Product Reviews

Thermoptek Smoke Alarm

Thermoptek Smoke Alarm
Average Customer Rating:
3.192 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
10
15 of 26(58%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Review 1 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Alarm
15 Aug 2014
By Anonymous
, London
" I have been using these alarms ever since the Fire Brigade gave me some for free when doing a fire check of my house.
They last 10 years and so are good value as you never replace the battery.
Definitely recommend the alarm and the price at ScrewFix. "
Review 2 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OAP
20 Jun 2014
By Jimbob1
, High Wycombe
" I fitted 2 for a 90 year old man as he or his family dont have to worry about the battrie going flat. "
Review 3 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install smoke detect
4 Dec 2013
By BOF1
, Reading
" Easy to fit, 10 year battery and easy to use test button. Very pleased "
Review 4 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hopefull
25 Oct 2012
By cmbgardening
, humberside
" appears to be a well made product, very easy to use - lets just hope it works if the time comes "
Review 5 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product
30 Jul 2012
By RegencySpa
, Peterborough
" Was recommended these for my static caravan holiday home as they don't 'go off' as soon as you start cooking. Now fitted them into my house along with Co2 FireAngel products to house and van. 10 years guarantee and peace of mind for under £15 - Great "
Review 6 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smoke alarms
18 Jun 2012
By Mortz
, Huddersfield
" neat little device. Amazing value!!
@"debatcher"... Normal "ionisation" smoke alarms will go off with the smallest amount of "Ionising" smoke, however cigarette smoke is "non ionising"... You need special smoke alarms to detect cigarette smoke! "
Review 7 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Fire yet
29 Mar 2012
By BeeGee
, Essex
" Worked perfect so far but will never know unless we have a fire! "
Review 8 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FireAngel Thermoptek ST620
29 Jan 2012
By KeithR
, Cheshire, UK
" Good solid product. Easy to fit wall or ceiling bracket. Detector's battery activates once it has been atttached to the bracket. Highly recommended. "
Review 9 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toast Proof Smoke Detector
7 Nov 2011
By dabcatcher
, Halifax
" At last we can make toast without having to wave tea towels at the smoke detector! Why is it that the average detector will ignore quite large amount of, say, cigarette smoke or similar but will go berserk at even the thought of toast somewhere in the house? "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smoke alarm
15 Jun 2011
By sandy1
, essex
" very easy to install. loud alarm.no worry of battery running out for 10 years .very happy with this product ,and will be installing same in other houses owned by family. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Fire Alarm
22 May 2011
By Sammydog
, Billingham
" Very easy to install...... No need to worry about low battery.!!.. Just install new Alarm in 10 years time!! good value for money as you only replace the alarm and not a New battery every 2 years "
Review 12 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lasts 4 years not 10
30 Jul 2014
By rathernotsaywhoiam
, Northampton
" Low battery warning after 4 years. At the time of writing (2014) it says to replace the unit by 2020.
Other than that, it's a good unit and I will replace it with the same make and model. "
Review 13 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well designed product
15 Sep 2012
By SaltashElectrician
, Saltash
" Easy to install. Easy to push temporary silence / test button is good feature.
On this occasion one of the two in the twin pack didn't work but manufacturer posted replacement promptly though I had to post faulty one away. Probably should have returned it to Screwfix who would doubtless have changed it for me. The difficulty was that I'd already installed one of the two for a different customer when I discovered the second one didn't work. "
Review 14 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Faulty
26 May 2012
By MarkMcD
, NOTTINGHAM
" I purchased 2, but had to rturn 1 as Low Battery kept bleepig which was abit disapointing considering these are sold with a 10 year guarantee !!!
The replacement works fine upto now, but will confirm in 10 years time if this is still the case.
Had to buy replacement from elsewhere as Screwfix didnt have replacement stock. I am goig ff screw fix as they only carry minimum stocks , so thik i will start looking elsewhere fr future purchases as i like to visit 1 shop nd get everything fro one place and you cant do this any more at screwfix. "
Review 15 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good, solid product
14 Nov 2011
By AlexF
, Portsmouth
" Easy to mount, clean looking device. Reasonably priced. Happy with both the ones I bought and maintenance free for 10 years - consider replacing a battery every 2 years and it's worth paying a little extra.
Wife says it looks nice too ! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
too many false alarms
16 Dec 2013
By Aardvark35
, Reading
" product installs easily but after 12 months started doing false alarms at all hours when there was no smoke around. Not sure of the cause but replacing with another one asap having had several distrubed nights. "
Review 17 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Complete junk - unreliable
3 Dec 2014
By creative
, Oop north
" These smoke alarms appear well designed and well made, however they are complete junk unfortunately.
I've had three go wrong - one was making a screeching noise; the other two have had batteries fail after barely a year. 10 year battery life? Don't make me laugh!
Have gone back to old-school alarms with replaceable batteries. Much more reliable and straightforward! "
Review 18 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice, pity about battery
9 Nov 2014
By mrg9999
, Surrey
" I bought two of these less than a year ago, supposedly with 10-year batteries (the one fitted had a manufacturing date of 2011). Less than a year later, both have started bleeping low battery. I took them part, and decided to see if I can simply fit a new battery. If you disconnect the battery and fit anew one it doesn't seem to work at all, if you parallel fit a battery, it seems ok. I think is has something to stop you replacing the battery. I have fitted an external battery to the outside, and a coin cell and diode to power whilst the battery is replaced., so that I can use a CR123 re-chargeable camera battery.
I'm only using this in my shed. I have replaced the ones in the house that have user changeable 9v batteries.
"
Review 19 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy!
19 Jul 2014
By Rob00001
, Thame
" I bought two of these smoke detectors. Initially they were fantastic, no false alarms and unobtrusive. We came back from holiday last summer (after a week of hot, humid thundary weather) a year after fitment and overnight both alarms were giving a low battery warning. I contacted Fire Angel and replacements were sent. This week has seen similar weather conditions (a year after replacement). I noticed a scratching noise and finally worked out it was the smoke detector. No low battery warning this time the alarm was just completely dead. I googled this time and found loads of reviews giving similar experiences to mine. Not trying for yet another replacement because you need to be able to trust a smoke alarm so going to try the Kidde 10 year optical alarm (unfortunately not sold by screwfix) as it is on a fire service recomended list and I have been really impressed by their carbon monoxide detector. "
Review 20 for FireAngel ST-620 Thermoptek 10 Year Optical Smoke Alarm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not 10 Years!
28 Feb 2014
By Barry1970
, South West
" was plaeased for a year - no false triggerings etc. However, after 1 year we have a flat battery...on a 10 year battery product! If you have 4 of these in your house thats £60 a year to keep the alarms powered! Going back to 9v battery products.
Not happy. "
Page : 1 2 next>