Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Small lightweight planer with Woodrazor blade system and easy to read, precision depth adjustment. Supplied with carry case.

Small lightweight planer with Woodrazor blade system and easy to read, precision depth adjustment. Supplied with carry case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Review 1 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bosch planer
9 Apr 2011
By solidwhiteoak
, falkirk
"This has been a great buy, being a joiner doing mainly finishing work I couldnt ask for any more. Comes in sturdy kit box, left /right chip ejection, dust bag, parking stand and a decent length of flex fitted. Flex is rubberised not that plastic type that splits after six months. Added bonus only uses single blade. Excellent. Keep it up bosch."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality kit
21 Oct 2013
By HandyHarper
, Hertfordshire
"I would normally buy DeWalt gear so when my old Bosch planer died I initially looked at DeWalt. Then had a look at this planer and was very impressed with the feel and quality. Have not used too many times but so far so good. Very easy to use as the weight is perfect. All features work well. being able to switch extraction either side is a must, and the collection bag is a decent size. This planer easily shaves 2.6mm in one pass and changing blades looks a breeze. Good long cable as well and the sprung loaded rest tab at the back is a real improvement on my old Bosch. All round good buy and looking forward to many years use"
Review 3 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's Bosch- It's brilliant
11 Mar 2013
By NPGFUNKY
, Devon
"Didn't necessarily need a new planer, but used one of these and went right out and bought myself one.
I am a joiner, and this is a real pleasure to use, cuts brilliantly and having the one blade is so much better, and this being a lighter planer, you get more feel of what you are doing than the heavier ones.
I prefer Bosch power tools over other makes, and this does not let you down."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply the best...
31 Jan 2013
By Fredthedog
, Leeds
"I've pretty much had one of each of the planers available over the past 20 years.
I can't think that any of them were as good as this piece of kit.
A dust collection bag that actually works, theres a novelty. An extraction point on either side, so you don't get a mouth / eye full shavings. Also has rebate guide function, comes with decent case, long cable...
But the best 2 features for me are (a) its so easy to change the blades and not have to balance them, which on some other makes, its pretty tricky, especially when your on site.
And (b) This planer only uses one blade at a time. Though it planes as smooth and true, as any other that I've had. Its just when planing modern flush doors to fit, there are often staples inside which will ruin your blades, with this, if the unthinkable happens, it doesn't ruin 2 otherwise new blades. Thus my blades are lasting twice as long as they used to.
This planner will take off up to 3mm in one sweep. though it says its 2.6mm. Thats plenty in my book.
Iused to try to buy all the sma ebrand of tools, eg. Hitachi, now I just buy the best that I can afford at the time. This is it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money
25 Jan 2013
By Blanky
, Bridgwater
"For what you pay for this planer it is does exactly what you would want. Good long lead, sturdy box and will plane to a depth of 2.5mm. If you buy this you will not be disapointed."
Review 6 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fine quality planer
2 Nov 2011
By PRT88
, Surrey
"Very pleased with quality of construction, a box which is large enough for the tool ( i.e. no need to try 10 times to get everything back in!) and it's a very smooth, accurate machine to use. Relatively quiet too.
The small prop at rear of planing surface, which protects the blade from surface contact whilst it runs down after use, is a great ides but it tends to cause rear of plane to rise off surface as it meets the work piece. Fine value - no cheap design/manufacture features
"
Review 7 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Planer - 6 Star!
7 Jan 2011
By NOBBY2
, West Midlands
"Bought this model after my old B&D planer was nearing the end of it's life after loads of use and abuse.
This Bosch planer is easy to use, very quiet and gives an excellent finish.
Note - Planer is fitted with a 4 metre long cable which is brilliant.
I would certainly recommend it!"
Review 8 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect time saver
3 Sep 2010
By woodworker1971
, London
"This is fantastic. No more laborious hand planing.
Not too heavy, very simple and clean to use.
"
Review 9 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grt kit
1 Jun 2010
By SELFBUILDEROK
, UK
"very light, great piece of kit and accurate slicing through wood no probs"
Review 10 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bosch 26 82 planer
8 Nov 2009
By PIPTHECHIPPIE
, rotherwick,hampshire
"Very pleased with performance, the single blade cuts very well with ease. very easy to use with one hand because of its weight. A must for all carpenters. 5 star rating!!!!"
Review 11 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bosch planer
2 Jul 2008
By wilkey
, wrexham
"excellent value for money very lite and very smooth and powerful.never let me down would highly recomend compared to the price of dewalt and which they are faily heavy!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bosch is best!
10 May 2008
By neil
, Sunderland
"Have had one these for 18 months now. Excellent quality tool that never grunts or groans on any kind of timber. Easy to use with nice little features."
Review 13 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty good little planer
23 Mar 2008
By Anonymous
, London
"Light weight but big heart planer, Use only one blade, but have ashtonishing cutting power."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Bosch :-)
20 Mar 2008
By Andyman
, Coventry
"Bought the plane as a replacement for a previous Bosch, which lasted 6 years. Excellent bit of kit.
Its now about 6 months old, and still sounds as it did when I bought it, comes with rebate guide which is great. Effortless removal of wood, and the 2 sided extraction is a god send. Thanks Bosch & thanks Screwfix."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super job
2 May 2011
By Simplesailor
, Huddersfield
"A 4-metre cable (amazingly useful!); accurate depth setting in tenths that really works; the automatically-extending bench rest is also a great extra that can save a lot of heartache if you forget yourself; and on... and on. It gives a great finish. Only complaint is that the shaving collector extends below the plane of the blade, so if you're working on a broad workpiece you can't use the bag because it rests on the workpiece and pushes the tool slightly off-level.
Spoils you for anything less, that's for sure.
"
Review 16 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
awkward to use
27 May 2014
By broobie
, cardiff
"The park rest gets in the way so i took mine off.This plane is not as easy to use one handed as my old one,it always takes a small chunk out of the end of the workpiece no matter how careful i am to hold it flat, and i am a carpenter with over 30 years experience. On the positive side it eats timber and only needs one blade but be careful mine takes off 4mm when it says 2.6."
Review 17 for Bosch GHO 26-82 2.6mm Planer 240V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointing
3 Nov 2013
By SaladFingers
, Buckinghamshire
"After borrowing a friends planer, I thought I'd buy my own. I usually use a hand plane. I bought this planer as I wanted something half decent but without the price tag of the higher end machines. I had reasonably high hopes, being a blue Bosch I assumed it would be at least half decent.
I don't buy Bosch tools and I certainly won't be buying again. The chamfer grooves are a useless waste of time. The rear shoe never sits on the workpiece so when the chamfer guide passes the end of the workpiece to allow the cutters to cut, the plane has nothing to steady it, so you cut a chunk out of the wood.
With regular planing, it's just as useless. The cutter sticks out further than the rear plate, which it shouldn't and doesn't on other machines, so when planing, the rear shoe doesn't sit flat, thus taking a chunk out of the end of the workpiece as when the front shoe passes the end, causing the rear to now sit flat and the blades take a large chunk out of the work.
This machine isn't made properly. Perhaps a bad batch as other reviews are positive. I'll be taking this back and buying a Makita or DeWalt which I've checked over and can see it hasn't the flaws which this Bosch machine does."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.