton
" The spade is really good and cut through tree roots pretty easily the fork on the other hand bent really easily after about 30 minutes of work. So if you need the fork for turning over soil that's free of roots then it will be fine. The grip it really comfy. "
Review 10 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
28 Apr 2015
By Spadey
, Liverpool
" You get what you pay for with this twin pack. Although it has the STANLEY name on it it's not the quality one would expect from them.
The fork feels brittle and the welding looks slightly dodgy making you expect a prong to ping off any moment. The spade quality seems alright but is a bit on the thin side for my personal liking plus the sloping edges could lead to slips causing grazed ankles.
Overall this twin pack is good for light gardening work and for the price is nothing to complain about. Just be careful not to injure your ankles with the spade and wear goggles in case of flying fork prongs.
ENSURE YOU REGISTER FOR THE 10 YEAR GUARANTEE just in case though - details are on the spade! "
Review 11 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not fit for purpose
20 Aug 2015
By Anonymous
, Scottish Highlands
" I broke the fork on the first push into the ground, and we are talking sodden soft highland peaty earth!
Assuming it was a manufacturer's fault I replaced it like for like and managed only 2 fork loads the second time round.
Now I appreciate you can't expect miracles from something as cheap as this, but it has absolutely no value whatsoever if you can't even turn soft earth.
The spade has fared better hence the 2 stars. Unless you are seeking some weird horticultural garden decoration I would stay well away. "
Review 12 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fork broke within 10 minutes !
8 Sep 2014
By Anonymous
, Cornwall
" OK, so at the price these are I should not expect too much, but previous reviews seemed to suggest that these were tough tools...
The spade seems to be pretty good so far, but I only bought them today and have spent less than an hour using both. I would have given it a higher rating had the fork performed better.
So, on to the fork - maybe I got a rogue one but one tang broke off within 10 minutes and a second bent badly - and all I was digging into was a flower bed, so it hadn't had a hard life !
I'll be taking it back tomorrow and don't imagine there will be any problems getting it exchanged but I may go for a more expensive one just in case, as the time lost going back would have been better spent finishing the job !
"
Review 13 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not good
21 Jun 2014
By fridge
, Bucks
" Fork prong went out of shape on first day of use - I was only turning a section of garden over, and there were roots, but nothing this product should of damaged.
Also the spade head is slanted - this makes it hard to get any impact using your foot to push the spade into the ground.
Wouldn't recommend. "
Review 14 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good spade, Rubbish fork!!!
21 Jun 2015
By DazzaRazza
, norwich
" So I removed the three cable ties and packing from this spade and fork set, gave them a quick visual (as you do), went outside and sunk the fork into some soft soil for the first time. I then lifted it out to find one of the outer forks bent out of shape. This is a chocolate fork!!
Spade seems good. I am disappointed really with the kit so hoping to exchange them tomorrow with something better.... "
Review 15 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I must have been unlucky
13 Jun 2015
By TaffyOutlane
, Hudderfield
" After just ten minutes in medium soil, one of the forks twisted. Ten out of ten for Screwfix Leeds Road Huddersfield staff who replaced it immediately. The usual excellent service. "
Review 16 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
12 May 2015
By Weekendgardener
, Hertfordshire
" I purchased this combo as the reviews were very good and the price for both was unbeatable. The fork was quite a strange size. Longer than I was used to and wider/heavier.
On first use, I used it to dig over a heavily weeded flower bed. Clearing all in my way. Dissapointingly, the fork bent during this first job. The roots were not that heavy and the end prong stuck out 45 degrees and I was forced to return to my old fork to continue the job.
I would not recommend. "
Review 17 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
spade ok,fork terrible
20 Mar 2015
By Ajs4
, leighton buzzard
" The folk lasted less than 30 seconds, one of the prongs snapped, dont waste you money "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Quality Set
3 Nov 2014
By mungojerry
, Stourbridge
" I bought this Stanley spade & fork set with high expectations based on the Stanley name but how wrong I was. Within an hour of standard garden use one of the fork tangs bent completely out of shape. In addition to this the top edges of the spade blade (where you push down with your foot) are angled slightly downwards which causes your foot to slip off regularly sometimes hitting your ankle in the process (it's taken the skin off my ankle after repeated slips). All in all a complete let down & waste of money. I'll be returning shortly for a refund!! Be warned!!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money
28 Oct 2014
By Thegerminator
, Cambridge
" I can only assume that the spade was either; (a) designed for someone with deformed feet or, (b) designed by someone with deformed feet. The radius on top of the blade prevents any purchase being applied and results in your foot slipping off and a painful gouge to the shin. The fork is made of a material with the strength of well worked plasticine and yields on contact with any soil that has a consistency of anything heavier than dry sand.
After one week-ends gardening, both the fork and the spade are going in the skip. I want my money back!! "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stanley Spade & Fork Twin Pack
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not good
20 Oct 2014
By DigitalDIY
, Yorkshire
" This review is about the fork only. One of the tines bent significantly within five minutes of starting to use it to loosen and lift some weeds in a border. No great weight was put on it, just sufficient to lift the weeds. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.