Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Woodstar 37cm Log Splitter

Woodstar 37cm Log Splitter
Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Review 1 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No more axe swinging!
1 Oct 2014
By
, Angus
"Love this, used it an hour after delivery. split more logs in an hour than I could have done in 2 before, work-rate would increase the more you split as you do not get tired!"
Review 2 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Wood Spliter
8 Aug 2014
By
, brentwood
"Used this all day and split some big 14" diameter logs - excellent piece of kit so far much, quicker, safer and easier than swinging an axe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Woodstar LH45 Log Splitter
24 Jul 2014
By
, London
"Bought this primarily based on the reviews so far and glad I did.
Like some of the other reviewers, I'm not sure why I didn't get one of these years ago.
Delivery was 2 days which is excellent.
I've split a couple of logs (around 30cm long by 25cm wide) so far and it works very well.
This will be ideal for quickly generating logs/kindling to use in our combi stove, rather than having to swing a maul/hatchet.
All I need to do now is actually fill up the log store before the winter !.... no excuse now I guess..... :-)"
Review 4 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woodstar log splitter
17 Jun 2014
By
, Bolton
"I chose this log splitter because of its competative price. What a machine it splits logs with ease. It is of robust construction ( and heavy), quiet and easy to use. A fantastic piece of kit, I cannot fault it. Should have bought one years ago."
Review 5 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wood cutter - Woodstar IH45
15 Jun 2014
By
, West Yorkshire
"Unable to fully review the reliability of this product simply because we have only had the product for three days. But it has worked very hard for two full days without issue.
All other features are excellent - would defo recommend the product to those preparing wood for a wood burner or duel fuel fire.
Why spend hours using an axe - when evolution gave someone the brainpower to invent a labour saving device that removes the hard work and improves productivity."
Review 6 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Your wood will love it
14 Nov 2013
By
, Maulds Meaburn
"Having used something similar before, I would rate this as excellent, fit for purpose & easy to use - and being female (don't start!!) it makes log splitting a doddle. As yet, I cannot fault it & would recommend it to all.
Good piece of kit all round.
"
Review 7 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed
11 Nov 2013
By
, Exeter
"I don’t normally bother writing reviews but I have been so impressed by this splitter that I’m taking the time to.
Over the last month I have used it to chop around 5 tonnes of all sorts of wood. I was a little bit worried that it might be too lightweight but I needn’t have been. It’s made in Germany and you can tell. The build quality is excellent and to me it looks very strong. Out of all the wood I threw at it, there is only one gnarly, knotty old log that has defeated it – and I don’t think I’d have got through that one with an axe either.
Thinking about axes, a splitter feels to me much, much safer. As an amateur, chopping 5 tonnes by axe I dare say that my shins and feet would have had a close shave or two. While my younger self didn’t mind risks, I’ve got the scars to show for it. These days I’d rather pay £200 for a splitter and be able to go back to work on Monday."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lifesaver
25 Jun 2013
By
, Cumbria
"This and probably any log splitter is such a massive time and effort saver. What would have taken me all week to split I did in under an hour.
Downsides are its very heavy and needs two to lift, also very expensive for a job you only need to do a few hours every year, so I now need to work out a way to earn from t!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's Quick
27 Feb 2013
By
, Ipswich
"Fast and efficient, it really does exactly what it claims to do. I did in 2 hours what previously took a day, and much safer. 1 in 50 logs defeated it, but that is not a fault of the machine, and it manages knots and difficult logs such as eucalyptus with ease. Needs to be raised off the ground when in use, but small size is a real advantage for storage. It is heavy but that also means sturdy! Delivery, promised in 7 days was actually next day."
Review 10 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect back saver
17 Jan 2013
By
, forres
"took the plung and finally bought one what a simple tool to work splits logs no effort and allthough not any quicker than an axe there is no back braking work involved and it is a lot more accurite
lot smaller than i thought too but thats a plus for storage
a must for any wood burners out there
"
Review 11 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do not buy an axe
16 Jan 2013
By
, Surrey
"Dubious at first because it seemed such a little price to pay for a tool which claimed so much. Wrong! This has been absolutely marvellous I actually ENJOY splitting logs. Why did I not buy this years ago. Splits all large logs both newly felled and well seasoned, also handles the small stuff to provide excellent kindling - try splitting 8cm x 25cm long safely with an axe !!!"
Review 12 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Woodstar Log Splitter
21 Nov 2012
By
, Bristol
"Brilliant piece of equipment. Does exactly what it said it would. Saves hours of back breaking time & energy."
Review 13 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product
24 Oct 2012
By
, oldmeldrum
"Bought this for my husband as he was strugging to cut the logs with an axe and a wood bomb.Great machine cuts large and small logs as we had huge trees cut down were a bit concerned that it would not split them but no problem well worth the money. Ordered and delivered within 2 days great service."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wood splitter
28 Sep 2012
By
, Bolton
"This machine is the tops. did all i asked of it, with in 10 minutes of it arriving i was in the garden splitting timber. took 2 days to arrive from ordering. 100% all round."
Review 15 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woodstar 4 ton splitter
9 Oct 2011
By
, ayrshire
"Have recently purchased the woodstar log splitter, initial impression has left me gobsmacked. Ive had a number of hard season logs that have been impossible to split with an axe. I admit i was dubious that this machinrewould be able to do the job. I had no need to worry as it split them no problem. These pieces were knotty and from a fork with additional branch stubs, not a straight grain in them, very gratifying to hear the splitting noise and watching them come to pieces. i wish ide bought one years ago"
Review 16 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressed
22 Jul 2011
By
, Cheshire
"Though not a cheap item, there are plenty of more expensive versions with similar spec. I'm very glad I didn't spend any extra though, as this item is excellent. Still working my way through a great pile of cut trees, but haven't found a log it hasn't managed, even up to 60cm diameter or more... Still plenty of logs to go but seems well made an reliable so far..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Log splitting made easy
25 Jun 2011
By
, Fife, Scotland
"This Woodstar splitter is better and a lot more powerful than I'd expected. It made no difference whether it was a straight grained log or a gnarly knotty one, it makes light work of it. It splits logs that my axe would need a few swings at - good news for my back! It is small and is easy to store in the workshop. It is heavy, so don't try to lift it onto a bench. The ram always returns to the start point so I use a square section piece of wood as a packer when working on short logs. I'd say this was ideal for home / light professional use and quickly works it way through a big pile of logs. Be careful though, tough logs can fly off the wedge when they finally split."
Review 18 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent little machine
4 Dec 2009
By
, Nottingham
"Fantastic! Split about two tonnes of logs in a morning that would have taken a week by hand. Will pay for itself by the next load."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lovely little machine
14 May 2009
By
, Surrey
"I love this little machine!
I bought mine about 2 months ago and have since split two year's worth of wood (knotty conifers plus some seasoned birch) with no problems. It has coped happily with rounds up to 30" across and there have only been about three logs which it couldn't cope with (because thet were so mishapen I couldn't get a purchase) but a few seconds with the chainsaw sorted them out.
It has a slightly shorter throw than some other machines, but the maximum length is similar to the maximum which will fit into my woodstove, so that works well for me. On the plus side, that means that the stroke and recovery times are shorter.
As with most horizontal hydraulic splitters, the ram stops about 4" short of the blade, so you will need to use a short log in front of the ram as a pusher for difficult grain. I keep two, of different lengths, handy so that I can split short logs without having to wait for the ram to fully extend.
It's a safe machine to use because the ram speed is not excessive and you have to use both hands to operate it (one on the hydraulic lever, one to press the button to run the motor). On dry, seasoned wood, it can build up quite a lot of pressure and then 'give' suddenly, sending the split pieces out at some speed, so you need to keep your knees clear if you're sitting down (as I do).
It's quiet in operation, and the motor only runs when the ram is operating, so electrical costs are minimal.
If I was to change anything, I would have the blade about an inch taller, but I guess that they don't do that so as to prevent users like me from overloading it. The knife itself is pretty rugged - I don't see any way you could break that.
I have only one negative comment, and it could be a really painful lesson if you're the sort of person who doesn't read the manual before getting stuck in. Before you use the machine, you *must* loosen off the bleed wingnut just below the blade. This allows air into and out of the hydraulic oil tank and equalises the pressure as the ram moves. If you don't do this, you'll blow the seals. This is why I only gave 4 stars for reliability. However, once you know about it, it's not a problem. Similarly, when you use the machine, it has to be level, or with the blade end slightly higher, so that the bleed screw is above the oil surface in the tank.
So, all in all, I'm very happy to recommend this machine."
48 of 48 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How much wood would a wood cho
15 Jun 2014
By
, Skye
"pretty good bit of kit, as others have said it is very heavy and use a small block of wood when splitting smaller logs. It does struggle on logs that have branches but with careful positioning it usually manages. The only problem I've had with it in the past couple of years is that the knife then the ram pushes the logs against cracked at the base, so I had to weld it. but other than that it's good, I can get through as many logs in an hour that would take a day with an axe - Oh and don't forget to loosen the wing nut before use so you don't burst the hydraulics."
Page : 1 2 next>