Product Reviews

Angled Compound Mitre Saw

Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Average Customer Rating:
1.528 out of 5
1.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
30
6 of 36(17%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Review 1 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good quality
27 Mar 2015
By Honeymonster11
, Sunderland
" ok first off let me guess that the most of the people using this item who rated low stars have never used one before , the cuts are bang on to the degree dont go at weird angles (its in the cutting action like if you use a saw prob because it is a saw) managed to cut 110 meters of plastic skirting and architrave so far everything is good blade is still reasonably sharp
second (yes it comes with only one blade ) actually if you order from the shop they tell you so
third remember people practice makes perfect dont expect to be a master with this without actually using one before also dont force the saw and make sure all screws are in place every couple of uses as you would with most other hand tools
and finally dont forget to loosen the blade after use so it does not bend out of shape
this saw is perfect for someone like me i do prefer an electric mitre saw but when you dont want to spend the cash this is your boy its worth what i paid for it just remember to look after it "
19 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money
12 Dec 2014
By Ragtimejazz
, Southend
" The Screwfix mitre saw is good value for money. The delivery service was exceptional. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accuracy depends on...
25 Nov 2014
By sanddancer
, Tring
" My particular model came with good instructions but I was unimpressed with my first couple of practice cuts - uneven cut and curving off angle - THEN I realised I had tightened the blade securing (or "stretching") wingnut for effect BUT slackened it before I did any cutting !!! Once tightened, the blade was taut and gave a good straight and accurate cut. As simple as that. Just remember to slacken the tension before putting it away again. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mitre Saw
25 Aug 2014
By 987Andy
, Southampton
" Whilst it wasn't too clear on how to put together it was certainly a good buy & cut skirting boards really well so I would recommend. Don't forget to tighten & untighten the saw blade once you've finished. "
Review 5 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mitre Saw
16 Jun 2014
By reaper52
, Carrickfergus
" While most of the reviews have rubbished this, I have just cut over 150 meters of skirting and door framing and found no problems at all with all joints being good and tight. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mitre
4 Apr 2012
By firebobby51
, Spain
" I have used this on upvc and wood,and i have to say it as been OK,a little flimsy and poor build instructions but for the money it does the job. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
doesn't cut vertically
4 Mar 2015
By gilesc
, Canterbury
" This would be a great saw if it cut vertically. Instead it cuts at about 85 degrees and the angle of vertical cut cannot be adjusted, making it utterly useless for anything other than wrecking your materials. Maybe I just got a dodgy one.
Otherwise it does have a great range of angles that you can cut (horizontally) and has a good, solid metal base. The frame that holds the saw is a bit flimsy, which probably contributes to it cutting non-vertically.
"
Review 8 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Deceived
27 Jan 2015
By loffty
, Whitchurch
" Unfortunately the product supplied is not what is described. It is only 550mm long, it only comes with one blade-fixed and it is not a compound bevel saw.
If I had wanted a simple mitre saw it felt sturdy and fit for purpose but as I did not use it I cannot comment further
"
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not what it says it is
10 Jan 2015
By HorshamChris
, Horsham
" The item supplied was not as shown on the catalogue picture and was not a compound mitre saw as advertised. It had horizontal angle adjustment only. Returned it without use so cannot comment on whether it functions as a standard mitre saw. "
Review 10 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mitre saw
24 Nov 2014
By greasemonkey
, norfolk
" this product is advertised with 2 blades but only comes with 1,so if it's the other tpi that you need tough. "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Mitre Saw Ever
22 Nov 2014
By Crunchy
, London
" Like other users I purchased this in store without reading the reviews here.
This item is hopeless and wouldn't cut a 45 angle let alone a straight 90 cut through a simple piece of skirting. The cut meandered over 8mm from true
I used to have something similar in design which worked acceptably. I thought this would give the same result.
This saw was just horrible to use and I wish I hadn't purchased it
My recommendation would be to avoid this item "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dreadful
8 Aug 2014
By Stu30
, NE
" I never really got away with this tool or how it cut. I tried n tried to make it cut nice 45 degree cuts but it just never did. The blade would get stuck it shook all over the place oh dear,,
I really wanted to like this tool but was forced to return it as precision in my opinion just didn't come into it. Besides that you have to build it and well some of it just did not want to go together and was a mini challenge within its self.
Maybe somebody will like this tool and that's cool what works for one doesn't always work for another. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
recycled rubbish
25 Jun 2014
By willfire
, liverpool
" I thought it was just me being useless but when I finally gave up and took this heap of rubbish to the recycling centre low and behold there was one of these already in the bottom of the skip, best place for it. Get a power mitre saw and save yourself time, and in the long run, money "
Review 14 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
a piece of tat
23 Apr 2014
By misterblueskye
, barry vale of glam
" bought this to cut plastic skirting,wasnt going to use for a few days,i assembled this ,took quite a while, very flimsy,tried to cut skirting ,but blades are too thin and cannot be stretched enough to , to make stiff enough,could not get straight cuts ,will be getting my money back asap,should have read reviews on this saw before buying.
do not buy
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst buy ever!
11 Apr 2014
By Cardie
, Bangor, N.Ireland
" I have been a DIY'er for over 40 years and this saw was undoubtedly my worst buy ever.
I bought it to cut 6 inch skirting but I quickly had to give up and take it back for a refund - which I readily got.
The whole saw is as light as a feather, wobbly and most inaccurate. I lost a lot of valuable time because I did not read the reviews in advance.
Knowing what I know now, my confidence in Screwfix is somewhat dented because they continue to sell what rates so poorly.
Steer well clear of this item! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless waste of money.
19 Mar 2014
By Minera
, Wrexham
" Bought this to cut mitres in 6" skirting board. The materials are cheap, the instructions are wrong and it does not cut straight. I thought perhaps it was because of the mitre but after checking the set up I realised it won't even do a 90 degree cut straight!
Don't waste your money. We actually ended up having to buy new skirting to replace the damaged lengths! "
Review 17 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simply awful
18 Mar 2014
By Bobbybass
, Eastbourne
" I wished I had read the reviews, but I was in a hurry and use Screwfix a lot. I thus 'assumed' that all their stuff would be great..but not this item !!
Floppy....bad blade....and doesn't cut accurately at all. I had to cut freehand in the end....and it WAS BETTER !! I should have taken it back..but I hit it with a hammer..just to make myself feel better.. !.
They should withdraw this as I've never used one so bad.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most useless device
2 Oct 2013
By SteveSch
, Kent
" There is only one way to describe this product; completely useless. It is very poorly made with inferior grade materials. Both saw blades that came with the device were warped. The saw itself is so badly made that it is impossible to tighten the blade enough without the entire thing falling apart. When I did finally get it assembled, what should have been a true vertical cut in a strip of skirting board was actually around 15 degrees off vertical. I returned the product for a full refund and my recommendation would be that Screwfix remove this product immediately from their catalogue. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
angled compound mitre saw
7 Nov 2012
By doublezero
, Chester
" Nice saw.
Mitre plastic hanger broken after second use.
No undue stress applied, poor grade black plastic material containing regrind. Plus
abysmal non vertical cut.
Not a craftsman tool sorry.
"
Review 20 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Goodbye Money!
14 Oct 2012
By JoeUK82
, Wales
" Really wish I hadn't bought this saw.
Unfortunately I bought it from the trade counter and not on here where I would have seen the reviews.
I don't know why it's being sold by Screwfix!
Really flimsy.
You never get an accurate cut.
Forget about trying to use the clamps.
I could go on all day about it.
It's annoying you have to give it a star to mark it as "poor" as it's not worth it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>