Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Indirect Cylinder 940 x 450mm

Indirect Cylinder 940 x 450mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Indirect Stainless Steel Cylinder 940 x 450mm
Review 1 for Indirect Stainless Steel Cylinder 940 x 450mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm converted!!!
7 Apr 2011
By MountainMan
, Essex
"Took the plunge and fitted one of these cylinders for a customer. Quality materials & construction. Feels much more robust than copper. I've every confidence that this is the future of cylinders with the price of copper spiralling out of control.
All connections where standard size and positions from the old copper item, so replacement was really easy.
Do yourself and your customers a favour and ditch the copper!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Indirect Stainless Steel Cylinder 940 x 450mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Indirect Stainless Steel Cylin
27 Dec 2013
By PhatBoi
, Stevenage
"Indirect Stainless Steel Cylinder 1050 x 450mm
Fitted a lot of these and they are brilliant. Having the connections already there you can't go wrong. Much stronger and so you can really tighten them up without fear of distorting the body.
The only down side, when they need changing there will be no scrap copper to take to the metal yard!
"
Review 3 for Indirect Stainless Steel Cylinder 940 x 450mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tank
15 Nov 2012
By sellma
, Hoddesdon
"Good value, built in shower connection and 22mm fittings. important to remember you will need a complete incalloy immersion heater with an incalloy pocket that houses the thermostat. Currently not available off the shelf but can be ordered or found from a specialist site. Otherwise the standard pocket corrodes because of the stainless tank. I have had to go back to previously customers to replace leaking immersion heaters, one as soon as 6months after installation."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Indirect Stainless Steel Cylinder 940 x 450mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
better than copper
18 Oct 2011
By crabdens
, East Sussex
"replaced a 40 year old smaller copper cylinder , the new one heats up more water quicker than the old one and is much better insulated so lasts all day, reliability has yet to be tested"
Review 5 for Indirect Stainless Steel Cylinder 940 x 450mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
better for hard water area
10 Sep 2011
By roy47
, Newbury
"considerably lower in cost than for copper at the same size just as easy to fit no problems with over tightening at the immersion heater boss, Ideal for hard water areas"
Review 6 for Indirect Stainless Steel Cylinder 940 x 450mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top class SS Tank But what of
26 Aug 2011
By Yelrahm
, Thurlaston Cv23 9LA
"I purchased and fitted a SS HWT and it went in and has worked 100% for over about six months
However the brass tube for the immersion heater thermostat has quickly corroded through and leaked
I am wondering if there is galvanic action between the brass and the stainless steel
Does anyone have thoughts on the subject
Thanks
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Indirect Stainless Steel Cylinder 940 x 450mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dead Simple
4 May 2013
By nickover
, Hampshire
"The cylinder was delivered on time that's good
Was simple to fit with the minimum of pipe work alterations. The fact it has all the fittings built in was another bonus. It heats up faster than the old one and the insulations is superior
so the boiler does not run as often.
My only moan is that Screwfix do not tell you that that the cylinder is slightly shorter than the copper equivalent (thought they had sent me the wrong size) a quick check on the manufacturers website resolved this, so over all wel pleased.
"
Review 8 for Indirect Stainless Steel Cylinder 940 x 450mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, poor marketing
17 Jan 2013
By rwaxer
, Settle
"I bought one of these and sent it back, because it was only 900mm tall. I emailed RM, and they say the sizes are "nominal" because these cylinders are flat-bottomed whereas copper ones have a concave base, so the "equivalent" size is 1040mm. But my old cylinder was 500mm in diameter, so had more capacity anyway.
If you want a 900mm one, order a 1050, if you want a1050mm, order a 1200, if you want 1200mm, order a 1500 one.
They quote the capacity in litres, so why quote a "nominal" height that is not what you will actually receive?
Having said that, I have no complaints with the cylinder now that I have got the right one. I'm sure the SS will outlast copper, and my old cylinder was 50 years old! Plus I got £99 for the scrap copper and brass from EMR, and the new cylinder heats up quicker and retains heat for longer.
I'm just annoyed that Screwfix had to bear the cost of me sending it back because of RM's inaccurate description.
"
Review 9 for Indirect Stainless Steel Cylinder 940 x 450mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Silly Top outlet size!
20 Jul 2011
By ColWilson
, West Midlands
"I purchased this Stainless Steel 1050 x 450 mm tank for its increased reliability and to increase the capacity of hot water for the installation of a pumped shower. I found that the silly, 22mm compression fitting for the hot water output is completely unsuitable (far too small) to allow the fitting of any type of the popular flanges (Surrey, Warix or Salamander.
I emailed the manufacturer (RM Aquastel) for advice and was told that they know of no suitable flange and that if I were to drill the tank for the fitting of an Essex flange I would nullify the warranty. Great!!!
A good product but HOPELESS if you want a pumped shower.
BEWARE the 22mm compression connections!!!
As for reliability, I'll write again in 10 years (maybe!)
"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.