Product Reviews

Squire Steel Padlock 50mm

Squire Steel Padlock 50mm
Average Customer Rating:
1.625 out of 5
1.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
1 of 8(12%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Squire Keyed Alike Padlock Steel 55mm
Review 1 for Squire Keyed Alike Padlock Steel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good solid padlocks
20 Oct 2011
By
, West Sussex
"At last I've found "same key" padlocks that are substantial enough to lock field gates at a reasonable price. They feel solid, they are heavy with a good gauge toughened shank and would be very difficult for bolt cutters to break."
Review 2 for Squire Keyed Alike Padlock Steel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pity about the quality
30 Oct 2012
By
, Cambridge
"i bought 5 open and 5 closed shackle locks most of them have either seized up or fall apart due to internal rust despite regular oiling. I would have liked these british made locks to have been a success but will avoid in the future."
Review 3 for Squire Keyed Alike Padlock Steel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst paddlock ever
3 Apr 2014
By
, Bracknell
"Purchased five padlocks all have been replaced by Screwfix. Of the replacements only two. remain, they have all fallen apart - eight in total!"
Review 4 for Squire Keyed Alike Padlock Steel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Squire All-weather Padlock57mm
7 Oct 2013
By
, Preston
"Just writing to add my disappointment with a Squire padlock that I purchased around 18 months ago (ref Squire All-weather 57mm : Screwfix ref 63354 - which, incidentally is no longer available from Screwfix).
I paid top money (£20.99) for this lock for my driveway gate hoping that I would be buying a quality lock.
However, upon unlocking the padlock today, the shackle just dropped out of the main body of the lock and shows no sign of going back together or locking. Note also that I religiously closed the weather seal disc in an attempt to prolong the life of this lock.
Suffice to say - I will not be purchasing Squire locks again.
"
Review 5 for Squire Keyed Alike Padlock Steel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Total rubbish
2 Jun 2013
By
, Aberdeen
"Terrible padlock. At first they seem great and are very substantial. After about a year they fall apart. I purchased 6. Of the 6, 1 is still functional, two have seized completely and the other 3 have fallen apart. I really wanted to like these, especially with them being British."
Review 6 for Squire Keyed Alike Padlock Steel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Squire power lock ???
28 Apr 2013
By
, Kirkcaldy
"I bought 12 of them a year and a half ago all to work of one key and I think they are poor quality the shackle falls out and you cant put back, they are all weather proof but for extra protection I got a cover made for them all to stop any rain water getting on them and that was waste of time money and effort the model I got was POL55 NEVER AGAIN."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Squire Keyed Alike Padlock Steel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KEYED ALIKE BUT POOR QUALITY
21 Sep 2012
By
, LEICESTERSHIRE
"Like one of the other reviewers, I too bought a set of five Squire Powerloks in late 2010. To date I have 1 which won't lock, 1 where the shackle keeps falling out and won't lock and one which won't open. Of the remaining 2 (which still just about work ok) , the keyhole cover has come off one and part of the plastic top has cracked away on the other. Despite being used in a semi-sheltered environment (stable doors) and oiled regularly thet are all showing signs of internal rusting.
I have fortunately kept their original boxes on which John Squire, 8th Generation(!) personally ensures that there is a 10 YEAR guarantee on these products.
I am about to return the locks to Squire and await with interest......
"
Review 8 for Squire Keyed Alike Padlock Steel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor performance
31 Dec 2011
By
, Dorset
"Bought 5 of these in late 2010, approximately 1 year later only one still in use.
They were used on field gates in all weathers, ball bearing fell out of one, 3 seized up although oiled often.
Did not return as they stopped working because I was told I would have to return all 5.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.