Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Black & Decker Workmate 536

Black & Decker Workmate 536
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Review 1 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HtheDIYman's review
18 Aug 2014
By
, Chester
"I could have written my Review, "word for word," with HtheDIY man's review.
At the risk of tempting 'Fate,' I can say that I've had no problems with my B&D Workmate over the 30+ years I have used it.
Totally reliable.
Built to last.
No corrosion/rust etc.
Nuff said.
"
Review 2 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Black and Decker Workmate
1 Jul 2014
By
, Penrith
"I have owned one of these for nearly 30 years. The plastic clips which hold the base legs out broke after 20 odd years and I had accidentally cut into the top a few times so I bought a "copy" new workbench which is rubbish. I considered buying a new one but then came the "light bulb moment" where I Googled spares. I was delighted to find that I could buy almost all parts for it. I replaced the clips for about £10 and it is almost as good as new. The cuts in the top I can live with. I thoroughly recommend these benches. I have a B&D mains drill that still works after 35 years. It is hard to buy stuff that is this good these days. They were designed to last."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bench
10 May 2013
By
, North East
"Had one of these for 20 years!
Excellent workbench, tried the Forge Steel one it lasted less than 1 hour"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential for a DIYer
8 May 2011
By
, Sussex
"Should've got one years ago. Great for all small jobs and easy to carry outside for dusty jobs. The top is bamboo not fibre. I think bamboo is tougher. Foung the collapsing mechanism a little tricky to start with."
Review 5 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Market leader.
12 Jan 2010
By
, Devon
"The workmate is better than any of numerous 'pretenders' on the market. Easy to erect and sturdy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value
6 Jan 2010
By
, Windsor
"Great product and excellent value however description should state some self assembly (not difficult) required."
Review 7 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value
19 Feb 2009
By
, WESTERN ILSES
"the b/d workmate ideal for lots of jobs easy to carry and store"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Work horse
7 Jan 2009
By
, Isle of Man
"This product was excellent price better than we could get anywhere else on the Isle of Man. It was delivered very fast and free because order was over £50 which flabergasted others that I told. The Work Bend is reliable and very strong and just like having another pair of hands. It has already paid for itself with the work that it has done."
Review 9 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant!
29 Sep 2008
By
, Loughborough
"I bought this whilst on offer at £29, and was a brilliant buy.
Have bought two cheap alternatives before, but wished I'd bought the 'real one' first time round. Perfect for everything, and also has two heights which is handy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply the best bench
16 Jul 2008
By
, Oxfordshire
"I have a Workmate 536 which is about 15 years old. They just last and last. They are very robust and stable. As the feet sit wider than the bench, they are also good on rough or uneven ground. Mine now needs new jaws as they have suffered too much water damage and cutting. Everything still works fine, but the jaws doesn't hold small delicate timber very well now. A new bench from Screwfix costs the same as a set of replacement jaws, so I'll be getting another one.
If you're looking for a sturdy bench that will take the abuse and last, then this is great for the money.
"
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waited too long
26 Aug 2008
By
, Walton-on-Thames
"I never saw the need for a portable bench until I lost the use of my workshop. But a vice of some kind is indispensable, and the Workmate now supplies it in a handy way for all but the heaviest work. The design is simple, allowing almost any shape to be gripped, including logs for sawing, and the whole bench can be locked down with a foot on the lower shelf. A good tool and excellent value for money"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
improvement on my old one
29 Oct 2014
By
, Maidstone
"had my original workmate for more than 40 years and apart from losing the plastic feet it still functions well. I have let my son have that one as he has just moved into his new house. Treated myself to a new one now I am retired and tackling even more DIY jobs. I like the improved worktop but resisted paying for the extra features of more expensive models as these functions can be carried out using a few inexpensive clamps:-)"
Review 13 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good sturdy bench
18 Jun 2013
By
, Stirling
"This is a great bench for the money but if you think this is good try a bosch workbench They are made of aluminium light as a feather and really strong.Best bit is they fold up flat with no bits sticking out so take up less room. Over all this bench is good value but quite heavy and cumbersome."
Review 14 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Black & Decker Workmate 536
5 Feb 2009
By
, SouthWest England
"Good value for classic unfussy well-designed Workmate that works strongly and just as required."
Review 15 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Time will tell
9 Aug 2008
By
, Scarborough
"More plastic parts than the Workmate I bought 20+ years ago but has proved surprisingly good so far. other than you can't use it as a make shift platform. Its compact dimensions however mean that it is more practical in confined spaces & the dual height is a bonus."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Useful workmate
14 Sep 2011
By
, Oxford
"I remember the 'original' workmate, and this isn't it - much lighter, smaller timber bench, plastic fittings - but hey, that's progress I'm told.
It does what it says - it is a useful platform and the vice seems to work well. The plastic 'pegs' for the top - one snapped during assembly...probably a fault in manufacturing, haven't tried to replace yet.
If you are looking for a bench and don't want horses, then this is a good bit of kit
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Refurb?
21 Jul 2013
By
, nottingham
"Either Black and Deckers quality control is slipping or I paid full price for a refurb, paint work scratched and decals missing from the wood work. However I needed it and it'll do the job, it's not a display piece after all, not particularly impressed though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointingly average.
26 Jan 2009
By
, Somerset.
"My previous workmate finally gave out after 30 years. My fault I'd allowed salt on it and it rusted to pieces. That was a wonderful piece of kit.
Having to get a new one in a hurry I took advantage of the special offer. Big mistake.
Clearly the bottom of the range workmate just isn't up to the quality of the more expensive options.
The nylon runners that the front piece moves on are incredibly loose fitting in the frame and the two top boards close offset against each other by about 15mm.
Had I not fiddled around putting it all together before discovering the shortcomings it would have been on its way back.
No I wouldn't recommend it, unless you're prepared to accept you'll get what you pay for, a cheap facsimile of the real deal.
On the other hand the set of Stanley screwdrivers I got from the clearance sale I would give five stars under every category, but then so has everyone else.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Black & Decker Workmate 536
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not Good
1 Oct 2008
By
, Argyll
"Found this to be overpriced - probably because of the brand name. Not a good quality poduct"
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.