Product Reviews

Polycarbonate. Can provide low level light when idle and full light output when motion is detected.

Polycarbonate. Can provide low level light when idle and full light output when motion is detected.
Average Customer Rating:
2.412 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
7 of 17(41%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Review 1 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good
20 Oct 2011
By gobba
, Aylesbury
"very good but no PIRs sold in white all said its working well"
Review 2 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
like this a lot
2 May 2014
By andyew
, Edinburgh
"Yep this is about the third time I have bought one of these and they do the job.
Also Screwfix prices makes it and my jobs cost effective in this tough economical environment"
Review 3 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value
12 Mar 2013
By Strangehead
, Essex
"Easy to install good coverage customer very pleased."
Review 4 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Neat little sensors
24 Nov 2012
By HolyNoodleness
, Livingston
"I bought 2 of these 7 months ago and they're doing the job they were bought for. They're perfect if you want to position the sensor away from your lights or if you want to bring on more than one light. Mine are in black. I think white looks naff.
The only reason I am writing this review today is because my neighbour wants one too and he asked me where I got mine from."
Review 5 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hopefully good PIR
8 Nov 2011
By Brightspark2
, West Wales
"Easy to mount and set up, great feature to be able to control lighting output from low background lighting to full high level lighting upon triggering PIR .
Had similar hi-lo sensor made by same company for over 10 years , and still working perfect , so not anticipating any problems,
only time will tell.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
8 Mar 2011
By rantanrave
, manchester
"Good coverage and very handy to have a dual level light output. Very pleased with performance"
Review 7 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Could be great - time wil tell
12 Oct 2013
By Lopears
, Axbridge in Somerset
"I wanted a PIR with 2 level lighting and this seems to be the only one on the market so I bought it, despite the bad comments and poor ratings. I spoke to Screwfix who assurred me it was a good unit.
Spmelectrical wrote a review on the 26th Nov 2012 and complained about the poor latching clips which hold the base unit to the main sensor and how easily they broke. I can confirm the man is quite right, as I broke one just pulling the two items apart to install it - extremely poor design.
That said, the rest of the installation went okay and the unit is now up and working very well. The reliabilty I have yet to establish and will post here if it fails. My star rating for Reliabilty is therefore just a guess.
If it continues to work as well as it has following installation I shall be very pleased - fingers crossed!"
Review 8 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good but short life expectancy
30 Mar 2010
By Genesis1923
, Norwich
"This is an excellent standalone PIR giving good coverage with its 180 degree detection range and is very sensitive to movement. It will trigger from the movement of trees and shrubs in windy conditions but I think this is a problem with most PIRs.
The only drawback is reliability. I purchased 2 units, the first failed after 10 months, the second after 13 months.
Perhaps I was just unlucky."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Switches on and off
27 Apr 2011
By frame6b
, doncaster
"Seemed to be OK for a while but now constantly switches on and off - looking for an alternative"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not very good
20 Jan 2014
By peterm71
, southport
"I have purchased a few of these over the years. They all work excellent at first, and the high - low background lighting is an excellent idea, but after a few months, they all just switch on - off - on -off constantly. I now set up separate PIR security lighting and background photocell lighting circuits which work problem free, only thing is you dont get the low high background lighting."
Review 11 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor quality locking mechanism
26 Nov 2012
By spmelectrical
, sussex
"As a profeesional spark i was at first impressed with the unit as i read the instructions and realised its capabilities. When i open the unit it opened poorly and when i tried to lock the unit the flimsy plastic catches broke.It cost me time and money to replace the unit. VERY SHODDY item. Also not that cheap."
Review 12 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Works but not for long
15 Sep 2012
By Paul3
, Somerset
"As many others have said, keep the reciept. Too late for me unfortunately. I bought 2 of these and 1 without the hi-lo feature, both of these units have failed. One is dead, the other turns on and off constantly. They are both undercover and dont experiance any damp or below zero temperatures, they have just failed. I have opened them up but no obvious problem, ie capacitors look OK, no burnt components.
Find an alternative make!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of Money
10 Feb 2011
By RMWR
, Aberdeen
"Had this installed yesterday by qualified electrician, rained overnight and now no longer working. Installed position was protected from direct rain but unit is clearly not IP44 rated as stated. Could be I just got a faulty one but based on the other reviews I'm guessing not..."
Review 14 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Humm Oh dear
10 Feb 2011
By Lashings
, Rg26
"Was easy to setup and install.
Worked fine for the summer
First bit of cold weather, it started switching on, off, on off, on , off constantly."
Review 15 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor reliability
4 Dec 2010
By Customer132
, Avon
"Good features and works as you would expect for a PIR, however I am already on my second unit. Soon after purchase it failed where it constantly switched between dim and bright levels which was quite annoying. Then it failed so that the light was just permanently on, come night or day and movement or not – but still made a regular loud clicking every few seconds.
Would be a good product if it was even vaguely reliable – read the other reviews!"
Review 16 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont last long
21 Nov 2010
By kevtyl
, sutton
"i am now on my 3rd one of these which has just gone wrong, make sure you keep your reciept so you can return it as they only last 6-8 months before going wrong.
i'm now going to buy elsewhere
"
Review 17 for 180° Dual Level Standalone PIR
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY!!!!!!
11 Nov 2010
By mamph
, blackpool
"I bought 3 of these PIRs last year. one for my porch that I used as a dual PIR, lights came on dim then full brightness when activated by someone walking towards the house. the other 2 were standard operating PIRs for security lighting around the house. All 3 were installed underneath barge boards and well protected from the weather. they worked perfectly for about 4 months then both front PIRs failed following heavy rain. I couldn't find my receipt so stupidly replaced them with brand new units from Screwfix. within 2 months of fitting (by a qualified electrician) both units failed again following rain, neither were exposed to direct rain, just damp. clearly not up to the job for outdoor use. you will waste your time and money buying these if used outside!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.