Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Plasti-Kote Black 400ml

Plasti-Kote Black 400ml
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Review 1 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product
2 Jul 2015
By pmacker
, Liverpool
" Used to paint my rusted BBQ after I had to replace the rusted burner.
Came up like new.
Sprayed then lit BBQ to cook paint.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fireproof spray in good price
5 May 2015
By Vitech
, burton on trent
" after two winters my new smoking grill looks litle outdated, and rusty but find fireproof spray in fair price was not so easy. screwfix help me a lot. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plasticote high heat spray
17 Apr 2015
By Dominican
, Lancashire
" Great product to use. Very sold appearance. Easy to use. Sprays good. Does exactly what it says on the tin. 5star. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does what it says on the Tin
24 Mar 2015
By Coolbumble
, Horsham West Sussex
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I'm a bit of a model maker and building a model steam powered boat with a copper boiler and gas tank. I tried other High Heat paint but was not happy with the finish as it seemed to mark easily.
So purchased Pliastikote High Heat. Gave 5 coats to each before placing them in the oven for an hour and WOW a super finish of matt with a sheen once cooled and the residue wiped off. I give it all 5 stars except reliability as only time will prove that. A good value buy and easy to use.
"
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good paint
30 Jan 2015
By Spikeyboy
, Newmarket
" When used as the instructions it seems to work very well, wife was not to keen on me putting the painted parts in the oven now, so had to wait for here to go shopping. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plasti-Kote Heat Resistant Pai
8 Dec 2014
By delme7
, bradford west yorksh
" this is a very good product
some of the heat res paints are
quite expensive but this very good value
"
Review 7 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its spray on matt black paint
23 Jul 2014
By plumster
, Blackburn
" Covered great, dried quick, good stuff.
Price is competitive you can't go wrong.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great on my Motorbike Exhaust
16 Jun 2014
By Anonymous
, Nottingham
" I (incorrectly) applied this product to my rusty-looking exhaust on my Honda Deauville. Normally I read the instructions carefully, but on this occasion I overlooked the bit that said "Apply to cool surfaces".
Even so I have to say the results have been FANTASTIC!
The finish is Matt Charcoal finish than a Dark Black (but that could be because I applied it to a hot and running exhaust). Even so, the results are very pleasing.
NOTE: I've only given three stars to the reliability of the product as I only put it on a couple of days ago - I can't say how long it will last, but I've no reason to suppose it won't go on and stay on for the life of the exhaust. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Hi Heat Spray
25 Apr 2014
By DIYerDAVY
, Lisburn
" Purchased this to cover the internal coating on the BBQ that came off after hard winter/with power washer. Due to its Hi-Heat properties this suited the application. Went on easily and touch dry is 10-15mins. To cure you should use heat up to 350 after to get the best results. Would highly recommend. Have also used this to bring up my fire guard and works a treat. Get yourself down to Screwfix to bring life to that BBQ. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BETTER THAN MOST
5 Jun 2013
By Billfish
, West Yorkshire
" We have two cast iron multifuel stoves in the house which constantly have to be touched up with the black paint.
Plasti-Kote hgh heat is not the cheapest on the market but it covers well and there seems to be a lot more in the can than the previous brands I've used.
The only thing I can fault it on is the smell, until
it cures, it really stinks but that's a problem you get with all the brands. My old man used to use Zebra Black Lead for his old York cast iron range, if I remember right that used to stink for a couple of days as well.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good paint
6 May 2015
By Tynzal
, Dumfries
" i used this to paint my workshop woodburner, it covered well and cured well when heated, I had to re do a few bits as it rubbed off . it looks ok now. Its more expensive than the cheaper brand Screwfix do, but they didn't have that in stock.
Time will tell on its durability .
"
Review 12 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked perfectly!
15 Oct 2014
By Mrwurzal
, Chepstow
" I bought a tin from the Chepstow branch to smarten my exhaust pipe on my Moped. It was cool when I applied and it went on really easily, I will need to do a second coat just for my own spraying imperfections.
The paint had a nice finish and very easy to use with no drips!
Great product, done the job for me!
"
Review 13 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good results
18 Aug 2014
By DeeJayDee
, Kings Hill
" Easy to use and covers well. Requires curing at high temperature for best results. Refurbished my Weber BBQ reasonably well but I would have preferred a gloss finish rather than the semi-matt it delivers. Needs buffing up to remove black powder once cured. It's quite a messy process but good value compared to DIY store alternatives. "
Review 14 for Plasti-Kote Heat-Resistant Paint Black 400ml
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Heat resistant sooty look
23 Apr 2015
By WeeAgo
, Belfast
" Purchased similar paint from Plasti-kote - (hot stove paint) previously and that was perfect - nice slightly sheen matt black that isnt easily marked and which sprayed evenly. But this 'industrial' version is different. NB It requires curing @ > 315c. The pure matt black - sooty look shows finger prints even after curing. It looked even when sprayed but patchy when cured - despite good preparation. Probably good for industrial application but couldn't recommend in the domestic area due to the sooty look. But I have used Plasti-kote paints for years & they're generally very good, so slightly disappointed this time. "