Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

20kg. Suitable for drives, paths and patio joints in stone, concrete, slate, terracotta, clay slabs and blocks.

20kg. Suitable for drives, paths and patio joints in stone, concrete, slate, terracotta, clay slabs and blocks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Cementone Wide Jointing Compound Natural/Buff 20kg
Review 1 for Cementone Wide Jointing Compound Natural/Buff 20kg
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy Cementone!
17 Jun 2014
By DIYDale
, Bedford
"This has been my first patio project (although my dads a builder and has helped me a lot).
We laid 450mm x 450mm textured slabs on a wet base, and my dad recommended i use dry mix compound to finish the gaps.
I saw the reviews on this website and was glad I listened. It is very easy to apply and I am really impressed with the natural look. As long as you use a soft bristled brush and brush diagonally once the gaps filled (softly) there is no need for pointing.
Its a good product and really happy, although I have used 20kg for 5mm gaps on a 25m2 patio.... and ran out on last 2 joints. Gutted!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cementone Wide Jointing Compound Natural/Buff 20kg
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
15 Apr 2012
By JonClif
, Godalming
"I've used this twice. Once a year ago and recently on a different job. It is clean quick and effective. Dry conditions are essential. It is much easier to use than liquid based mortars, clean and non-staining. The job I did last year has remained very solid so it looks as if the product is reliable. Screwfix's prices are the best I've found for this and although it looks expensive it is much easier and quicker to use than alternatives I've tried and doesn't require bending or kneeling on the surface - so it's much easier on the back."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cementone Wide Jointing Compound Natural/Buff 20kg
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well Worth the Money!
6 May 2011
By BrainSample
, Cambridgeshire
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is fantastic stuff! You know it's good as soon as you open each of the 10KG the bags by the smell!
If you research about what's good for pointing between patio slabs, they say that sweeping in a dry mix is quick but doesn't really give a robust mortar and it's prone to flaking and weeds growing through. The better method is pointing with wet cement, but this is long and labourious and any that gets on the slabs will be prone to staining.
One of the main reasons for me buying this product was that it appeared to be the best of both worlds - it's quick to apply, robust and does not stain the slabs. Having said that, just sweeping the product was not enough to compact the cementone into the gaps - I did find myself compressing the product into the gaps using a pointing tool.
It will set hard overnight but you can still scrape any surplus off the slabs using a metal blade or edge of a pointing trowel.
Coverage varies depending on how wide and deep the gaps are and the size of slabs. The literature inside the tub says that the depth of gaps must be a minimum of 25mm and quotes the following coverage for EACH 10KG bag (the tub comes with two bags):
600x600mm slabs with a 5mm gap gives 13.9 sq metre
250x250mm slabs with a 5mm gap gives 5.9 sq metre
600x600mm slabs with a 10mm gap gives 7.1 sq metre
250x250mm slabs with a 10mm gap gives 3.1 sq metre
The product is available in about three different coulours but Screwfix only sells the "natural" colour which is the colour of sand.
Considering we already had bags of sand and cement, my partner was reluctant to pay the extra cost of this product, but looking at the results, she now believes that it is worth every penny."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cementone Wide Jointing Compound Natural/Buff 20kg
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jointing compound
17 Oct 2008
By barbie16
, isle of man
"easy to use, works well sets in time stated and gives a perfect finish look"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cementone Wide Jointing Compound Natural/Buff 20kg
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cementone wide gap filler 20kg
4 Jul 2014
By briant16
, solihull
"infilled patio area yesterday and was pleased with the ease of application slight smell of glue remains this morning so if your use is indoors be prepared.only time will tell if the product is long lasting but I have no reason to doubt the claims.
Area covered was 240 18"x18" slabs with minimal gaps on which I used 30 kg of filler so I still have a sealed10kg bag over (packaging is 2x10kgs) which has a shelf life of 2 years.
"
Review 6 for Cementone Wide Jointing Compound Natural/Buff 20kg
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product
19 Oct 2013
By deldoy
, Luton
"Very easy to use Great result Would be nice if available in snaller packages as I wasted 2/3 of a pack."
Review 7 for Cementone Wide Jointing Compound Natural/Buff 20kg
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Product
5 Jun 2012
By rjellory
, Lanarkshire
"Expensive but worth it. Very easy to use even for someone as useless as I am at DIY.
Follow instructions making sure to give a deep enough gap between the slabs and you will be happy with the finished appearance.
Time will tell if it is as good as it initially appears but at present very happy
"
Review 8 for Cementone Wide Jointing Compound Natural/Buff 20kg
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok, and easy to use.
4 Jun 2010
By BlokeFixingStuff
, Cheshire
"Left it a few days after use before review. The product is ok. Very easy to use and quick to put down, so much easier than the alternative for between paving. Some bits flaked away already, but some bits look fine. Jurys out on how long it'll last though! If it last a couple of years, I'd be happy enough at the price, but I'm not massively sure it will."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.