Product Reviews

Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun

Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Average Customer Rating:
3.659 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 126 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
36
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
29
93 of 126(74%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Review 1 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit
6 Feb 2016
By
, Rugeley Staffordshir
" Brought this to re grout a wet room floor.
Made easy work of the job and very clean to use. A great bit of value for money kit.
"
Review 2 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tool
6 Jan 2016
By
, Sheffield
" This tool was very Easy to set up and use, it is important to get the correct mix weather your using it for mortar or re-grouting as I was, it was very easy to clean after use quality tool which saved me a lot of time and hardly any mess to clean of the tiles unlike usual grouting I would recommend this tool. "
Review 3 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does The Job
18 Nov 2015
By
, London
" First job using the Roughneck Mortar Gun was a particularly tricky exterior crack caused by WW2 bomb damage!
This tool just the job for pushing in the mortar mix deep into the fissure plus the wastage kept to a minimum. As mentioned on every other review the yellow trowel wasn't really suitable for loading the gun so we used a rubble sack with a corner cut off to 'pipe' in the mix. Mary Berry would have been proud!
Really good product this and a very reasonable price! One for the tool bag definitely! "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pointing Gun filling tip
15 Oct 2015
By
, Stratford upon Avon
" Just bought one for a large gable end wall, what a blessing. Followed the advice on here and you can't go far wrong, so thanks to all the posters.
My tip would be chuck the scoop everybody complains about and find one of those old almost empty silicon sealer or mastick tubes we have all saved for the next job. One with about an inch of the contents left and it has all gone hard, now cut one side of the open end away in the same sort of shape as the scoop, if the old nozzle is still on it - makes a great handle. This DIY scoop fits down inside the tube and makes filling much easier.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value
31 Aug 2015
By
, cheshire
" I've been a sceptic of these , thought I'd give one a go on a small paving job. Turned 1/2 day into a a couple of hours!!. As you'll read, load it from nozzle end, keep the mix like d/cream and keep a bucket of water next to the mix and rinse it every other fill or so. And don't bother with the little shovel, my kids have got more use out of it.
Just done 20m2 of Indian stone paving and its worked a treat.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
25 Jul 2015
By
, West Sussex
" This mortar gun does exactly what it is supposed to do. Ensure the mortar mix is creamy otherwise the gun will struggle. I bought ready mix mortar and loading the gun was simple. Great product "
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product for price
16 Jul 2015
By
, Letchworth
" Great time saving tool. Mixture is the key and does need to be quite sloppy otherwise it will clog. Not exactly sure how final mortar strength is affected by wet mixture but on the plus side it allows you to get the mortar right into the brickwork which must be good for resulting overall build strengh. Filling tool is annoyingly to large but not a big problem. Would recommend this product if used correctly. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pointing gun
11 Jul 2015
By
, evesham
" Worked well and got my job done efficiently, I did find that it was best not to scoop from the mixing bucket- I tipped the mortar into a small pile and then took small slithers into the scoop ensuring not to completely fill the scoop- it falls into the tube so much easier without getting it all around the screw threads. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great timesaver
18 Jun 2015
By
, Plymouth
" Never used one of these before but what a great bit of kit; even if you only use it once it has to be worth it.
Well done Screwfix!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic tool
12 May 2015
By
, Stockport
" Everyone knows that repointing is one of the most boring jobs on the planet but this tool makes the whole thing so much quicker.
It would score 5 stars across the board but I only gave it 4 for features because as another reviewer said the scoop you use to get the mortar into the gun is too wide for the neck of the gun. This means you have mortar running down the sides of the tube - until you 'adjust' the width of the scoop with a few taps of a hammer that is !
Otherwise it's a brilliant time saving tool.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic piece of kit
9 Apr 2015
By
, Newcastle
" Managed to point a 6 metre long, 1.7 metre high wall in about 3 hours with this.
The nozzle is the perfect size for a good mortar joint, and if you are capable of creating decent mortar (I used 3:1 sand/cement with a glug of plasticiser and water) then it works beautifully.
Easy to clean - mortar doesn't stick to it and washes off easily.
The only thing I could possibly complain about, which in no way actually affects it, is the scoop for the mortar doesn't actually fit in the tube, but still easy to fill. "
19 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job!
25 Dec 2014
By
, Thatcham
" Needed something to force mortar in between the bricks and this is just the job. Screw fix had them in stock and the order online, pick up in store ...super fast and stress free. Great! "
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First Class Tool
24 Nov 2014
By
, Emberton, Bucks
" An excellent produict, it makes what can be a difficult job for the amature, simple. "
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product
15 Sep 2014
By
, Haydock
" I bought this mortar gun in the hope that it would make pointing a gable end quicker, my brickie was sceptical until he used it!! I ended up buying another and saved myself the cost of 2 days labour!! Ensure u use a wet mix n give the gun a wash throught after every fill and it works a treat, even my brickie was impressed!!! "
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a very handy tool
22 Aug 2014
By
, Troon
" been thinking about getting one of these for some time. wonder why I waited so long, just the job. easy to use with no fuss. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three years on...
29 Jul 2014
By
, Newark
" Bought one of these mortars guns a while back, and just thought I'd leave a little update on what I thought of it. Prior to purchase, I looked through all the reviews and at the time the recurrent theme seemed to be that professionals looked down on it, but amateurs loved it.
Well, I am an amateur and I absolutely love it.
As a bloke, I love tools. Tools are great, they are ultimately there to make your life easier. This particular item makes life supremely easy. You wouldn't use it for building a wall, as the mix involved is too soft, but when it comes to pointing and getting cement into fiddly areas, there's no equal. Brickies will tell you how you can just pack cement into joints, well I find it a lot easier "firing" it in with this gun, you can get much more in, and launch splats of cement across gaps to parts that you wouldn't have a hope in héll of getting to with a trowel.
As has been mentioned further down, put a spash of plasticiser in your water before adding it to your mix and it will make a nice creamier cement that squeezes through the nozzle easily (the wide orange letterbox shape one is best), and also keep a second bucket full of water handy that you can dunk the gun into and clean it inbetween loads. Keep the gun clean and it will last you, mine is still going strong almost 3 years on, the only damage is a split on the black tube retaining ring - and that was only because I accidentally ran over it after leaving it out to dry!
As has also been mentioned, the only irksome thing is that silly yellow scoop - why on Earth did they make it bigger than the tube, rather than slightly smaller so it would fit inside to load properly!? "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than ever!
4 Jul 2014
By
, Swindon
" This is the second Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun i have bought, the first just simply wore out through use. I use it for lime pointing and it does a great job filling the joints fully from back to front, quick and easy.
I don't understand the negative reviews for this product, its so easy to use. you have to get the mix right to make it flow. Unless specified, I use a mix of one part NHL 3.5 lime, 1.5 sharp sand & 1.5 building sand. Mix it with a Berg WR 85 S Mixer Paddle 8mm Hexagonal x 500mm (82334) to a creamy consistency and use a bucket trowel to fill the tube. The yellow scoop is too small.
After reading a review on Screwfix about this product they suggested filling the tube by removing the nozzle instead of the trigger end. I found this to be quicker and you get a full tube with less waste.
The new gun, which i bought this week, has an improved trigger mechanism. Seems to be a lot smoother.
I don't do much pointing with cement, but if i do i either add a plasticiser or lime and mix with a paddle.
A great product! "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Follow the Tradesmen
6 Jun 2014
By
, Oxfordshire
" Just fitted a new door frame which was a bit smaller than the old one so had to fill a gap about 20-30mm all round and didn't fancy trying to do it with a trowel, this is the business gets the cement exactly where you want it and it is not expensive. Bloomin magic. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
not bad
20 Jan 2014
By
, sheff
" Had a home made version of this and was great but did not last so treated my self to this.
Great all round as u can use this as a normal silicon gun. Bit of messing about changing bits around tho but good for a back up.
as everyone says have a wet'ish mix and add a little washing up liquid and knock whats left in tube out befor each fill.
I found It better filling from nosel end. Bit messy filling up but 10 times faster than using trowel "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Roughneck Brick Mortar Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gd
8 Oct 2013
By
, London
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Very Happy with this motar gun, saved so much time and effort. I wish i had used this years ago.
I used 4/1 soft sand cement mix, with plasticiser to keep the motar wet for a hour or so while pointing.
Have a bucket of clean water ready to wash off every now and then, you will notcie the gun will stick if you do not clean it. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>