Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Drop-Down Loft Access Door

Drop-Down Loft Access Door
Average Customer Rating:
4.494 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
5 stars
55
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
3
79 of 83(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Review 1 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great piece of plastic
11 Feb 2016
By
, Oxford
" White plastic but blends in well with a white ceiling, excellent fit eliminates all drafts.
Great product
"
Review 2 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth it
6 Feb 2016
By
, West Midlands
" Fitted it in under two hours including installing a loft ladder. Excellent fit and easy to install "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Hatch
26 Jan 2016
By
, Bradford
" Bought this to replace an old hatch left in poor condition from the previous owners. The sizing of the frame was slightly short on the length but solved with extending the joist with additional timber. Looks wise very crisp and clean in brilliant white.
Having just fit it, I have still got to decide whether I like the sliding catch mechanism instead of the rotating catch I previously had.
"
Review 4 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Manthorpe insltd loft hatch
23 Jan 2016
By
, Lake
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Replacing the old loft door with this one has made so much difference to the comfort of my house I wish I'd done sooner. It wasn’t straightforward though as I had to enlarge the opening in the ceiling and turn the ladder through 90 degrees. When I cut out the existing trimmer joist the ceiling dropped by about 10mm between the two supporting joists. I had replaced the 25 gallon tank with a 50 gallon tank a couple of years ago and the board under the tank was now on these joists too. I partially drained the tank and used a 3”x3” fence post to prop up the ceiling and make sure it was flat to accept the door frame. I fitted a new trimmer joist and as the ceiling was lathe and plaster I used Evo Stik Evo Grip to secure it to the trimmer. I had to trim the opening to get the correct size for the frame. When that was complete fitting the frame was simple. The last thing I had to do was re-fit the loft ladder and fit the door, no problem at all. There were two small gaps between the ceiling and the frame that I had to fill with Polyfilla then it was job done. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent
5 Jan 2016
By
, South east
" This does exactly what it should do, easy and quick to fit single handed. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT HATCH
6 Dec 2015
By
, North Wales
" This was very easy to fit and use, it is well insulated and I would buy another if I needed one, Top Quality product "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
2 Dec 2015
By
, Chertsey
" Easy to follow instructions just need the right size loft entrance "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
25 Nov 2015
By
, Exeter
" Great product, although yet to fit as loft hatch needs some alterations "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product
23 Nov 2015
By
, Belfast
" product was very easy to install and finished in a crisp clean PVC, insulated on the inside with no more down drafts from loft. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
10 Nov 2015
By
, west scotland
" just installed this loft hatch, done in under half an hour by myself. Replaced an old wooden hatch which was dirty and needed painting, this hatch is clean and white and easy to operate. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"it's a Loft Access Door"
9 Nov 2015
By
, Armitage
" As the title says it's a loft access door. when fitted it gives a clean sleek look also seals nicely to the ceiling due the the pre fitted seal, if your ceiling is slightly uneven this will take up a certain amount so still worth buying. I only gave it four stars for reliability as it's only just been fitted. Do read the tightening instruction so it closes smoothly. as usual excellent service from my local branch in Lichfield. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job well
9 Nov 2015
By
, Weston Super Mare
" Got this to replace a broken loft hatch. Fitted perfectly and the door piece being detachable meant it was easy to fit the frame on it's own and then slot the door back in place. The latching mechanism seems to work really well and it seals really well compared to the drafty hatch we had before. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Loft hatch
30 Oct 2015
By
, Scotland
" Simple to fit and use, unit has a good fitting multi catch design. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value & functional
24 Oct 2015
By
, Worcester
" The access door is well made and an easy fit. However, no mention in the advert of the recommended 100mm all round margin between the opening and any obstruction. i didn't have this and it was only by careful measuring that I managed to fit the door. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy installation
19 Oct 2015
By
, Doncaster
" This was the easiest installation ever. Simple, easy install and operational design. Keyless design means the kids cannot get the hatch open. Would buy this again if ever needed. "
Review 16 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic!!
9 Oct 2015
By
, Exeter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" We live in 13 year old house and a lot of the original fixtures are looking tired and the loft hatch was the next thing on the list. Luckily the old one was fitted in the same size hole so the was no padding out needed like I thought I was going to have to do. I literally swapped them over in about 6 minutes with the help of my wife and a pole until if got 2 screws in. A good thing for me was that the external size of the hatch were slightly bigger than my old one so it covered the plaster ridges that were on the ceiling after I took the old one down.
Very pleased!! "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
7 Oct 2015
By
, Oldham
" Was looking for a new loft hatch as the old wooden one was heavy. This one is very lightweight and easy to use. Fitting was simple and just screws between the joists. It is longer than our original square one and can fit more stuff in the loft. "
Review 18 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loft Access Made Easy!
13 Aug 2015
By
, Gloucester
" Superb bit of kit. So simple and quick to install. Brilliant design ensures easy operation and a complete seal. Highly recommended - I would buy this again when next I need to create/enlarge loft access. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks good
11 Aug 2015
By
, Plymouth
" I studied several reviews before purchasing which were mostly positive. I fitted mine to an artex finish which originally concerned me regarding the comments that a flat surface was required but it worked OK after a little adjustment {referring to the fitting instructions on the box} It would be nice to have the opening & closing via a pole but it does require a little horizontal pressure to slide to release & re-secure so I doubt it is possible without some metal runners in the manufacture. The instructions regarding the removal of the door worried me but it is a simple operation once familiarised. I fitted it with my existing loft ladder in place which works with no impedance from the cover. Once you get over the fact it's not a solid door which mine replaced but a cover it's well worth the money especially as it added much more room for my increasing stature. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Manthorpe GL250 Insulated Drop-Down Loft Access Door White 686 x 856mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Manthorpe loft access door.
1 Jul 2015
By
, Dorset
" Excellent value and easy peazy to fit. Looks good, sits nice and flush to the ceilingn.I would definitely recommend this product. "
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 next>