Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Random Orbit Sander 230V

Random Orbit Sander 230V
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Review 1 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great sander
12 Jun 2014
By
, Solihull
"Great sander - smooth and quiet. Easy to use with little vibration. It just works extremely well.
Very happy"
Review 2 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Sander i have ever had
11 Sep 2013
By
, Bristol
"I purchased a DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander. after the orbital sander i was using shattered its bearing and basically dropped to bits. (I was using it to sand down my boat ready for repainting)
The DeWalt Sander was a revelation, Although it was a little dearer than mu previouse sander it was worth the extra. It was so much smoother in operation than the previous sander and seemed to do the work much faster. It was good to handle being slightly lighter. No overheating and handled the work with ease. As per the Title, Probably the best Sander i have ever owned."
Review 3 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little sander
8 Oct 2012
By
, Southampton
"I'm a decorator and use this tool all the time on doors, walls, even some exterior brickwork. With the right size hose connected to a Henry hoover the dust extraction is great (the little dust bag is a total waste of time). Only 2 negatives so far:
i. the top mounted handle is a little uncomfortable after really long periods of use
ii. the on off switch sometimes has a mind of it's own (due to the soft start function)
But for the money it's a real time saver."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Into orbit, albeit randomly...
21 Sep 2012
By
, Manchester
"I am a firm believer in the quality and reliability of DeWalt tools and this Random Orbit Sander is no exception.
It has made my life so much easier. Woodworking is about:
10% Planning
10% Building
80% Sanding!
This has taken the boredom out of sanding. No longer will I have to wrap a piece of sandpaper around a sanding block and get arm ache.
Like all tools you let it do the work and this thing really works hard. The velcro method of attaching sanding discs is ingenious and the ability to attach a shop vac or hoover to the tool is essential if you want to minimise dust.
I recommend this to anyone from the hobbyist to the professional."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
De Walt....as always brill !
26 Aug 2012
By
, Oxford
"I'm semi-retired and working on a renovation project. As my old kit breaks I'm replacing it with De Walt. Two reasons, firstly I'll never have to replace it and secondly all their kit is brilliant and does what it should."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful tool
21 Oct 2010
By
, London
"Very effective tool; I've owned one for a few month now and used it on various types of wood and plaster walls. With a range of discs (80, 120, 240 are a good normal set) you can quickly get to a very good finish. Despite being a rotary action the random orbit mens you don't need to worry about the grain direction and it doesn't leave scratches. I've found it much more effective than 1/4 sheet sanders I've used before and the vibration seems less. If I have any criticism it is only that it can get tiring gripping the top handle after a long period of work. All in all very good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic sander
13 Apr 2009
By
, harlow
"this sander far exceeded my expectaions . i wanted a decent sander i was hoping for the money it was going to be good and it did not let me down it has been used daily and i have had a perfect finish to my work ."
Review 8 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A worthy piece of kit!
9 Apr 2009
By
, south shields
"A fantastic ROS with DeWalts very own CFS, which essentially means a scratch free finish when powering down or up on the surface of your wood. I've used this sander daily for the last 9 months on a perpetual 4 hour basis ( i use it from around 4 hours a day not inc Sundays). It was bought as a backup to my air powered ROS along with a battery powered Ryobi. This DeWalt has now replaced my mainstream air powered Festool ROS purely because it's small orbit provides a beautiful finish with a choice of fast removal using a 40 grit pad or a 320 grit glass smooth finish. I'm a trade reviewer and as such this is an expensive tool for amateurs or hobbyists but it well worth the few extra pounds for a quality tool with a good guarantee......!!!!!!!!"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprisingly good
12 Sep 2014
By
, Pwllheli Marina
"Actually this was my second choice but the first one out of stock -I urgently needed a replacement
so ordered the DeWalt.
As always Screwfix delivered on time -even with a mobile message to tell me that it was 90 minutes away!
Fantastic news when the job needs to progress.
Have used the dewalt all day and it never even blinked.
Seems to cut faster than my last ROS.
Very pleased as even the dust bag is better to use than other machines.
Great on GRP!"
Review 10 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price for a quality produ
28 Jul 2014
By
, Portsmouth
"Very god product at a very good price and performs exceptionally well"
Review 11 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sander
11 May 2010
By
, North
"This is the only orbital sander I have ever used and I'm very impressed with the results. There is still quite a lot of dust created, despite the bag, so not quite a 5 star rating, but excellent nevertheless."
Review 12 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not much to fault on this tool
22 Jul 2014
By
, Caernarfon
"Been using this for some time now and overall, not bad. Dust collection is quite good as is finish on the wood. The DeWalt discs last a long time too. Negatives; I wish I had bought a 2 handled machine. Watch out for the sanding discs wearing through as it will ruin the velcro hooks that hold them onto the base pad. The biggest fault is the switch. Quiet difficult to turn on and off - not a very positive click either way. There have been times when I've thought I turned it off, put the machine down and it starts up again."
Review 13 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy a different sander!
1 Oct 2011
By
, Glencoe
"Bought DeWalt due to reputation and other reviews. However, first time out of the box the sander spluttered into life and then died........permanently. Looking to replace it under warrenty but would advise against this product. As an aside the rubber cover protecting the on/off switch is perishing; not what I would expect from DeWalt. I do have other DeWalt tools that have been great so hopefully this sander is the one rotten apple!"