Product Reviews

Angled Compound Mitre Saw

Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Average Customer Rating:
1.321 out of 5
1.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
25
3 of 28(11%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Review 1 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mitre Saw
25 Aug 2014
By
, Southampton
"Whilst it wasn't too clear on how to put together it was certainly a good buy & cut skirting boards really well so I would recommend. Don't forget to tighten & untighten the saw blade once you've finished."
Review 2 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mitre Saw
16 Jun 2014
By
, Carrickfergus
"While most of the reviews have rubbished this, I have just cut over 150 meters of skirting and door framing and found no problems at all with all joints being good and tight."
Review 3 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mitre
4 Apr 2012
By
, Spain
"I have used this on upvc and wood,and i have to say it as been OK,a little flimsy and poor build instructions but for the money it does the job."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dreadful
8 Aug 2014
By
, NE
"I never really got away with this tool or how it cut. I tried n tried to make it cut nice 45 degree cuts but it just never did. The blade would get stuck it shook all over the place oh dear,,
I really wanted to like this tool but was forced to return it as precision in my opinion just didn't come into it. Besides that you have to build it and well some of it just did not want to go together and was a mini challenge within its self.
Maybe somebody will like this tool and that's cool what works for one doesn't always work for another."
Review 5 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
recycled rubbish
25 Jun 2014
By
, liverpool
"I thought it was just me being useless but when I finally gave up and took this heap of rubbish to the recycling centre low and behold there was one of these already in the bottom of the skip, best place for it. Get a power mitre saw and save yourself time, and in the long run, money"
Review 6 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
a piece of tat
23 Apr 2014
By
, barry vale of glam
"bought this to cut plastic skirting,wasnt going to use for a few days,i assembled this ,took quite a while, very flimsy,tried to cut skirting ,but blades are too thin and cannot be stretched enough to , to make stiff enough,could not get straight cuts ,will be getting my money back asap,should have read reviews on this saw before buying.
do not buy
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst buy ever!
11 Apr 2014
By
, Bangor, N.Ireland
"I have been a DIY'er for over 40 years and this saw was undoubtedly my worst buy ever.
I bought it to cut 6 inch skirting but I quickly had to give up and take it back for a refund - which I readily got.
The whole saw is as light as a feather, wobbly and most inaccurate. I lost a lot of valuable time because I did not read the reviews in advance.
Knowing what I know now, my confidence in Screwfix is somewhat dented because they continue to sell what rates so poorly.
Steer well clear of this item!"
Review 8 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless waste of money.
19 Mar 2014
By
, Wrexham
"Bought this to cut mitres in 6" skirting board. The materials are cheap, the instructions are wrong and it does not cut straight. I thought perhaps it was because of the mitre but after checking the set up I realised it won't even do a 90 degree cut straight!
Don't waste your money. We actually ended up having to buy new skirting to replace the damaged lengths!"
Review 9 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simply awful
18 Mar 2014
By
, Eastbourne
"I wished I had read the reviews, but I was in a hurry and use Screwfix a lot. I thus 'assumed' that all their stuff would be great..but not this item !!
Floppy....bad blade....and doesn't cut accurately at all. I had to cut freehand in the end....and it WAS BETTER !! I should have taken it back..but I hit it with a hammer..just to make myself feel better.. !.
They should withdraw this as I've never used one so bad.
"
Review 10 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most useless device
2 Oct 2013
By
, Kent
"There is only one way to describe this product; completely useless. It is very poorly made with inferior grade materials. Both saw blades that came with the device were warped. The saw itself is so badly made that it is impossible to tighten the blade enough without the entire thing falling apart. When I did finally get it assembled, what should have been a true vertical cut in a strip of skirting board was actually around 15 degrees off vertical. I returned the product for a full refund and my recommendation would be that Screwfix remove this product immediately from their catalogue."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
angled compound mitre saw
7 Nov 2012
By
, Chester
"Nice saw.
Mitre plastic hanger broken after second use.
No undue stress applied, poor grade black plastic material containing regrind. Plus
abysmal non vertical cut.
Not a craftsman tool sorry.
"
Review 12 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Goodbye Money!
14 Oct 2012
By
, Wales
"Really wish I hadn't bought this saw.
Unfortunately I bought it from the trade counter and not on here where I would have seen the reviews.
I don't know why it's being sold by Screwfix!
Really flimsy.
You never get an accurate cut.
Forget about trying to use the clamps.
I could go on all day about it.
It's annoying you have to give it a star to mark it as "poor" as it's not worth it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DON'T BUY THIS!
16 Sep 2012
By
, Croydon
"Why oh why did I ignore the reviews here? I needed to do about 15m of skirting so I did not want a power mitre saw and this seemed like a cheap solution. How bad could it be, I thought.
Instead it was an expensive compromise:
- it cut about 5 degs of the perpendicular so none of the joints would mitre up. I simply could not adjust it to cut accurately.
- it wobbled all over the place so was never going to give a consistent cut
- sure, it is cheap, but there is a threshold of quality that no retailer should drop below. The build quality of the components was not acceptable.
- one of the clamps partially fouled the rotation of the cutting frame movement
- the instructions were worse than those from that famous Swedish home store. It took 45mins to work out how to put it together and the assembly diagram was literally useless
The store gave me my money back, no quibble. But not until I had wasted half a day picking up, assembling and trying to get the thing to work.
Screwfix, you really need to pull this product - it is making you look bad."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
An axe would cut straighter!
19 Aug 2012
By
, London
"Just spend an hour putting this thing together, and cut a piece of 50mm x 50mm Ash hardwood. Had to grease the saw's runners, but might as well not have bothered!
I've never managed to cut a piece of wood so badly! Straight into the bin (the saw, that is!).
It's poorly designed, the saw's guides wobble about, and it is impossible to cut straight with it.
You're better off the old-fashioned way, with a rough-cut, then a block plane.
Forge Steel products are usually good, but not this one.
"
Review 15 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Angled Compound Mitre Saw
28 Apr 2012
By
, Stevenage
"Absolute rubbish - poorly made - one of the support legs for the saw itself kept on falling out of the base unit. Blade doesn't run true - it wobbles all over the place, angles are not accurate. Basically a very inferior product - should be withdrawn from sale until it can be manufactured properly. Get yourself a powered compound angled mitre saw - loads more stability and a whole lot neater to use!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AVOID - useless & broken item!
20 Feb 2012
By
, Slough
"Should have read the reviews here first, thank you all for posting, nice to know its not just me.
Didn't get to do many test cuts (none ended up anywhere near 45degrees) before it broke. I found the saw action itself to vary between a bit stiff to very stiff which resulted in the plastic vertical guide brackets snapping.
Overall its a piece of junk and a waste of my time."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Load of rubbish
3 Oct 2011
By
, Swindon
"Must agree with everyone else, absolutely useless, wasted so much wood by cutting with this piece of junk. Just won't cut straight. Screwfix please take this off sale before you have more dissatisfied customers."
Review 18 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If Only I'd checked here first
20 Jun 2011
By
, Milton Keynes
"Normally I research anything I buy just to save any frustration later. This time I didn't have time and guess what -stitched up nicely with this useless device.
Doesn't cut straight, poor flimsy build. All the negatives I have read on this site are true and justified in my opinion-so be warned all future buyers.
"
Review 19 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS ITEM
12 May 2010
By
, Banbury
"Fistly I am dismayed that Screwfix are still selling this apology for a mitre saw.
I purchased this last year to replace broken item which was purchased fron Screwfix but not used until now.When I say used I mean attempted to use.As previous reviewers have stated this saw refuses to cut straight,even a 90 degree cut and the blade wanders,never mind mitre cuts which are impossible to get accurate.The main problem is that the front blade mount upright is not strong enough and twists therefore bowing the front edge of the blade.Overtightening the blade just make matters worse.If I had tried it when purchased I would have demanded a refund,but I quess too late now. Please please leave this saw on the shelf!!!.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Angled Compound Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't Buy This!
1 Mar 2010
By
, Swansea
"Like so many other reviewers, I wish I'd read the reviews before buying this.
The assembly instructions are almost unintelligible, and there's no part list so you have to assume you have everything.
I made four test cuts in a piece of pine skirting with the angle set to 90 and the mitre to 45. The mitre was fine, but the cut was off by about 10-15 degrees! I took it back, and got a refund but until I read the reviews I had a small doubt in myself as I'm only an DIYer. I feel better for reading the reviews!
Bottom line, don't buy this. Thanks for screwfix taking it back with no hassle, but they need to pull this product from the catalogue."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>