Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Horstmann C27 Programmer

Horstmann C27 Programmer
Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Review 1 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous Programmer
17 Dec 2014
By hagdad
, Hereford
" The Horstman C27 programmer is a very well made simple to use simple to install product. The instructions included with the programmer are very clear and well written.
The vale of thsi C27 is also very impressive.
"
Review 2 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hortsmann control
3 Dec 2014
By oldfireman
, Londonderry
" Controller on my oil fired heating system failed after around 15 years, so needed replaced after a search on the internet this product seemed to fit the bill, order it from Screwfix and was in the next day, removed the old programmer read the fitting instructions for the new on fitted it in approx. 30 minutes worked first time, changed the default programme to suit my need and showed my wife how to use it, therefore I have no problem recommending this unit and the services of screwfix. "
Review 3 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple to programme.
28 Nov 2014
By Favretto
, Lancashire
" I have fitted two of these units in the last week, I found them easy to programme, you can set daily 5 and 3 days or 7 independent day settings with easy over ride and boost facilities. I only gave 4 stars on performance and reliability because I haven't had time for a long term overview yet. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect
15 Aug 2014
By anon68
, Ellon
" Fantastic price, does the job and it's warrantied for two years. Couldn't get better, "
Review 5 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value
15 Jul 2014
By onemadcowman
, County Durham
" Bought this to replace an old Danfoss timer for my central heating and hot water. Not exactly plug and play, but then again didn't expect it to be. Even so relatively easy to fit even for a novice and all appears to be working well so far. Give more flexibility than my old unit and is a lot more user friendly.
Can't really comment on the reliability yet as its only been fitted a couple of days and we don't need to run the central heating at all or the water much, but on test runs all seems to be ok. Hopefully it will last as long as the previous unit, but as and when it ever does need replacement, then the next time it should just be a matter of unplugging this one then plugging a replacement in its place.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT!!!!
15 Jul 2014
By cube
, epsom
" Bought this to replace a 20 year old Horstmann H525, Although the back plate has now changed it was a doddle to fit, new back plate fitted on the old holes so no drilling, wiring just as simple as the old on and no links to install. As for reliability, well I put 5 stars but only been on a few days. Easy to program too. "
Review 7 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Prog
14 Jun 2014
By gall
, Glasgow
" I purchased this programmer for a relatives heating system because I have used it in my own house for several years. It does everything I require and has been totally reliable. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't get a 'Series 2' C27
3 Mar 2014
By DavidN
, Hertfordshire
" This is a good quality programmer and good value compared to other brands. However, I did not receive the 'Series 2' version shown on the website when I bought it from my local Screwfix. I only found this out after I had installed it when I noticed it doesn't have a back light display nor auto adjustment for GMT/BST. If you want these features ensure you get the up to date 'Series 2' version. "
Review 9 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price
8 Feb 2014
By PJFK
, Northern Ireland
" This is a very good price for an excellent heating programmer, you will find this had to beat anywhere. Highly recommend. "
Review 10 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Programmer
17 Sep 2013
By Grumpygrey
, Woking
" Bought this together with a Centaur 7 programmable room stat. Now have total control over heating and hot water. Use this programmer to time the hot water and leave the CH on 24 hours. Then use the Centaur 7 to control the heating. Fantastic combination.
Had to get an electrician to conect both but that only took an hour.
"
Review 11 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practicle controller
16 Dec 2014
By teamferret
, Derby
" Easy to install and the original one lasted for many years with no problem, I only renewed as the boiler was failing to come on, but this turned out to be a different problem. "
Review 12 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works but firmare a bit buggy
11 Dec 2014
By Gledz
, Huddersfield
" This is the new version which has replaced our defunct Centaur Plus timer which has worked flawlessly for many years till now.
This new timer to all intents and purposes is exactly like our old one with a few tweaks here and there, like the welcomed addition of illuminated display.
Unfortunately the firmware has also been tweaked, this now allows separate hour and minute time adjustments, which is fine.
The central heating adjustments, which includes an advance facility, as the old unit did, works OK but, and this is where the problems started, the HW control works OK after being set up and controlled by the timer but there is a bug in the firmware that when setting the unit up and altering any of the settings for the hot water or setting the time for the clock the hot water comes on regardless of the present setting and will not go off until the next programmed 'off ' period, because I didn't want the hot water to be on all night I spent over an hour trying overcome this by altering set ' off ' times and the clock time, nothing worked so I ended up just turning the HW off using the tappet setting and switching it back to timed in the morning, it just wouldn't then come on in the morning but retained enough heat to be warm enough.
At the time this was confusing and annoying but now it's working on timer all is fine, until I have the need to alter the time or the HW program and it will do it again.
"
Review 13 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good programmer
5 Dec 2014
By percy777
, southampton
" got this as I have used the same on another system. Does everything you would want and easy to set up.
The last one is still good after ten years so expect the same from this
"
Review 14 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
4th one purchased
23 Nov 2014
By oldsparky65
, Mid Wales
" Purchased this to replace existing one which have had for nearly 20 years.
Easy to programme and is easy to understand what it does.
"
Review 15 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
17 Nov 2014
By Tricky13
, Yate, Bristol
" Faced with an emergency heating control failure on a Saturday afternoon I was able to quickly research my requirement on the Screwfix website. Found the exact replacement I required in stock at an excellent price less than 5 minuets from home. Job completed in less than an hour, heating back on wife happy. Thanks to Screwfix. "
Review 16 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like changing a plug!
27 Oct 2014
By RamblinPete
, Exmouth
" When I moved in to my house, it had a Centaur C21 central heating controller fitted. This would control hot water and heating every day to the same time schedule. OK if you have a regular lifestyle. I wanted more flexibility, so I eventually got the C27 - each day can be set to different time schedules, so say you have an evening class every Thursday straight after work, you can set the heating to NOT be on when you are out of the house on Thursday evenings! Weekends can be set to have a nice warm lazy sunday morning!
This unit is a direct drop in replacement for the C21 - the most difficult bit is undoing the two small screws underneath to release it. After that, take off the old, put on the new. Simple. If you can unplug the toaster and plug in the kettle, you can change this.
"
Review 17 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Prog
22 Nov 2013
By johnwil
, chelmsford
" Arrived in good time and was well packed.
It fits to a standard back plate, so there were no issues with replacing a broken controller.
Everything works fine and programming instructions are not to challenging.
The only minor gripe is that there is a Boost facility for the hot water ,but not for the central heating, which you need to advance when you want the heating to come on.( i have a gravity fed system) I can't yet comment on reliability as it's only been on for a couple of weeks.
Overall seems to be a good piece of kit at a very reasonable price. I'm pleased with my purchase.
"
Review 18 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We'll see
23 Oct 2014
By ceg999
, london
" Bought as a direct replacement for the identical existing programmer which failed after three years. Easy to fit, good instructions and good features. Let's hope this one lasts. "
Review 19 for Hortsmann CentaurPlus C27 Programmer with Li-Ion Battery Back-Up
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NEVER AGAIN
20 May 2014
By caley
, london
" Bought this to replace an old programmer that is not avaliable anymore wired it in the c/h & h/w lights came on but nothing in the display screen called an electrician he said it was the boiler got a plumber in he told me it was a faulty programmer. exchanged it put the new one in set the time/date/year then nothing you can push the reset buttons and after that all you get is a blank screen. my plumber told me not to use horstmann. now got to take it back again this time i will go for a drayton "