Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Evolution RAGE255 255mm Sliding Compound Mitre Saw 230V

Evolution RAGE255 255mm Sliding Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Average Customer Rating:
4.493 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
69 of 73(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Review 1 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of kit
11 Mar 2013
By Roo8082
, Leeds
" This is exactly what I was looking for. It seems to be a great piece of kit and very powerful for its size. Very simple to set up and get started. Highly recommend it !! "
Review 2 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great machine
18 Jan 2013
By Monk74
, Bolton
" What a brilliant machine , I bought this machine to help me with som wood projects but as it cuts wood, plastic and metal it gets used regularly. Worth every penny "
Review 3 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great diy saw
13 Jan 2013
By smarte
, Slough
" Have used this to make countless items of furniture over the last six months especially wooden planters for the garden.
The laser is not 100% accurate but is accurate to 0.5 mm, good enough for most diy.
Attach a vacuum to the dust collector when making multiple cuts as the bag fills quickly.
Awesome saw for the money
It cuts with the same accuracy and ease now as it did when I purchased it nine months ago, the blade still feels like new.
"
Review 4 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very pleased
6 Nov 2012
By diy4den
, east sussex
" I wish i had purchased one years ago, gives a near perfect cut with no burrs "
Review 5 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The neatest finish!!
5 Nov 2012
By Snowie
, Coalville
" I took a lot of time reviewing sliding mitre saws, as I was on a strict budget, this one was right on the money. It is not a tool I see myself using on a daily basis thats why I didnt want to spend a small fortune, but know that when it's called into action it does exactly what it says on the tin!! The job I needed it for was to cut a new bay window timber frame, for UPVC fascia boards to be fitted to. All the reviews and the product descriptions stated that the supplied blade would cut all manner of materials wood, steel, alloy etc etc, but no mention of Plastic/UPVC ... so It was with great trepidation that I put the first fascia board onto the machine for cutting .... I was worrying over nothing the cuts and mitres were very neat, so much so that using a rapid setting mitre bond I was able to manufacture the whole bay fascia board in one piece before fitting and the joints were outstanding!!
My only negative point - as some of the others say dust collection is not great ... although i havent yet tried it with the hoover attachment just the bag .... but it wouldnt stop me buying another if mine were to break ... superb machine for its price!! "
Review 6 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome
3 Nov 2012
By AnEyeBall
, Lincs
" Fantastic piece if kit. Cut up some fence posts to build a workbench and went through a nail by accident - made no difference to the saw and I didn't notice until later. Awesome saw and when on offer it's a must buy. "
Review 7 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
high quality, low cost
21 Oct 2012
By friesian
, Devon
" Solid feel, yet light to use. Plenty of power. Ordered at 5pm and in use 12.00 next day on old 8" pitch pine floorboards. Like knife through butter, very clean finishing cut. Quite quiet.
All controls easily understood. Looked at manual after using it. Nothing obscure in use.
Excellent value. Given 5 stars for reliability, but this is a guess as I have only had the saw 5 days. Box spanner missing from kit, hence lose a star on features.
"
Review 8 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
performance
23 Sep 2012
By georgeuk
, bognor regis
" well haven't started on the job i bought it for, just some practice so fingers crossed but i have to say i am impressed "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Saw
15 Sep 2012
By nfraser
, Inverness
" I was uncertain whether to get a sliding or a cheaper static mitre saw. Decided to go for the sliding and couldn't be happier with it. It goes through 6x2 joists like they aren't even there and was great at cutting angled decking boards. "
Review 10 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good chop saw
14 Sep 2012
By Riley
, Kent
" I found this Mitre saw an excellent saw, quick and easy to set up and easy to use. Have only used on soft wood up to now but have had no problems. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes life easy
22 Aug 2012
By Phildangerous
, Manchester
" Love this tool made my life easy, I was looking for a cheaper one but now pleased I paid a little more. "
Review 12 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cross cut saw
19 Aug 2012
By CCClaymore
, Dunfermline
" Bought it to build a BIG deck and it's done everything asked of it.. Handy to have around with the mitre capability. laser was a little dull in direct sunlight BUT keep the lense clean and it's fine. "
Review 13 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant kit
19 Aug 2012
By bumblingfool
, portsmouth
" brilliant piece of kit, does the job, and a great deal to boot with the special offer from screwfix! "
Review 14 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent
18 Aug 2012
By Dantheman55
, WALES
" There is not much i can add to what has already been said. The blade is a multi purpose so not the best for everything but does the job. the laser is only a guide but thats what it is for!!.
A good buy
"
Review 15 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Outstanding Saw
5 Aug 2012
By EssChipmunk
, Seaford
" I broke my last Mitre saw and needed a quick replacement.
I read a few online review for the Evolution Rage, and was impressed by the reviews. I was not dissapointed. This saw is very good in terms of build quality, performance and price.
It cuts mitres with much better accuracy than my previous saw. An essential in my line of work.
I have given 4 stars for reliability, as it is early days yet.
Very much recommended.
"
Review 16 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Mitre Saw
30 Jul 2012
By EliteSweeps
, Wells
" The Rage saw blade is phenomenol! It cuts through wood with steel nails in it with no hesitation at all. Super sharp teeth makes for clean and effortless cutting of every material I have thrown at it. The lazer line is a great help for lining up. Depth as well as slide can be controlled as well as angle and compound. The only minor criticism I have is that there could be more holes for the clamps to attach for slight more adjustment of awkward shaped objects. "
Review 17 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful saw with one blade!!
17 Jul 2012
By Eeyorerocks
, Yeovil, Somerset
" I read the reviews and went for it, it is the dogs doodies I have even cut down a roller blind, metal and plastic not fabric, brill
Instruction are rubbish even on line and the clamps could be a lot longer so hay ho ! I will have to make some. On the whole I'm so happy with it.
"
Review 18 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great saw
1 Jul 2012
By motocross228
, aldershot
" great cuts anything excellent value loads of good features dont have to change blade
for wood or metal saved me loads of time and money with mitre cut would rcommend
to anyone brill saw
"
Review 19 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Evolution "Revolution"
25 Jun 2012
By acrobat
, burnley lancs
" Been wanting to ugrade my saw for some time but couldn't justify the cost as it still worked ok. Then this little beauty came along at Screwfix prices, what a cracker of a saw. Its compact and lightweight yet it's scared of nothing. I am only a diyer but i will bet good money that it would cope with a hard days work in anybody's hand. excellent bit of kit
and I would say good value even at full cost but of course, Screw fix doesn't do full cost aren't we the lucky ones. Thanks again, you simply get better..
"
Review 20 for Evolution Sliding Mitre Saw
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Should have bought one sooner
18 Jun 2012
By mark20040
, West Mids
" I have been delaying buying one for ages. Using a circular saw and a straight edge to cut timber has been my method. This just makes more sense.
I had to adjust the laser in order to be more accurate but I always bring the blade down to my mark anyway.
Take it easy when cutting wood for a better finish. "
Page : 1 2 3 4 next>