Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Staircase Handrail Kit 3.6m

Staircase Handrail Kit 3.6m
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Review 1 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Supply your own screws
16 Nov 2015
By
, Reading
" This rail is of high quality and when the surface is finished looks and feels the business.
All the fixings are of good quality except for the screws which ar e not up the the job.
Pre-drilling pilots for screws is essential.
A shame that fitting instructions are only available to download.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The handrail
4 Mar 2013
By
, Liverpool
" Is very reliable as I suffer from brittle bones so a good quality handrail spot on price did the job for me.so I guarantee if its a good product for me u wont be dissatisfied . "
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
14 Oct 2012
By
, Manchester
" Stylish and practical. Easily fixed and does the job. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressed and looks great
30 Apr 2016
By
, Bourne, Lincs
" Great looking product and very reasonable price. There are a couple of issues, the first is the screws are not up to the job. They break when trying to screw them into the hard wood banister. Second the round brackets are a little too big in diameter, but that's me just being fussy. Saying this I am still pleased with the finish and would recommend this for if's looks and price. "
Review 5 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hand rail
4 Dec 2015
By
, Gravesend
" I brought this hand rail, and in my opinion it is great value for money and really looks the part . "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid Handrail
31 Aug 2015
By
, Windsor
" This is a lovely piece of wood.
I made it hard for myself in the beginning but in the end it looks great. The best way of installing it should be to have a pilot drill bit and 3.5mm drill bit for the holes. Make sure it is deep enough. before screwing it in. A 4.5mm drill bit for the ends and a tapper screw of 5mm. This will help when hand tightening the screw at the ends.
Looks fantastic and is solid. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Burbidge Oak Handrail
21 Feb 2015
By
, Watford
" Overall very good solid quality product. Unfortunatey quite difficult to install due to poor instructions and poor quality screws.
1. You have to download instructions from the web. It's only 2 sides of A4. Can't imagine why these can't be included in the box. I was fitting at my inlaws house and no internet.
2. Srews supplied are poor quality and very easy to strip head.
3. Because the oak is very hard it is critical to pilot drill sufficiently and pre-screw / unscrew before fixing in place.
4. Screws for end caps are bigger than the other fixings and have a spherical cover that can't be removed. Pilot drilling 3mm as instructions just does not work.
5. Quality of "silver" brackets is poor. You can see the surface stripping off as you tighten the screws.
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Staircase handrail kit
30 Dec 2014
By
, Torpoint
" Well presented, easy to install, good quality - except the wall fixing screws, not too impressed - I beefed them up a bit and used my own. The finished article looks and feels good. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Oak Burbridge Handrail Kit
19 Dec 2014
By
, Stevenage
" As with other reviewers I found that if you followed the instructions (downloadable) carefully this was a good piece of kit for the money. Comes boxed up in a 4 foot (ish) long box so easy to transport.
Like others I found the only weakness was the screws supplied. I tried with the originals but in the end brought something a bit more robust.
If these had been usable it would have been a five star product - Richard Burbridge please note! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good item
18 Dec 2014
By
, Cumbria
" Good and easy to put up and looks good.
Only problem is the same as others found, be warned do not use the screws that come with the kit first the ends of the screw ware then the screw snaps half screwed in and you can't get the bracket off so you have to hacksaw it to get the bracket off then you have to saw 25 mm off the wood so you can drill a pilot hole and screw again.
Screws are to soft to go in to hardwood.
Used other screwfix screws I had and was much better.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product
1 Sep 2014
By
, Cwmbran
" The bannister itself is superb quality, however I would recommend using your own screws ! One bent, two heads were rounded and two snapped halfway in the wood and that is after following the instructions to the letter and ensuring I had the right head for the screws, manually screwing them in. "
Review 12 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, fixings iffy
12 Mar 2014
By
, Poynton Cheshire
" Good quality product overall BUT...
1) The quality of the screws provided could be better: the metal appears to be a little soft to me. The screw head does not appear to be a standard Posidriv or Phillips, so screwdrivers didn't fit well. Hence I found that it was quite easy to burr the crossheads when tightening them.
2) The instructions provided specify drilling a 3mm pilot hole for screws going into the wooden hand rail. This is too small and, after experimentation, I found 4mm is a better choice.
3) The decorative screws to secure the end-caps are particularly tricky to use because there is no way of gripping them beyond finger tight. I had to mess around opening out the pilot holes beyond 4mm to get to a size that worked for me. Maybe a design with a sunken Posidriv slot would be better.
Anyway, after overcoming these issues I was pleased with the result. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Richard Burbidge Round Staircase Handrail Kit White Oak 300 x 90 x 3600mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely handrail terrible screw
8 Oct 2015
By
, London
" For such an amazing well built product why are the screws provided so bad would have been easy to put up had half the heads on the screws not shredded.
I would buy this again but really throw the screws they provide in the bin immediately just not worth the hassle.
"