Product Reviews

Horstmann Z222 2-Port Valve

Horstmann Z222 2-Port Valve
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Horstmann Z222 2-Port Motorised Valve
Review 1 for Horstmann Z222 2-Port Motorised Valve
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value
9 Dec 2015
By
, Nottingham
" Only wanted the top - the original lasted 5 years - a replacement motor fitted only lasted 2. Existing valve body was sound with no leaks and freely moving paddle so fitting was minutes "
Review 2 for Horstmann Z222 2-Port Motorised Valve
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Horstmann Z222 2-Port Mo
3 Feb 2015
By
, Llangaffo, Anglesey
" really fantastic value for money. I would recomend buying. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horstmann Z222 2-Port Motorised Valve
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Horstman 2 Port Htg Valve
19 Feb 2015
By
, Mid Wales
" Does what it is supposed to do at a very good price "
Review 4 for Horstmann Z222 2-Port Motorised Valve
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Replaced an older valve
30 Dec 2014
By
, Leicestershire
" I used this valve to replace an older model Horstmann which had a push button removable body, unfortunately they are not a straight body swop you have to change the mechanical part as well but at least the gland nuts and olives were compatable so it only took a few minutes. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horstmann Z222 2-Port Motorised Valve
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Changed Design
5 Dec 2014
By
, Norwich
" One of the really irritating things that manufactures do is to change the fundamental design. In this case I fitted three of the previous design valves three years ago of which two have failed.
And there lies the problem. There is nothing wrong with the valve body, only the solenoid unit. But, because the design has changed I have to replace the entire valve block and actuator.
Putting that aside, these are fairly reasonably priced units and the one I fitted 12 months ago is working well.
They are quiet in use and are neat and compact. As for reliability, I can only say that the previous model seemed to last about three years so the new one - this version - should be better. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horstmann Z222 2-Port Motorised Valve
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Horstmann
17 Feb 2015
By
, lisburn
" cheapest 2 port motorised valve i could find....should be ok but time will tell "
Review 7 for Horstmann Z222 2-Port Motorised Valve
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better model
11 Feb 2014
By
, London
" I have replaced a 2 port 22mm Horstmann motorised valve. The newer model benefits from being screw retained motor to the valve beneath, but the valve casting is too tight to easily fit the pipe, and why oh why have they changed the nut thread between the old and new models? I was hoping to stick with the same brand and simply unscrew the old unit then fit the new, but because the thread size was different I had to cut off the olives, remove the original nuts and replace with new. Very frustrating as I was working in a tight space and had to dis-assemble some of the pipework. A 10 minute job took an hour! "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horstmann Z222 2-Port Motorised Valve
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
new model trouble
29 Oct 2015
By
, Abingdon
" I fitted two Horstmann Z222 a couple of years ago and was happy with their performance.
Now one of the actuators broke (shouldn't this last a little longer?), so I thought I'd be smart and just buy a replacement actuator. Which I couldn't get. So I thought I am still smart and just buy another Horstmann Z222, just to take the actuator off that one and replace the broken one. Well, that didn't work. Despite using *the same model name*, Horstmann replaced the design by something completely incompatible with the older one. This is not good practice.
"
Review 9 for Horstmann Z222 2-Port Motorised Valve
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
POOR FITTING
29 Mar 2014
By
, London
" Valve purchased to replace pervious valve, however threads on compression changed. Made a simple job hard. As It was in tight area major work had to be done rather than one to one replacement. "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.