Product Reviews

Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W

Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Average Customer Rating:
2.273 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
3 of 11(27%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Greenbrook Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Review 1 for Greenbrook Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dimmer switch
14 Aug 2012
By Bruce2
, Tyne and wear
"I've read a few reviews on this product, it seemed 50/50 but I wanted this so took the risk. Peoples main complaint was undimmed they were only about 3/4 brightness, I don't know how many spot lights they were running from the switch. I am running 2 spot lights from this switch and it does'nt seem any different to my other spot lights. The switch works by click on/ click off or hold to work the dimmer. I have my 2 lights above my bed. The electrician I used (35 years experience) really liked this switch it was the first time he had seen one. I am very happy with my purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Greenbrook Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dimmer pull cord
8 Mar 2011
By NeilH
, Edinburgh
"Installed with 4 down-lighters in bathroom.
Very quiet operation.
Works perfectly as described. Don't forget your bulbs will be 15% to 20% dimmer when on full with this installed - so plan accordingly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Greenbrook Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great but not with LED's
2 May 2012
By Robbieb4
, London
"Bought this today. I installed it in the Bathroom with LED GU10 Fittings 8x 6W = 48W.
Unfortunately it would't work with such a small load. Had to put back an original pull switch for now. Wish it had of work because it seams well made and quite.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Greenbrook Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pull Cord Dimmer Switch
5 Feb 2012
By Milkpim
, Chichester
"This is the most quiet pull switch I have ever known!
It simply replaces an existing pull switch and is easy to fit, just remember to cut back the outer insulation to leave the two wires long enough to reach the connectors from underneath.
The reason for not giving 5 stars is because it's a tad expensive and the power reduction (around 20%) is a shame when at times you want full brightness, otherwise very pleased with it."
Review 5 for Greenbrook Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
18 Nov 2014
By DBevy
, Wales
"dont bother with this your kids will pull the core right through the switch in no time. Repaired mine 3 times in 4 weeks. Now gone back to a proper switch."
Review 6 for Greenbrook Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GreenBrook Dimmer
7 Nov 2014
By PeteB80
, High Wycombe
"Have been using these for 8 years in a bathroom with 4 X 50W GU 10 bulbs where we leave the light on dimmed each night. They actually work brilliantly despite the slight drop in bulb intensity however my real complaint is the length of time they last.
The longest any dimmer has lasted is ~30 months and several have failed within 1 year. In total I have had 5 of these over the 8 year period.
I am now going to revert to a standard pull switch with low wattage GU10 LED's.
Having had 8 years of multiple premature failures of these I really would not recommend this product. I would try another manufacturer if I could find one but this seems to be the only one commonly available in the UK."
Review 7 for Greenbrook Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
flickers and cant switch off!
6 Jun 2013
By johnnybravo
, Bristol
"My switch started flickering and then wouldn't switch off. Ive got 5x downlighters (prod code 26323). At first I thought it was the bulbs causing a problem so I changed them from 50w (25367) to 35w (84131) and the problem still occurs.
Will take back and try another.."
Review 8 for Greenbrook Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fails to dim LED GU10
19 Apr 2013
By SamH2
, Deal
"This is just useless as a dimmer for me and a complete waste of money. I have 55 watts total of GU10s (10 x 5.5w Dimmable GU10 LEDs), so well within max load rating. I would say brightness is 50% of max when running through this and the dimmer only dims and brightens a fraction of this 50%. It's hardly even noticeable when it cycles through the dimming mode. Maybe this works with one or two standard GU10s, but a roomful of LED GU10s it can't cope with whatsoever. Shame as the silent on/off is very welcome in plasterboard ceilings late at night!"
Review 9 for Greenbrook Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst dimmer switch ever
11 Mar 2013
By Nicknamer
, Bristol
"Had 2 - both failed after 30 minutes. It looks OK and is very silent in use until it fails. Then you can't turn it off. Not a good product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Greenbrook Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dimmer switch for lv halogen l
14 Feb 2013
By Patpaint
, wemyss bay
"I was trying to replace my dimmer switch with the same model and make of dimmer switch, but i tried two of the same dimmer switches and none of them worked. I finally installed a straight forward bathroom pull chord switch and this was ok!. If i could award a zero star then i would!. Do not waste your money on this product. If you do , make sure that you keep the receipt because you might be returning it!"
Review 11 for Greenbrook Pull Cord Dimmer Switch 250W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor build quality
6 Aug 2011
By BromleyBuilder
, Greater London
"Bought this for the bathroom. Connected the terminals to test that it all worked before fixing everything in place.
When unscrewing one of the terminals, rather than unscrewing, the whole terminal just rotated. After using a screwdriver to prevent the terminal rotating while unscrewing the terminal, the wire was finally released.
However, because the terminal itself had rotated, it broke the connection to the switch rendering the switch useless.
Very disappointed."