Product Reviews

NN Smooth Metal Silver 750ml

NN Smooth Metal Silver 750ml
Average Customer Rating:
1.5 out of 5
1.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
17
3 of 20(15%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Review 1 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
72040 Quick-Dry Metal Paint.
3 Feb 2013
By Rosiepants
, South West.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" After using this brand of metal paint for some years I cannot fault this paint in any way. "
Review 2 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shiny silver paint
14 Jun 2011
By sunflower
, Luton
" I had a bright scarlet coloured filing cabinet which looked hideous and decided to paint it silver. It took a number of coats because the red was so strong but looks lovely now - a sort of silvery pearl finish which looks stunning. "
Review 3 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good as a primer
1 Oct 2012
By Alvin
, Aberdeenshire
" I have used the paint recently on some metal work for fencing. It does go on well and looks ok at a first glance, I did however need to coat a 2nd time then use a different paint for a finished look. If I was to buy again, it would be to use as an undercoat only. "
Review 4 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
no nonsense silver paint
3 Mar 2014
By enduser
, glasgow
" very ineffective as a paint. poor pigment content.
Not half as good as hammerite.
will noytbe buying it again
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wish I had read reviews before
8 Jan 2014
By AndyfromHeysham
, Lancashire
" DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY"
What a complete waste of money. Think you are saving £7 by buying this, wrong!!
Save £12.99 and buy the Hammerite because you will end up buying it to do a proper job anyway!!
This is so watery and thin, the best thing it covered was the floor it dripped on. Even after 24hrs it wasn't dry.
Why aren't screwfix reading these reviews and withdrawing this product. "
Review 6 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PAINT
7 Nov 2013
By GMSJEZ
, le16 7bw
" I have never bothered to review anything before, but this product is so bad you need to know.
It is watery, does not cover very well at all and is not worth buying at any cost.
I have never had an issue with screfix quality before and cannot believe they are willing to put their name on the tin!
It is a poor quality water based paint.
I avoid all water based paints for metal, solvent based are far better.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rubbish paint
4 Oct 2013
By mart69uk
, Hampshire
" Bought it to cover inside of my garage door so it would reflect the light when i was in the garage with the door down. Went on like a clearish varnish and did not change the original dark grey it was supposed to cover. Ended up buying Hammerite. Should have done this in the first place. £13 quid wasted. "
Review 8 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Paint
6 Aug 2013
By Jeevsie
, Reading
" Very thin, water based will require lots of recoats. Ideal if you enjoy painting your life away. "
Review 9 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NoNonsense Metal paint
20 Jul 2013
By oldhag
, nottingham
" do not buy it! had to go back out and buy Hammerite to finish the job, very poor paint! "
Review 10 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No Nonsense - Slight Misnomer
24 Jun 2013
By DisappointedFromPurley
, Greenock
" I too wish I'd read previous reviews before buying this.
I have previously used Screwfix own brand paints in the past and been very happy.
I bought this version of Smoothrite to do some table legs.
As soon as I dipped the first brush I could see it might be a problem.
The stuff was just runny and wet.
It took multiple coats to get anything like a covering on and it was even more concerning that I could wash it off my hands with water.
I cleaned the brush with water too.
The finish was disappointing - and I am a dab hand with the old Hammerite !
Then, the next day, when I realised it was not going to do the job, I removed all the paint in less that 10 minutes with my pressure washer.
So that was Saturdays efforts wasted and time I'll never get back.
I went straight back this morning for a refund, which I eventually got.
I'd not recommend this product to anyone. "
Review 11 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do Not Buy
27 Mar 2013
By SunnyMan
, East Anglia
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This paint is like a very poor transparent nail varnish some trollop would wear down the pub on a Tuesday Bingo night - not recommended to anyone "
Review 12 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ABSOLUTE RUBISH
18 Jul 2012
By DEVONLAD
, devon
" Absolute rubbish paint. Virtually no solids / pigment content, therefore almost see through like clear lacquer with a little bit of silver in it. Not durable scratches very easy when dry. Water-borne so easy to wash out brushes after use. Spend the couple of extra pound and buy hammerite which is solvent based. "
Review 13 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Poor
6 Jun 2012
By Perry
, Isle of Wight
" I bought this to brighten up the wheels of my 12 yr old Ducato Van based camper. I cleaned and prepared the wheels but this paint is so poor at coverage its like painting with skimmed milk. The solid content is so extremely low, although I applied as instructed, waited 4 hours between coats etc, after 4 coats the base layer was still visible through 4 coats. Trying to make it cover by pouring it on thick just makes a runny mess.
Very bad buy dont touch it. It may be all kinds of 'green product' with low VOC's etc but its useless as paint.
"
Review 14 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NON DRYIING
14 Jan 2012
By Tomy
, Lampeter
" Very poor coverage did not dry I had to pressure wash the stuff off after 3 days and it came off quite easily. Tried another can as I had bought two to find that was the same. I hadn't read the reviews and phoned screwfix to see if there was a bad batch. In fairness to them they sent out two replacements and it's now I'm reading the reviews. It's not much cheaper than hammerite but no where near as good. I will be throwing it away. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst paint ever. Don't buy i
18 Dec 2011
By Dexter25
, Warwick
" I have used large amounts of metal paint for industrial and DIY purposes and I've got to comment that this is the very worst stuff I have ever tried to use. It doesn't fill the brush, it doesn't cover, it doesn't dry. I had to wipe the messy stuff off and start again with decent paint. "
Review 16 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A waste of money
20 Nov 2011
By Ringrider
, Basingstoke
" After three coats the base metal was still not covered; very disappointed. Returned the paint for a refund and bought a tin of Hammerite instead. "
Review 17 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't do what it says on tin
26 Aug 2011
By AnotherOddjob
, Kent
" What a dissapointment, I wish I had read the other reviews prior to buying this. Not up to the usual high standards of 'No Nonsense' products. Screwfix should withdraw this and try again with something that works.
I have given the metal posts 4 coats and it still has not covered evenly or decoratively. Will use Hammerite in future - never had any problems with that. "
Review 18 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Metal Paint
27 May 2011
By Noiseman
, southampton
" Expensive Rubish that has no coverage takes about 5 coats to get finish, thought it was bad batch so got a different tin, still no good so i took back for refund. It seams they have moved over to a water based paint now. the old stuff was solvent all i can say is bring the old (cheaper) stuff back "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
good for nothing
7 Apr 2011
By derv
, portsmouth
" water based paint you will need about five coats good for nothing i threw mine in the bin disappointed with screwfix normally good gear "
Review 20 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Silver 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not as good as my 1st tin
13 Mar 2011
By malcj
, north wales
" this is the 2nd tin of this i have bought, the 1st was very good indeed, the last tin would not take to the metal and does not dry, i talked to the name on the tin who said it was the same mix as previous, and should be ok but it's not "