Product Reviews

Great value design with knuckle guard and blade protector.

Great value design with knuckle guard and blade protector.
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
7 of 12(58%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Review 1 for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr
18 Jul 2014
By Tudge
, Stockport
"Absolutely brilliant saw, eats up timber. Thought of using a normal saw, but someone mentioned this for Screwfix, so I bought it, and not looked back."
Review 2 for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Does what is says on the Can"
28 Jun 2014
By channelpirate
, Somerset
"My old saw was on it's last legs after 35 years use, so rather than just buy a new blade which would cost near half the price of this complete saw, then a new saw it was. Obviously being brand new it it doing "what it says on the Can". I am sure this saw will outlast me this time around being already a pensioner !!"
Review 3 for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value saw
29 Apr 2014
By DIYandStuff
, London
"Great saw for a good price. Arrived next day and did the job eating through somepretty thick green wood. Would totally recommend."
Review 4 for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bow Saw
23 May 2012
By mazdaman
, essex
"Well made with good ergonomic design,feels comfortable to use and comes with an excellent blade.made small work of my conifers."
Review 5 for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw Point!
15 Sep 2011
By scouse111
, warrington
"Quality product - Good value for money - The service at Screwfix depot was excellent"
Review 6 for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good saw for Treework
15 Apr 2011
By DidcotRog
, Didcot
"Good strong saw with sharp blade. I had to cut down a 9 inch trunk and this saw got the job done"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practical bow saw
25 Mar 2010
By Sheck
, West Highlands
"Very good saw and value for money. I've had a plainer Screwfix bow-saw for years and wanted a spare."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handy bow saw
17 Dec 2012
By Workharder
, Cardiff
"This saw is comfy to use and a reasonable size. The blade it comes with is either too thin or slightly too long as I found it very difficult to work with and as soon as I replaced it with a Bahco one I was able to cut straight."
Review 9 for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed
16 Jul 2014
By WileyC
, Anglesey
"Average price for a saw of this blade length.
I've bought a couple of replacement blades, which I think are fine, but the 'handle' itself is pretty poor... the thin plastic 'hand guard' snapped within 10 minutes of the saw's first use and the 'cushioning' at the other end is useless because I wear safety gloves and it does nothing to improve the usability of the saw. The butterfly nut and bold that secures the blade to the saw at the end remote from the handle also broke off after the second blade was fitted.
As another reviewer has noted, there's no way of adjusting the blade tension. However, on a positive note, I still use the saw and have successfully sawn through (sycamore) branches of 5" - 6" diameter, hence the 4* for 'performance' - though I ascribe this particularly to the blade.
When I bought this Screwfix held alternative makes, as this is the only make they now stock I doubt I'll buy another."
Review 10 for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OKish for the money
30 Oct 2012
By azwright
, Wokingham
"This saw has a sharp blade but the teeth on my version weren't set (i.e. they are all in a line) so it binds badly when cutting anything larger than a couple of inches.
I've replaced the blade and things are better. However, the saw itself offers no control over the exact blade tension since it just clamps down rather that tightens via a screw which some more expensive saws do.
You are better off spending a bit more money if its going to be a saw you use a lot."
Review 11 for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have better bread knifes
18 Mar 2013
By namasteboy
, Peterborough
"Flimsy blade which bends and cuts off at an angle, really hard to use to cut anything thicker than a couple of inches. I purchased this to cut up logs for the wood-burner. Big mistake.
Fine for cutting small branches but useless for anything else. Complete waste of money."
Review 12 for Forge Steel Bow Saw 24" (610mm)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor poor poor
5 May 2012
By crapnicknamesystem
, Kirkby in ashfield
"Second i purchased as the first broke within 20 min of first use whilst cutting branches. the blade does not tention enough and flexes badly even with light pressure being applied. suppose this is ok for very light infrequent use, but why make a 24" Bow saw that cannot cope with anything heavier than what a set of secetures can deal with. ? pretty rubbish really."