Product Reviews

Great value kit comprising 26cc Start Easy Line Trimmer with double-sided blades and 48" attachment for extending into long-reach hedge trimmer. Maintenance-free electronic ignition. Split shaft for easy transportation. Includes FREE hedge trimmer attachment.

Great value kit comprising 26cc Start Easy Line Trimmer with double-sided blades and 48" attachment for extending into long-reach hedge trimmer. Maintenance-free electronic ignition. Split shaft for easy transportation. Includes FREE hedge trimmer attachment.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
9 of 14(64%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Review 1 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neatly trimmed
4 Sep 2010
By Whitebear
, Norfolk
"Starts easily and cuts well, although a little noisy. Changing between attachments is simple and broken down it is easier to store. Both cutter attachments have managed well with what I have asked of them.
It's not too heavy for long use and is nicely balanced; the overall length of the hedge cutter when attached is excellent for consistent hedge cutting. Overall - a good buy."
Review 2 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brill AAA ++++
25 Aug 2010
By GreyEyes2010
, Slough
"Great item and well worth buying would highly recommend, does what ever you want it to do without any problems. Only problem i had with it was putting new line in is abit a job but once you have worked out how to do it makes it so easy the next time."
Review 3 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great purchase
30 Jun 2010
By petesk
, Manchester
"Bought this to clear a large garden and did the job perfect. plent yof power just a bit fiddly putitng new line in but no problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressed
28 Jun 2010
By Amanwhocan
, Midsomer Norton
"Very impressed with the product and the versitility of the product"
Review 5 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Good All Round Trimmer
5 Jun 2010
By Mildenhall
, East Midlands
"The engine starts pretty easily. It has plenty of torque and power and handles the heavier stuff. It is light, but a bit noisy which to be honest is expected considering what it is doing. The line auto feed works very well compared to other electrical trimmers I have tried.
The hedge trimmer is excellent and cuts thick material easily."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great deal indeed
19 May 2010
By uxb808
, Wales
"This is a well balanced machine but for those with weak arms, shoulders and/or back I'd recommend a shoulder strap (not provided) however a hoop to fix the shoulder strap is provided. The bolt to fix the head to the main shaft is located in the head itself in case, like me, you wonder where it is and it makes sense to put it there as you have to take the head apart to attach it to the shaft! I'd recommend a full face shield rather than goggles as sharp stones and other things can fly up and, at worst, cut your face also ear protectors and good gloves. The hedge cutter attachment has an overall length of aprox. 920mm, the blades are aprox. 500mm in length and works very well although an Extension shaft helps with high hedges. A very good deal indead!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit
10 May 2010
By sinner
, Northamptonshire
"I haven't used a petrol strimmer before but this one did everything I wanted it to. More than enough power for boarders ande patches of long grass. The way you 'refil' the line is also very easy to do and it avoids the hassle of taking the whole thing apart everytime to need to renew the line! On the hedge trimmer attachment worked really well for me too. Had no problem starting it and it didn't cut out if I left it ticking over on the ground. I would recommend the to anyone I know. I'd give it an A+"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ryobi line trimmer
25 Aug 2010
By Gordy
, Matlock
"This is a very good purchase the only thing with it is starting it up once you have mastered it its a very good tool...."
Review 9 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value but noisy
31 Oct 2010
By infamouspip
, Warwickshire
"Very impressed with the value and versatility of this product - at the reduced price it's an excellent purchase.
However, be aware that it's very noisy (that's okay though if you've got ear defenders), and the vibration is severe. My wife and I both struggled to get an even cut with the hedgetrimmer attachment, and both had tingling, painful hands after just a few minutes' use. The hedgetrimmer didn't seem to be as sharp as others we've used, hence the uneven finish achieved.
I'd suggest that it's fine for small gardens where it'll only be used for short periods and it's okay for the finished cut to be imperfect, but for a large garden I'd suggest investing a little more money into a machine with higher power and a better anti-vibration system. At the price I could have lived with it if not for the severe vibration - I'll be returning this one for that reason alone."
Review 10 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
good trimmer...when it starts!
28 Apr 2011
By jannerpete
, Cornwall
"bought the RLT30HT and the first time I used it was great........since then it just takes forever to get it to start(usually about 20 mins and 150 pulls of the cord) by which time am too tired to do the lawn. I wish I'd never seen the thing..!!!!"
Review 11 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pain to start
29 Jun 2010
By GardenHero
, Ipswich
"This strimmer is fine for light/domestic duties but not for anything much heavier. The hedge trimmer attachment is also useful and works well.
The main problem is how unreliable these are. My first broke the starter line 1st pull and the one i have now, if it runs for 20 seconds or more and stalls, refuse to start for 20 minutes till it cools down!!
I'd recommend spending more and setting a more recognised brand"
Review 12 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointed
23 May 2010
By Mossyboy
, Aberdeen
"I have now used the strimmer a few times and am not impressed compared with other strimmers I have used. It is OK for light use e.g. long grass trimming (as long as it's dry) but not much good on anything heavier. It isn't too heavy but you need to add your own shoulder strap if you are using it for long. And it's noisy.
My main complaint is that it is underpowered. Even when warmed up it can't tackle very much and gets easily bogged down in the thick stuff. Also the guard is too small and lots of debris gets thrown up.
I wouldn't buy it again and would spend more on something a bit bigger.
I haven't used the hedge trimmer but having just read someone's review of it - that is probably the way it will stay.
Last point - it doesn't start all that easily.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stay clear
2 Jul 2013
By davebux
, Northampton
"Have owned this thing for a couple of years now, it worked fine for about 3 months then became the most annoying and frustrating peice of equipment i have ever owned.
Takes forever to start (usually about 20 mins) and just when you get going it cuts out and you have to wait another 20 mins before it will start again.
Have followed the instructions to the letter. Have tried new spark plug (no change) and ensured oil/petrol mix correct.
Wish i had never bought it.
Nice to know its not just me, if you look there are more unlucky folks on here who have the same faults.
"
Review 14 for Ryobi RLT26HT 26cc Petrol Line Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Dissapointing
10 Oct 2010
By Donemybest
, West Midlands
"Arrived in a damaged box but product not damaged.
Box boasts easy start something I was looking forward too.
It has to be the most problamatic start of a petrol engine I and others had ever known. Oh well hedge needs cutting and I seem to have found a 10 minute procedure which will start it. May be improve with time when it runs in?
No improvement on starting from cold. OK when hot.
The noise of this machine has provoked a few comments from neighbours but all comment on how quick it completes the job.
Trimmer fiddly to replace line and cuts at higher height than traditional home garden cutter probally due to the automatic line feed which gets jammed frequently as the broken line melts to the line that is on the spool.
The engine runs fast and sounds like it is going to explode you have to keep letting the trigger go to prevent it doing this.
The start rope has just jammed due to the number of times it takes before starting likely to have worn out.
Because of the starting performance a job in the garden has been turned in to something to be dreaded.
The hedge cutting attachment does not bend which means your muscles get a good workout trying to do the tops of hedges.
Try and return item for repair/replacement if it was to start easy I could live with the other points for the cost especially now its £70
"