Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Woodstar 37cm Log Splitter

Woodstar 37cm Log Splitter
Average Customer Rating:
4.576 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
32 of 33(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Review 1 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking good
19 Dec 2014
By Davidgnomonscribe
, Somerton
" Not tested yet, but excellent - looking machine, and pretty sturdy. Instructions about the bleed screw were confusing..."Failed to loosen the bleed screw will keep the sealed air in the hydraulic system being compressed after being decompressed".
Can't wait to give it a workout.
"
Review 2 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great item
9 Dec 2014
By gingerstar
, Warwickshire
" Fantastic piece of kit for the money. Only problem is with the ram stop that slips on the rails, a poor design idea relying on a turn screw to stop the ram returning to full length... However don't let that small gripe put you off a great little machine. Highly recommended!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 star kit.
26 Nov 2014
By oldcoot76
, Sutton Surrey
" Look no further than this splitter
Well designed well engineered
so easy to use the price of £199.00
for this machine I am sure is a steal
splits logs with ease we are amazed
By the performance and it looks the
part.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No more axe swinging!
1 Oct 2014
By warder54
, Angus
" Love this, used it an hour after delivery. split more logs in an hour than I could have done in 2 before, work-rate would increase the more you split as you do not get tired! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Wood Spliter
8 Aug 2014
By Deggitt27
, brentwood
" Used this all day and split some big 14" diameter logs - excellent piece of kit so far much, quicker, safer and easier than swinging an axe. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Woodstar LH45 Log Splitter
24 Jul 2014
By Oneinthewood
, London
" Bought this primarily based on the reviews so far and glad I did.
Like some of the other reviewers, I'm not sure why I didn't get one of these years ago.
Delivery was 2 days which is excellent.
I've split a couple of logs (around 30cm long by 25cm wide) so far and it works very well.
This will be ideal for quickly generating logs/kindling to use in our combi stove, rather than having to swing a maul/hatchet.
All I need to do now is actually fill up the log store before the winter !.... no excuse now I guess..... :-) "
Review 7 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woodstar log splitter
17 Jun 2014
By chopchop
, Bolton
" I chose this log splitter because of its competative price. What a machine it splits logs with ease. It is of robust construction ( and heavy), quiet and easy to use. A fantastic piece of kit, I cannot fault it. Should have bought one years ago. "
Review 8 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wood cutter - Woodstar IH45
15 Jun 2014
By Evaluation
, West Yorkshire
" Unable to fully review the reliability of this product simply because we have only had the product for three days. But it has worked very hard for two full days without issue.
All other features are excellent - would defo recommend the product to those preparing wood for a wood burner or duel fuel fire.
Why spend hours using an axe - when evolution gave someone the brainpower to invent a labour saving device that removes the hard work and improves productivity. "
Review 9 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Your wood will love it
14 Nov 2013
By Splitter
, Maulds Meaburn
" Having used something similar before, I would rate this as excellent, fit for purpose & easy to use - and being female (don't start!!) it makes log splitting a doddle. As yet, I cannot fault it & would recommend it to all.
Good piece of kit all round.
"
Review 10 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed
11 Nov 2013
By Watermark
, Exeter
" I don’t normally bother writing reviews but I have been so impressed by this splitter that I’m taking the time to.
Over the last month I have used it to chop around 5 tonnes of all sorts of wood. I was a little bit worried that it might be too lightweight but I needn’t have been. It’s made in Germany and you can tell. The build quality is excellent and to me it looks very strong. Out of all the wood I threw at it, there is only one gnarly, knotty old log that has defeated it – and I don’t think I’d have got through that one with an axe either.
Thinking about axes, a splitter feels to me much, much safer. As an amateur, chopping 5 tonnes by axe I dare say that my shins and feet would have had a close shave or two. While my younger self didn’t mind risks, I’ve got the scars to show for it. These days I’d rather pay £200 for a splitter and be able to go back to work on Monday. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lifesaver
25 Jun 2013
By Cemount
, Cumbria
" This and probably any log splitter is such a massive time and effort saver. What would have taken me all week to split I did in under an hour.
Downsides are its very heavy and needs two to lift, also very expensive for a job you only need to do a few hours every year, so I now need to work out a way to earn from t! "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's Quick
27 Feb 2013
By CBF500
, Ipswich
" Fast and efficient, it really does exactly what it claims to do. I did in 2 hours what previously took a day, and much safer. 1 in 50 logs defeated it, but that is not a fault of the machine, and it manages knots and difficult logs such as eucalyptus with ease. Needs to be raised off the ground when in use, but small size is a real advantage for storage. It is heavy but that also means sturdy! Delivery, promised in 7 days was actually next day. "
Review 13 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect back saver
17 Jan 2013
By montie
, forres
" took the plung and finally bought one what a simple tool to work splits logs no effort and allthough not any quicker than an axe there is no back braking work involved and it is a lot more accurite
lot smaller than i thought too but thats a plus for storage
a must for any wood burners out there
"
Review 14 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do not buy an axe
16 Jan 2013
By RonnieF
, Surrey
" Dubious at first because it seemed such a little price to pay for a tool which claimed so much. Wrong! This has been absolutely marvellous I actually ENJOY splitting logs. Why did I not buy this years ago. Splits all large logs both newly felled and well seasoned, also handles the small stuff to provide excellent kindling - try splitting 8cm x 25cm long safely with an axe !!! "
Review 15 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Woodstar Log Splitter
21 Nov 2012
By gsxr750
, Bristol
" Brilliant piece of equipment. Does exactly what it said it would. Saves hours of back breaking time & energy. "
Review 16 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product
24 Oct 2012
By fiftysomething
, oldmeldrum
" Bought this for my husband as he was strugging to cut the logs with an axe and a wood bomb.Great machine cuts large and small logs as we had huge trees cut down were a bit concerned that it would not split them but no problem well worth the money. Ordered and delivered within 2 days great service. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wood splitter
28 Sep 2012
By Billt1234
, Bolton
" This machine is the tops. did all i asked of it, with in 10 minutes of it arriving i was in the garden splitting timber. took 2 days to arrive from ordering. 100% all round. "
Review 18 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woodstar 4 ton splitter
9 Oct 2011
By ozwig
, ayrshire
" Have recently purchased the woodstar log splitter, initial impression has left me gobsmacked. Ive had a number of hard season logs that have been impossible to split with an axe. I admit i was dubious that this machinrewould be able to do the job. I had no need to worry as it split them no problem. These pieces were knotty and from a fork with additional branch stubs, not a straight grain in them, very gratifying to hear the splitting noise and watching them come to pieces. i wish ide bought one years ago "
Review 19 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressed
22 Jul 2011
By RobW
, Cheshire
" Though not a cheap item, there are plenty of more expensive versions with similar spec. I'm very glad I didn't spend any extra though, as this item is excellent. Still working my way through a great pile of cut trees, but haven't found a log it hasn't managed, even up to 60cm diameter or more... Still plenty of logs to go but seems well made an reliable so far... "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Woodstar IH45 37cm Log Splitter 1500W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Log splitting made easy
25 Jun 2011
By DIYGeek
, Fife, Scotland
" This Woodstar splitter is better and a lot more powerful than I'd expected. It made no difference whether it was a straight grained log or a gnarly knotty one, it makes light work of it. It splits logs that my axe would need a few swings at - good news for my back! It is small and is easy to store in the workshop. It is heavy, so don't try to lift it onto a bench. The ram always returns to the start point so I use a square section piece of wood as a packer when working on short logs. I'd say this was ideal for home / light professional use and quickly works it way through a big pile of logs. Be careful though, tough logs can fly off the wedge when they finally split. "
Page : 1 2 next>