Product Reviews

i30 Programmable TRV

i30 Programmable TRV
Average Customer Rating:
3.05 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
13 of 20(65%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Review 1 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it says
9 Mar 2011
By
, North Lincs.
"Does exactly what it says on the tin. Direct replacement head on Iflo valves, fitted in minutes. Easy to set up, works a treat. Earlier reviews spoke of excessive motor noise so I at first didn't install one in the bedroom. Soon changed my mind and went back for one more. Much improved comfort levels, and I hope improved economy."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing item
1 Dec 2010
By
, West Midlands
"I bought three of these to replace some very old Honeywell TRVs (that I have never been happy with). I will be back for more! They are easy to set up andgive good control once set into service.
Only one criticism (there has to be one). A temperature display would make this device top notch.
Reliability is yet to be proven but looks good so far.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'll buy this again
26 Dec 2012
By
, Sheffield
"I had fitted some expensive Danfoss Living Eco valves on the advice of a heating engineer but they were horrible unusable products only suitable for gadget freaks.
Having tried one of these i-temp valves, they are much better.
They are quite big but that is to give you a good size screen at a good viewing angle with clear information, buttons that you can see easily and that click when you press them and a nice big wheel to adjust the temperature and move through menus.
A really well thought-out product and although you need a bit of a grasp of technology to use any product like this (hence only 4 stars) it's relatively easy to understand and many people will be able to use the basic functions like changing temperatures and switching between programs.
I'm going to get the heating guy to pull out all those Danfoss valves and I'll fit these, even if I lose some money on the deal.
"
Review 4 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Capable product
23 Dec 2012
By
, Norfolk
"The Terrier iTemp i30 PTRV head is a reasonable bit of kit. When first fitted it seemed obtrusive compared to the original TRV, but it's actually not too bad once you get used to it.
Initial program set up took me a fair while, so follow the instructions closely to avoid frustration! If you are happy with the preset options then then the 130 really is 'plug and play'. The unit can be set up from the comfort of your amchair before fitting to the radiator valve.
Other reviewers have mentioned the noise of the motor, but I've not found this to be too bad. There is a slight whiring hum when the motor operates but it's not that intrusive.
The temperature control appears to be very good and the ability to set in a temperature offset is handy as well. Manual over ride is also simple and easy.
It's too early to say how much fuel can be saved, but keeping the temperature of rooms low when not in use must reap significant benefits - I will be getting more i30s for the resy of the house.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin
7 Dec 2012
By
, Berkhamsted
"This product is relatively easy to use once you decide to read the instructions!
The only downside (also reported by other users) is the noise it makes whilst carrying out the adjustments.
I use it in the bedroom because its easier than having to rememeber to turn the radiator off after I have got dressed and then come upstairs mid evening to turn it on before bedtime. You do get used to the whirring noise and after a couple of weeks it doesnt bother you any more. You may consider it as a backup alarm clock.
There is often a significant time lapse between setting a demand and the motor drive responding so dont panic it will start.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant product - but noisy
25 Nov 2011
By
, Midlands
"I bought 17 of these and fitted them right through the house. We live in a draghty old house, so our heating bills are enormous.
They are a great concept, and mean that you are only heating the rooms you are using, for instance, the kitchen is heated in the morning and early evening, the reception rooms are heated only in the evening and the kids bedrooms are heated at the time they go to bed.
You can programme several different temperatures throughout the day for each room, and different programmes for each day. They also have a mode for when you're away and you can easily overide the programme to turn each radiator on and off as you please.
Very easy to fit, literally takes about 1 minute. Programming is a little more challenging, but once you've got togrips with the instructions, each one takes about 5 minutes to programme properly.
The USB / PC connection would be very useful if you have multiple itemps, I would really expect them to throw that in if ordering more than a handful.
They certainly seem to work well. The rooms we don't use in a morning are refreshingly cold, the rooms we do use are probably even warmer than before because the boiler is only heating half the house.
The only big downside is the noise. If it is next to your bed, you wake up to the motor growling and grinding away for a few seconds. It was a lttle startling at first but after a few months I am used to it and hardly notice it.
It will be interesting to see how much less gas we use, but I am confident they will pay for themselves this winter."
Review 7 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three of these just saved me £
29 Mar 2011
By
, Bradford
"Had three of these fitted since December; saved me 20% on energy usage compared to last year. This is about 25% in money terms!
Fitted in 2 bedrooms and a bathroom.
Overall 4 stars for the following reasons:
1) Overall: Only fair to put 5 if all sections are 5 isn't it.
2) Value: Five star
3) Features: Just short of an actual temperature display. Great built in feature for future wireless attachments not quite enough to pull back 5 stars as unable to use these yet.
4) Performance: 1/2 star off for noisy motor when adjusting
5) Reliability: So far (4 months) original batterys still running and had no issues.
Can seem noisy in a silent bedroom, easily resolved by making it shut off just before you normally go to bed!
Overall, though, a very good product. Will certainly be buying more!"
Review 8 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good potential
4 Dec 2010
By
, Thatcham
"good idea to be able to program individual rooms for different times of day, but too noisy to use in bedrooms when battery driven motor opens valve. Seems to work OK in rest of house. If F1 fault code shows at first use, force pin in valve up and down a few times and refit. Seemed to clear problem for me anyway. Comes with sensible pre-programmes or can customise if needed."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shame about the instructions
8 Nov 2010
By
, Aberdeen
"Shame about the instructions or I would of given it 5*
Programming the unit is no problem it's just that it does things that are not in the instructions.
It also says that you can program it with a computer but it doesn't say how.
Now I'm off to fit the rest of the house with them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent and simple
13 Oct 2010
By
, Borders
"The only complaint I have is that it does not show the ambient temperature just the setting."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
average
17 May 2014
By
, bolton
"I was unlucky my trv was not compatible and i did manage to fit the unit after several hours of phone calls and pin length adjustment my advice is to do your homework first to avoid spending hours ,that was a year ago i changed back to the old trv its easeyer"
Review 12 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too Complicated & Unreliable
14 Jan 2014
By
, Surrey
"I've bought two items over a 26 month period and both failed after 13 months.
Far too complicated with set backs and holiday periods.
All I want to do is set it to automatic then have a separate button to switch between manual and automatic.
Presently to switch to manual you have to press a sequence of buttons that would confuse Einstein.
Back to manual TRVs for me.
"
Review 13 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good in theory but fiddly
29 Oct 2011
By
, Taunton
"This is an excellent idea in theory. For example, if your heating comes on in the morning, but you don't use your living room until the evening, you can programme one of these so that the heating does not come on in the living room until then.
I fitted one of these last winter and was reasonably happy with it, but have now removed it and replaced it with a normal TRV. By the time this winter came I had forgotten how to program it, and as with any electronic product with a small screen, programming or overriding it is not intuitive, whereas I can manually adjust a normal TRV with a twist of the wrist.
For 'set and forget' situations this is a good product, but less so for situations where some manual intervention is anticipated."
Review 14 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
too noisy for bedroom
26 Jan 2011
By
, bridgwater
"i purchased 3 of these to go into my 3 bedrooms, as ive thought for ages i wish i had a multi zones central heating system. fitting was really easy, only took a few mins, great i thought, until i was woke up the next morning at 6am by the actuator whirring away.... i think i will take them out of the bedrrom and wait for the danfoss ones to come out!"
Review 15 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
16 brought 6 months on
5 Jan 2012
By
, Norfolk
"Great idea, to be able to control temperature in each room at various times during the day. I wear hearing aids, did not understand why everyone complained concerning the noise, until I had my hearing aids in, so no longer use them on various time setting for bedrooms, set at one temp to stop the alarm clock 24/7, 25% of people are deaf so probably will not hear it!
Obtained 16 of them, six months on all require new batteries, which means reprogramming, if only this was simple, but far too complicated with abreviations that you have to guess with as not given in the instructions, instructions you should never throw away as you need them to reset the display.
Easily knocked off fixing by bags, vacum cleaners etc, plastic screw thread onto the radiator not over strong and unit bigger than the normal valve.
Thermostat works so room remains colder than with a normal thermostat being next to the heat source turns off, with a grinding sound of course as the motor shuts the valve off.
Run a guest house, guests fiddled with the controls, so had to put tape over the buttons, only allowing the scroll bar to be used, the so called 'lock' on it stoped the bar being used, so everyone unlocked it, same as any other electronic programme, press two buttons, then managed to put it into a programme not mentioned on the instructions!
If only the idea could be put into a simplier control and the sound problem solved then it would be a great way to save energy. When I can afford it will replace the unit with normal termostatic controls again. I expect many of these items are still in a box in the workshop, after failing to read the instructions and make them work, or when batteries died and instructions no longer available.
If you want one, just get one at first and see how you get on with it, I wish I had! Read the positive reviews and disgarded the negative ones as either old or not able to cope with electronic age. My advantage I take the hearing aids out at night:-)
"
Review 16 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rubbish valve
16 Sep 2014
By
, Stockport
"This valve is total rubbish.
Won't set and keeps telling me the valve is sluggish.
Total waste of an evening trying to set up.
Avoid at all cost.
Buy a manual valve.
"
Review 17 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too noisy for bedroom
1 Dec 2012
By
, Surrey
"This is a great product IF you are OK with the noise when it makes valve adjustments. It is louder than my alarm clock so I had to return it as I needed it in the bedroom. Otherwise this is an excellent product. If only they made a silent model!"
Review 18 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
very disappointed
23 Mar 2011
By
, london
"after looking at the previous reviews, i was very excited to place an order for the i-temp. however unfortunately i was very disappointed when they finally arrived!. as previously stated, the valves are so loud and certainly not to an acceptable level.
howvever even worse is the complete lack of temperature control with results bearing no relationship to the specified set point! perhaps the software simply guesses? as such they will be returned and as advised, i will be purchasing the eTRV as i saw at a recent exhibition which has more features and looks much better quality."
Review 19 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never again!
13 Dec 2010
By
, Hertfordshire
"Great idea. Looks bulky when fitted and really noisey - had to removed from bedrooms within 1 day as it worked better than my alarm clock!
Setting date and time is easy, the rest is definitely not, especially for custom programmes - even with instructions. Then if you take out the batteries it loses everything!
Have now bought a couple of eTRV units instead , they're a bit more expensive, but very quiet and look good too. Reading the other iTemp comments, the eTRV units can show you the room temperature, are set by remote and keep the programme when you change batteries. Instructions were clear with a Crystal Mark - I reckon they're a better option.
Nice idea, but it seems you get what you pay for, I'd rather spend a bit more for quality at home. Screwfix should look at stocking the other types - this could be such a great way to save energy."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pegler Terrier i-temp i30 Programmable Thermostatic Radiator Valve
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a nightmare
10 Nov 2010
By
, Elgin
"Just bought 7 of these and can't get any to work. Constant error codes and two don't even fit onto the valves although the rubbish instructions said they would. Not happy!"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.