Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Roughneck Post-Hole Digger

Roughneck Post-Hole Digger
Average Customer Rating:
4.775 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 of 40(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Review 1 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Time saver
18 Apr 2015
By Snafu69
, Durham
" Been looking to get one of these for some time, don't know why I left it so long.
great tool good size and strong, just look out for sharp bits in the paint finish as I ripped a pair of gloves, easy sorted with a file then the perfect tool, you will regret many things but not this just get one and save time on any heavy digging job.
"
Review 2 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The right tool for the job
25 Mar 2015
By mwh6445
, Christchurch, Dorset
" Good weight for getting through those stubborn roots and concrete, ideal in every way for the job intended. Would recommend to anyone digging post holes, even for a one off hole, time saving tool. "
Review 3 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple but effective
13 Mar 2015
By HarpoonJoe
, Aberystwyth
" I was dreading digging 2ft holes for my garden fence posts but to be fair having started using this tool the job seems pretty manageable.
It took me around an hour to dig the first hole (it was mostly shale rock after the first foot down). With more experience I reckon I'll get a similar hole down to around 45 minutes with a bit of a sweat on.
Although I did feel the aches and pains the following day that is more down to my sheer lack of fitness. Part digging tool, part fitness equipment. I should be much stronger by the time I've finished the job.
Rest day today, I'm planning an hours "workout" tomorrow and strangely looking forward to it. "
Review 4 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real Roughneck Quality
13 Mar 2015
By WoodyWoodpecker
, Birmingham
" A very well made tool ideal for digging post holes or chopping tree roots.
A really good weight and length with a useful 'tamper' on the top end.
"
Review 5 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Fence'rs essential Tool
13 Feb 2015
By Holyman
, Kent
" This is the 2nd I've bought. The first was light-fingered away despite its weight! It will cut through any soil or tree-root & its length means no stooping until the hole is more than 2 ft deep. The striking pad on its top is great for sledge-hammer assistance as the hole deepens further. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job
30 Oct 2014
By Hills
, Belfast
" Bought this for putting in 200x200mm posts through hard ground. Broke through concrete, tarmac and cut tree roots without breaking my back. Great tool for the job it was intended for. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply perfect
26 Sep 2014
By Pomfretian
, West yorks
" Bought this to remove 4 tree stumps at side of the house it is simply perfect slices through roots with ease and length of bar allows plent of leverage should've bought one years ago go and buy one you will not be sorry "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tool
16 Sep 2014
By DanDeLion
, Colchester
" I actually thought this was going to be an expensive and clumsy waste of space when I got it, but I now have to agree with other reviewers. The weight of the tool helps enormously in driving the blade down into the post-hole, the size and sharpness of the blade makes for easy precision cutting, and the length of the handle not only means you can use it standing up, but you've got excellent leverage when you want to prise something stubborn out of the hole. "
Review 9 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A godsend!
1 Sep 2014
By Hammer12
, Tyne and wear
" Ive always hated and shied away from putting fenceposts in. That was until I bought this item. Its brilliant and works a treat. I even managed to smash through concrete foundations from an old brick wall. One of the best things I've ever bought.
Just try not to get overly keen and drop it on your foot. It hurts! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing hole digger!
21 Aug 2014
By Stumpy12
, Saltash
" Digging post holes will never be the same again! This goes through practically everything with ease, and makes digging deep holes for posts almost a pleasure. The weight and quality is excellent - why didn't I get one before? "
Review 11 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fab
18 Aug 2014
By Eeyore15
, Hampshire
" Really good piece of kit.. does at it is meant to. Made of tough material and would highly recommend to anyone. Reasonably priced too "
Review 12 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pricey but good
8 Aug 2014
By Properjobman
, Leeds
" This seemed a lot to pay for a lump of steel but it made short work of chopping through bush roots and breaking up concrete/rock when digging post holes. It should last forever. "
Review 13 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really useful tool
1 Jul 2014
By Jazzle46
, near London
" Great for post digging, root removing and breaking up difficult surfaces (short of drilling!) Perhaps could do with a bit more weight (whilst I can still lift it). Very pleased with this robust product which is definitely fit for purpose. "
Review 14 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tool fit for purpose
30 Jun 2014
By Tanglefree
, Lincolnshire
" After struggling with removing roots and stumps to erect a fence I purchased this and the roughneck mattock. Wish I'd done it before. Two great tools which sped up the job significantly. Worth every penny so money well spent. Sharp blade, weight and shaft length/strength make chopping out roots and stumps and breaking up hard ground easy. "
Review 15 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Must have tool for post holes
22 Jun 2014
By BigH99
, Hants
" I purchased this along with the roughneck fibreglass posthole digger. An excellent combination which makes light work of roots and rocks when digging post holes. "
Review 16 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing tool
22 Jun 2014
By Jollybusman
, Derby
" Just dug 6 holes in about 20 minutes with this product and a spade. Easy as anything. Just like paying someone to do it for you. If you think it may be a bit expensive, I'd say its worth every penny. Makes a boring job as easy and as quick as you wouldn't imagine. "
Review 17 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tool
10 Jun 2014
By Bob1950
, Gloucestershire
" Like a crowbar but with a thick, sharp blade at one end, this will break through roots with ease. I've just used it to remove the two end plants of a large established hedge and it sliced through the tough roots with hardly any effort. I'm about to dig a deep trench for the footings to a low wall I'm building near another hedge and this will be ideal. Keep it sharp to ensure good performance. Some kind of protective cover for the blade end during storage would be a good addition, but I'm very pleased with this tool. Screwfix click-and-collect ordering was a breeze as usual. "
Review 18 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
post hole digger
17 Mar 2014
By tonythemac
, lancashire
" this is a great tool , you will probaly only use it a limited number of times when digging post holes depending on the ground . it is worth having and you can lend it to your neighbours .Very glad i bought it and the only thing to make it better would be if it was cheaper . "
Review 19 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Indispensable for deep holes
20 May 2013
By LeoF
, Wirral
" This works really well. Cuts through roots and breaks up hard soil. Excellent buy. "
Review 20 for Roughneck 17lb Post-Hole Digger
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes digging holes easy
17 May 2013
By Tezza
, South East England
" Although I have a post hole digging tool (the one which grabs and lifts the dirt) I needed this to dig a gate post hole in a confined space. It made the digging fast and so much easier than trying to use a shovel.
I have also used it to dig holes for planting of shrubs and trees - both to dig the right size hole and mash up the base.
Its a bit pricey and there was a cheaper alternative but I was keen to have a tool which had a good quality of metal in the blade and the Roughneck brand has a decent reputation for quality stuff. "
Page : 1 2 next>