Product Reviews

Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun

Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Average Customer Rating:
3.753 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
20
63 of 85(74%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Review 1 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product
15 Sep 2014
By
, Haydock
"I bought this mortar gun in the hope that it would make pointing a gable end quicker, my brickie was sceptical until he used it!! I ended up buying another and saved myself the cost of 2 days labour!! Ensure u use a wet mix n give the gun a wash throught after every fill and it works a treat, even my brickie was impressed!!!"
Review 2 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a very handy tool
22 Aug 2014
By
, Troon
"been thinking about getting one of these for some time. wonder why I waited so long, just the job. easy to use with no fuss."
Review 3 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three years on...
29 Jul 2014
By
, Newark
"Bought one of these mortars guns a while back, and just thought I'd leave a little update on what I thought of it. Prior to purchase, I looked through all the reviews and at the time the recurrent theme seemed to be that professionals looked down on it, but amateurs loved it.
Well, I am an amateur and I absolutely love it.
As a bloke, I love tools. Tools are great, they are ultimately there to make your life easier. This particular item makes life supremely easy. You wouldn't use it for building a wall, as the mix involved is too soft, but when it comes to pointing and getting cement into fiddly areas, there's no equal. Brickies will tell you how you can just pack cement into joints, well I find it a lot easier "firing" it in with this gun, you can get much more in, and launch splats of cement across gaps to parts that you wouldn't have a hope in héll of getting to with a trowel.
As has been mentioned further down, put a spash of plasticiser in your water before adding it to your mix and it will make a nice creamier cement that squeezes through the nozzle easily (the wide orange letterbox shape one is best), and also keep a second bucket full of water handy that you can dunk the gun into and clean it inbetween loads. Keep the gun clean and it will last you, mine is still going strong almost 3 years on, the only damage is a split on the black tube retaining ring - and that was only because I accidentally ran over it after leaving it out to dry!
As has also been mentioned, the only irksome thing is that silly yellow scoop - why on Earth did they make it bigger than the tube, rather than slightly smaller so it would fit inside to load properly!?"
Review 4 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than ever!
4 Jul 2014
By
, Swindon
"This is the second Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun i have bought, the first just simply wore out through use. I use it for lime pointing and it does a great job filling the joints fully from back to front, quick and easy.
I don't understand the negative reviews for this product, its so easy to use. you have to get the mix right to make it flow. Unless specified, I use a mix of one part NHL 3.5 lime, 1.5 sharp sand & 1.5 building sand. Mix it with a Berg WR 85 S Mixer Paddle 8mm Hexagonal x 500mm (82334) to a creamy consistency and use a bucket trowel to fill the tube. The yellow scoop is too small.
After reading a review on Screwfix about this product they suggested filling the tube by removing the nozzle instead of the trigger end. I found this to be quicker and you get a full tube with less waste.
The new gun, which i bought this week, has an improved trigger mechanism. Seems to be a lot smoother.
I don't do much pointing with cement, but if i do i either add a plasticiser or lime and mix with a paddle.
A great product!"
Review 5 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Follow the Tradesmen
6 Jun 2014
By
, Oxfordshire
"Just fitted a new door frame which was a bit smaller than the old one so had to fill a gap about 20-30mm all round and didn't fancy trying to do it with a trowel, this is the business gets the cement exactly where you want it and it is not expensive. Bloomin magic."
Review 6 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
not bad
20 Jan 2014
By
, sheff
"Had a home made version of this and was great but did not last so treated my self to this.
Great all round as u can use this as a normal silicon gun. Bit of messing about changing bits around tho but good for a back up.
as everyone says have a wet'ish mix and add a little washing up liquid and knock whats left in tube out befor each fill.
I found It better filling from nosel end. Bit messy filling up but 10 times faster than using trowel"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gd
8 Oct 2013
By
, London
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Very Happy with this motar gun, saved so much time and effort. I wish i had used this years ago.
I used 4/1 soft sand cement mix, with plasticiser to keep the motar wet for a hour or so while pointing.
Have a bucket of clean water ready to wash off every now and then, you will notcie the gun will stick if you do not clean it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking bit of kit
6 Aug 2013
By
, Wigan
"This is a cracking bit of kit, and very sturdy. I have just pointed a new patio at the back of the house and paving that continued all round the side of the house. It saved me so much time.
As with previous reviews you just have to make sure that you have a very wet mortar mix with plasticiser mixed in then away you go.
As your getting to the end of the contents of the tube then it starts to block up as the mix looses its moisture content. Just make sure you shake out that dry bit at the end before refilling the tube otherwise it will block the tube.
You dont have to worry too much about being perfect with the finish as your going along as you need to strike it off afterwards once it dries out a bit. I would highly recommend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't give in - It's superb!
17 Jun 2013
By
, Worcestershire
"After reading the reviews, I took the plunge with this gun to point up my patio....
After 2 failed attempts at trying to squeeze the mortar out of this gun I was ready to throw it down the garden, but patience prevailed!
I did a quick search on Youtube to see if there were any guides, and lo and behold there was (not specifically for this gun, but the instructions work the same).
The key is most DEFINITELY the mix. A mix that you'd normally make to lay brickwork simply will not work. If you can press the mortar and see water coming to the surface, it will just jam in the gun.
I found that the best way is to mix it in a bucket with one of those giant drill stirrer things that plasterers use. The aim is to get a creamy smooth mortar (also add a tonne more plasticizer than usual), similar to a plaster skim coat or buttercream. Once I'd nailed this, I haven't looked back. It goes in quite wet, but this is soon absorbed by the dryness of the slabs.
This clever piece of kit has shaved hours if not days off the job! With it pushing a moister mortar into the joints, you can also trust that it's gone into all the nooks and crannies.
3rd time lucky! Cannot recommend highly enough.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other Use
29 Apr 2013
By
, Northumberland
"Just like to add a comment no one has seemed to mention this tool is also excellent for applying floor tile grout using the small nozzle supplied."
Review 11 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good piece of kit
11 Dec 2012
By
, Lancashire
"Bought this item for re-pointing a random stone wall, it made the job simple and a lot quicker to complete . It feels sturdy and the design is good and easy to use. I would reccommend this product to anybody."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit
7 Nov 2012
By
, Grimsby
"Like some of the other guys said, it takes a bit of getting used to.
Its best to do your mix wetter than normal, & I'd recommend you add extra plastizer & wash before every refill.
Having said that, its well made & I have used it to repoint an old wall & it saved me a massive amount of time.
In future I would not think about a repointing job without one.
"
Review 13 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Squirty!!!
7 Oct 2012
By
, Leicestershire
"Like everyone, we have all used those cheap and naff caulking guns in their various guises, but this thing will last you a life time!
It works brilliantly as a normal caulking gun, which is what I use it for most, but it excells at pointing up when you put the right attachments to use!
If you use a lot of squirty tubes in your work and have got fed up with the cheap and not very cheerful, spend your well earned money on one of these, You will never regret it!
Money well spent!!!"
Review 14 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for the DIYer
25 Aug 2012
By
, bishops stortford
"After several failed attempts to persuade a local tradesman to re-point my unsightly patio, I decided to do the job myself! Digging all the old mortar (and mud/moss etc) out was pretty hard work, so I can understand his reluctance to take on the job!
Not using a trowel much, I saw the mortar gun on a video and was encouraged to give it a go as a quicker way to achieve tidy joints.
Following the advice in these reviews (3;1 building sand to cement + adding plasticiser) we got the mix nice and smooth and the gun flowed beautifully throughout. We tended to plunge it into a big plastic bin of water to rinse it all at most fill-ups, so that probably helped.
For us as amateurs (and not having worked too much with mortar before) the one additional important thing I would say is to leave the mortar for 20-30 mins before "polishing". I did this to begin with but didn't at the end and found that the wetter/newer mortar then stained the stones a bit....so I'm having to go round now with a wire brush to rectify this.
But aside from that (my own fault - but I have learnt a lesson!) I thought the gun was well worth it.
I did buy the "spares" kit (as I'd read that the washers leaked after a while) but we didn't even need the second provided....perhaps due to the regular rinsing mentioned.
Like others we found the yellow filling shovel provided hopeless and (having also tried a cut milk carton) gave up and filled by hand with gloves on. A redesign on that would be a bonus."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TIME SAVING POINTING TOOL
3 Aug 2012
By
, LEEDS
"I USED THE MORTAR POINTING GUN TO POINT 50 SQUARE METRES OF INDIAN STONE PAVING AND BOY DID IT SAVE A LOT OF TIME!
THE ONE THING I WOULD SAY ABOUT THE GUN IS THAT YOU SHOULD KEEP IT CLEAN AT ALL TIMES FOR EXTENDED LIFE.
"
Review 16 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nice tool
3 Jul 2012
By
, slough
"I can see that this is going to be a very usefull tool from time to time. It is easy to set up, easy to fill, easy to use and easy to dissmantle for cleaning."
Review 17 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
supperbe
17 Jun 2012
By
, Cambridge
"Excellent product & would thoroughly recommend it.
All metal construction does exactly what it's meant to do as long as you can mix the mortar properly with a good plaster-sizer to make it creamy & free flowing.
If you cant use this product you should take up knitting or something."
Review 18 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good Mortar Gun
16 May 2012
By
, North Yorkshire
"After raking out the mortar with the screwfix mortar rake this tool puts it back with ease. I mix the mortar fairly soft with double dose of plastisizer. Had to play around to get consistance right but with a little practice a good tool. If working with somebody over a large area get two one squirting in and one filling up the gun"
Review 19 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ROUGHNECK BRICK MORTAR GUN
8 May 2012
By
, Liverpool
"Excellent value for money, I would recommend this gun if you have a lot of pointing to do, as it definatly saves you time and money."
Review 20 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product
17 Apr 2012
By
, Cheshire
"A great product that really speeds up the pointing process. I used this to point 50 square metres of paving flags and was extremely pleased with the results. It is essential the mortar is very well mixed and a small amount of Feb is used. It needs to be like cream to flow really smoothly."
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 next>