Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Random Orbit Sander 230V

Random Orbit Sander 230V
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
22 of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Review 1 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product
11 Jun 2015
By Skucha
, Poole
" I would only ever buy Dewalt products. Very easy tool to use and gives a good finish all round. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant little tool
29 May 2015
By MDFJeff
, Stockport
" Brilliant little tool very robust and powerful enough for most jobs; "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
orbital
13 Dec 2014
By woodenherts
, Herts
" Have been using this sander a great deal for a number of months now, from sanding floors, doors and finishing of furniture.
Works brilliantly, well balanced, quiet and the dust bag is pretty effective, also when removed it fits onto my festool extractor without need of an adapter.
I have to admit to abusing it a bit and it's covered in paint,plaster,dust etc and still going strong.
"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Orbit sander
27 Nov 2014
By Stressedandtired
, Bristol
" Great sander, nice balance, feels like a dewalt product and the extract works a treat well worth the extra over budget brand! "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great sander
12 Jun 2014
By Hawthorn
, Solihull
" Great sander - smooth and quiet. Easy to use with little vibration. It just works extremely well.
Very happy "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Sander i have ever had
11 Sep 2013
By cooliman
, Bristol
" I purchased a DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander. after the orbital sander i was using shattered its bearing and basically dropped to bits. (I was using it to sand down my boat ready for repainting)
The DeWalt Sander was a revelation, Although it was a little dearer than mu previouse sander it was worth the extra. It was so much smoother in operation than the previous sander and seemed to do the work much faster. It was good to handle being slightly lighter. No overheating and handled the work with ease. As per the Title, Probably the best Sander i have ever owned. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little sander
8 Oct 2012
By pablopicasso
, Southampton
" I'm a decorator and use this tool all the time on doors, walls, even some exterior brickwork. With the right size hose connected to a Henry hoover the dust extraction is great (the little dust bag is a total waste of time). Only 2 negatives so far:
i. the top mounted handle is a little uncomfortable after really long periods of use
ii. the on off switch sometimes has a mind of it's own (due to the soft start function)
But for the money it's a real time saver. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Into orbit, albeit randomly...
21 Sep 2012
By DaemonNinja
, Manchester
" I am a firm believer in the quality and reliability of DeWalt tools and this Random Orbit Sander is no exception.
It has made my life so much easier. Woodworking is about:
10% Planning
10% Building
80% Sanding!
This has taken the boredom out of sanding. No longer will I have to wrap a piece of sandpaper around a sanding block and get arm ache.
Like all tools you let it do the work and this thing really works hard. The velcro method of attaching sanding discs is ingenious and the ability to attach a shop vac or hoover to the tool is essential if you want to minimise dust.
I recommend this to anyone from the hobbyist to the professional. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
De Walt....as always brill !
26 Aug 2012
By Photony
, Oxford
" I'm semi-retired and working on a renovation project. As my old kit breaks I'm replacing it with De Walt. Two reasons, firstly I'll never have to replace it and secondly all their kit is brilliant and does what it should. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful tool
21 Oct 2010
By MDEng
, London
" Very effective tool; I've owned one for a few month now and used it on various types of wood and plaster walls. With a range of discs (80, 120, 240 are a good normal set) you can quickly get to a very good finish. Despite being a rotary action the random orbit mens you don't need to worry about the grain direction and it doesn't leave scratches. I've found it much more effective than 1/4 sheet sanders I've used before and the vibration seems less. If I have any criticism it is only that it can get tiring gripping the top handle after a long period of work. All in all very good. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic sander
13 Apr 2009
By keith4accolade
, harlow
" this sander far exceeded my expectaions . i wanted a decent sander i was hoping for the money it was going to be good and it did not let me down it has been used daily and i have had a perfect finish to my work . "
Review 12 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A worthy piece of kit!
9 Apr 2009
By JDCarpenters
, south shields
" A fantastic ROS with DeWalts very own CFS, which essentially means a scratch free finish when powering down or up on the surface of your wood. I've used this sander daily for the last 9 months on a perpetual 4 hour basis ( i use it from around 4 hours a day not inc Sundays). It was bought as a backup to my air powered ROS along with a battery powered Ryobi. This DeWalt has now replaced my mainstream air powered Festool ROS purely because it's small orbit provides a beautiful finish with a choice of fast removal using a 40 grit pad or a 320 grit glass smooth finish. I'm a trade reviewer and as such this is an expensive tool for amateurs or hobbyists but it well worth the few extra pounds for a quality tool with a good guarantee......!!!!!!!! "
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, so good
27 May 2015
By DIYOxford
, Oxford
" Generally I've been impressed so far. Not overpackaged, clear instructions, very easy to get started, seems to function well as it's intended to, and the dust collection is decent, much better with the vacuum I bought at the same time, which fits the dust port with minimal (but not no...) alteration. Overall, I'd recommend it, but it would have been good if it had two handles; the two-handed alternative was nearly £100 more which didn't seem woth the extra expenditure. "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very decent!
1 Apr 2015
By Outofdepth
, London
" Bought this just under 2 years ago and its held up to some pretty rough abuse!
Used it with all grits right down to 40 to sand down cruddy scaff boards for furniture and its done a great job all the way.
The orbit is slightly to small for 40 grit but it still does a very usable job even with that.
Great to work with for all grits above that and achieves a very nice and even finish.
4 & 3 stars for 'over all' & 'features' because the on/ off switch is designed for "polly pocket" and because the dust extraction & bag is a joke. Can be worked around though, as the extraction port fits a henry hoover connector pipe with a few turns of gaffer tape, which works an absolute treat giving almost dust free sanding...?!
One other gripe is that the hook and loop pad needs changing now as its lost its grip and pads just fly off after a few minutes but after two years of regular heavy use i suppose that is to be expected. Fair enough. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dewalt orbital sander
9 Mar 2015
By Tomnn
, Wales
" Good sander for most applications but won't match a 6" sander for speed. Had for about a year and no faults so far with light use. "
Review 16 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Sander
13 Nov 2014
By HomerDog
, Lytham St.Annes
" I have bought many sanders over the years for many different applications.
This machine does what it says and is efficient and powerful.
The switch is not the best design unfortunately and can be a little fiddly to operate. Having said that... maybe the fact it has the plastic cover will stop dust getting in and make it last longer?
Dust collection with a vacuum attached is great, the cloth bag collection is probably 30% effective but better than nothing!
Not to heavy and easy one hand operation.
"
Review 17 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sander
12 Oct 2014
By RnB1975
, Glasgow
" The sander although not the cheapest available represents good value for money. It has a good weight about it but it isn't too heavy for prolonged use. The variable speed works well and the dust extraction is as good an many other sanders at the price. "
Review 18 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprisingly good
12 Sep 2014
By yottyboatguy
, Pwllheli Marina
" Actually this was my second choice but the first one out of stock -I urgently needed a replacement
so ordered the DeWalt.
As always Screwfix delivered on time -even with a mobile message to tell me that it was 90 minutes away!
Fantastic news when the job needs to progress.
Have used the dewalt all day and it never even blinked.
Seems to cut faster than my last ROS.
Very pleased as even the dust bag is better to use than other machines.
Great on GRP! "
Review 19 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price for a quality produ
28 Jul 2014
By Gjcmini69
, Portsmouth
" Very god product at a very good price and performs exceptionally well "
Review 20 for DeWalt D26453-GB 230V Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sander
11 May 2010
By GlassHalfFull
, North
" This is the only orbital sander I have ever used and I'm very impressed with the results. There is still quite a lot of dust created, despite the bag, so not quite a 5 star rating, but excellent nevertheless. "
Page : 1 2 next>