Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Woodstar 37cm Log Splitter

Woodstar 37cm Log Splitter
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
40 of 43(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Review 1 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Log Splitter
30 Jul 2015
By UVCs
, Mid-Wales
" Ordered this product after reading a number of favorable reviews on the Screwfix website.
The product I have received is Scheppach HL450 as the supplier has run out of Woodstar.
The supplier informed me that this item is made by the same German company.
It is identical to Woodstar with exactly the same features.
Received the item yesterday and so far so good, early days.
Happy with the little use I have had so far.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ih45 37 cm log splitter 1500w
8 Jul 2015
By Brumboy
, Birmingham
" Early days yet but it works just fine. Just remember the bleed screw. This has to be turned a few threads before it will work efficiently.
Only one gripe, strictly speaking not Screwfix's fault. The packageing was damaged quite badly
On arrival. However upon inspection the machine was unscathed.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic log splitter
22 May 2015
By eddie37
, Ayrshire
" Ordered Wednesday afternoon, arrived Friday 2pm! Excellent service, Product very sturdy and well engineered, particularly idiot proof, makes light work of splitting logs, have split a huge load in under 1 hour, excellent value . "
Review 4 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Woodstar37cm Log Splitter
8 May 2015
By Piggles
, East Devon
" Something that really works.Arrived on time and was soon in use.Logs that would be difficult to split with an axe were easily dealt with.I totally
recommend it.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Labour saver
17 Apr 2015
By Nige12
, Bolton
" Split more logs in 2 hours than I could have ever done using a wood grenade with a sledge hammer & axe in half a day.
No effort required to split logs.
Just remember to undo the air bleed screw before use to allow the hydraulics to work correctly, tighten screw up again after use. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best piece of machinery
16 Mar 2015
By Mudslinger
, Surbiton
" Terrific piece of gear, great time saver would thoroughly recommend this product. "
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Log splitter
12 Feb 2015
By Pringle
, East Sussex
" Amazing product does everything it says on the web page,not dissapointed would recomend this wood splitter easy to use and does the job very quickly,split a recently felled chestnut tree with ease.Now looking for the next tree to split.
Thanks to Screwfix for a great service and quick delivery,ordered late Tuesday evening arrived Thursday lunchtime.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easier than an axe!
26 Dec 2014
By PennineLad
, Cumbria
" Ordered Sunday evening at 8pm, arrived Tuesday 9am. Kept in box as it was my Xmas present so wasn't allowed to use it until the big day! Instruction manual easy to follow. Log splitter easily dealt with some Corisican Pine logs that are very knotted and impossible to split with an axe. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking good
19 Dec 2014
By Davidgnomonscribe
, Somerton
" Not tested yet, but excellent - looking machine, and pretty sturdy. Instructions about the bleed screw were confusing..."Failed to loosen the bleed screw will keep the sealed air in the hydraulic system being compressed after being decompressed".
Can't wait to give it a workout.
"
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great item
9 Dec 2014
By gingerstar
, Warwickshire
" Fantastic piece of kit for the money. Only problem is with the ram stop that slips on the rails, a poor design idea relying on a turn screw to stop the ram returning to full length... However don't let that small gripe put you off a great little machine. Highly recommended!! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 star kit.
26 Nov 2014
By oldcoot76
, Sutton Surrey
" Look no further than this splitter
Well designed well engineered
so easy to use the price of £199.00
for this machine I am sure is a steal
splits logs with ease we are amazed
By the performance and it looks the
part.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No more axe swinging!
1 Oct 2014
By warder54
, Angus
" Love this, used it an hour after delivery. split more logs in an hour than I could have done in 2 before, work-rate would increase the more you split as you do not get tired! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Wood Spliter
8 Aug 2014
By Deggitt27
, brentwood
" Used this all day and split some big 14" diameter logs - excellent piece of kit so far much, quicker, safer and easier than swinging an axe. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Woodstar LH45 Log Splitter
24 Jul 2014
By Oneinthewood
, London
" Bought this primarily based on the reviews so far and glad I did.
Like some of the other reviewers, I'm not sure why I didn't get one of these years ago.
Delivery was 2 days which is excellent.
I've split a couple of logs (around 30cm long by 25cm wide) so far and it works very well.
This will be ideal for quickly generating logs/kindling to use in our combi stove, rather than having to swing a maul/hatchet.
All I need to do now is actually fill up the log store before the winter !.... no excuse now I guess..... :-) "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woodstar log splitter
17 Jun 2014
By chopchop
, Bolton
" I chose this log splitter because of its competative price. What a machine it splits logs with ease. It is of robust construction ( and heavy), quiet and easy to use. A fantastic piece of kit, I cannot fault it. Should have bought one years ago. "
Review 16 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wood cutter - Woodstar IH45
15 Jun 2014
By Evaluation
, West Yorkshire
" Unable to fully review the reliability of this product simply because we have only had the product for three days. But it has worked very hard for two full days without issue.
All other features are excellent - would defo recommend the product to those preparing wood for a wood burner or duel fuel fire.
Why spend hours using an axe - when evolution gave someone the brainpower to invent a labour saving device that removes the hard work and improves productivity. "
Review 17 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Your wood will love it
14 Nov 2013
By Splitter
, Maulds Meaburn
" Having used something similar before, I would rate this as excellent, fit for purpose & easy to use - and being female (don't start!!) it makes log splitting a doddle. As yet, I cannot fault it & would recommend it to all.
Good piece of kit all round.
"
Review 18 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed
11 Nov 2013
By Watermark
, Exeter
" I don’t normally bother writing reviews but I have been so impressed by this splitter that I’m taking the time to.
Over the last month I have used it to chop around 5 tonnes of all sorts of wood. I was a little bit worried that it might be too lightweight but I needn’t have been. It’s made in Germany and you can tell. The build quality is excellent and to me it looks very strong. Out of all the wood I threw at it, there is only one gnarly, knotty old log that has defeated it – and I don’t think I’d have got through that one with an axe either.
Thinking about axes, a splitter feels to me much, much safer. As an amateur, chopping 5 tonnes by axe I dare say that my shins and feet would have had a close shave or two. While my younger self didn’t mind risks, I’ve got the scars to show for it. These days I’d rather pay £200 for a splitter and be able to go back to work on Monday. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lifesaver
25 Jun 2013
By Cemount
, Cumbria
" This and probably any log splitter is such a massive time and effort saver. What would have taken me all week to split I did in under an hour.
Downsides are its very heavy and needs two to lift, also very expensive for a job you only need to do a few hours every year, so I now need to work out a way to earn from t! "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's Quick
27 Feb 2013
By CBF500
, Ipswich
" Fast and efficient, it really does exactly what it claims to do. I did in 2 hours what previously took a day, and much safer. 1 in 50 logs defeated it, but that is not a fault of the machine, and it manages knots and difficult logs such as eucalyptus with ease. Needs to be raised off the ground when in use, but small size is a real advantage for storage. It is heavy but that also means sturdy! Delivery, promised in 7 days was actually next day. "
Page : 1 2 3 next>