Product Reviews

Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"

Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Average Customer Rating:
2.429 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
7
5 of 14(36%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Review 1 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product
2 Jul 2009
By
, Rugby
" I purchased the Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10", to flatten ground ready for paving slabs. It is an excellent workhorse and easy to use with the fibreglass shaft and comfort handle. It flattened the mix of earth and gravel easily, and only required tamping twice. The earth is now compact enough to lay the paving slabs. I am very pleased with the purchase which should last for years to come. "
20 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roughneck Tamper
16 May 2016
By
, Saffron Walden
" " Does what it needs to do 2nd one I have bought great bit of kit Tamps hardcore ok , I use it for knocking back down grass areas after laying cables down nice neat job! "
Review 3 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tamper
28 Jul 2015
By
, Mallusk
" used this at the weekend to prepare quarry dust to build a shed on. worked a treat and was great to use. would recommend for a small area. did the job well "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good useful tool
3 Apr 2015
By
, Ely
" Does what it needs to and no complaints from me. Tamps hardcore well enough, I used it for a patio sub base. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a tamper!
2 Jan 2014
By
, Hampshire
" I read the reviews about the fibreglass shaft, handle, not being very strong and breaking, but I used it to tamp down some pretty horrible chalk with large, very large stones, and had no problems whatsoever.
It does the job! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tamper
29 Sep 2010
By
, Cumbria
" Yes I have had one for 6 months now, it is essential to make sure the ground is essentially flat that you are tamping down. If you hit any large stones with the outside edge of your tamper the shaft will bend. Yes my shaft is now broken and split aswell "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
good... but not good enough
24 Mar 2010
By
, Cambridge
" I'm a garden designer, and do my best to use hand tools rather than power tools for my work.I recently installed a ballast base for a clients patio/shed, and by the end of the job the shaft of the tamper was cracked. I haven't yet returned it to my local Screwfix, and don't anticipate any problems for this. Up to the point of the cracked shaft it worked brilliantly, but I would have expected it to last far longer than this. I'll likely give another a go, but certainly more reluctant this time around. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Back to the drawing board !!
8 Apr 2016
By
, Birmingham
" Despite previous reviews saying that the handle was weak, I purchased the 10" x 10" Tamper to compact soft soil that had been dug over and rotavated prior to laying turf.
The Tamper gave great results, compacting the soil well but after a few minutes I noticed hairline crack's appearing at the bottom of the handle shaft. By the time I had completed 2 m², the cracks had become far worse and I stopped before the head parted company with the shaft.
After less then two hours of buying the tool, I have returned it to screw fix and had a refund (their customer service is excellent).
I don't feel that this tool is fit for the purpose that it's designed for and would not recommend it, unless the handle design is changed for something more robust.
"
Review 9 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
waste of time
14 Sep 2014
By
, walsall
" got this to use for my drive.
the handle broke within ten minuets handle is not up to the job at all. returned to screwfix for a refund, customer service fantastic as always.
"
Review 10 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chocolate fire guard
10 Jul 2014
By
, Croydon
" This must be by far the most poorly designed and constructed... its that bad it's not even a tool it's an over sized paper weight. I got two tamps out of it from maybe a foot off the floor the shaft split on the first and the end fell off on the second. This item is awful and should not be sold to the public. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Roughneck Tamper
15 May 2013
By
, Norwich
" First tamper shaft broke
Replacement shaft cracked
Not man enough for work that wasn't the most demanding.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME/MONEY!
10 Mar 2012
By
, Dorset
" THIS IS USELESS!!
The fibreglass handle is hollow apart from approximate 5" at the screwed tamper end.
Which is also a short (5"), rod of fibreglass, held to the hollow hand with a single rivet with a hard rubberised screw type connector which screws into the tamper! consequently, the handle splits at the tamper end and the tamper comes away from the handle.
Try and unscrew the broken end from the tamper to replace the handle!!! Not easy is the understatement of the century!!
I CAN'T STRESS ENOUGH, DO NOT BUY.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy this
15 Oct 2010
By
, Bristol
" The fibreglass shaft will break as soon as you hit a stone. This tool is useless and should not be sold. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Roughneck Tamper 10" x 10"
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Awful
31 Aug 2010
By
, W London
" Compacted the soil for a small shed base - no problems.
Now trying to use it for a larger patio area after about 4 square metres it began to feel different.
I checked the shaft and it was cracked.
It is not fit for purpose. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.