Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita 4" Belt Sander 240V

Makita 4" Belt Sander 240V
Average Customer Rating:
4.862 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Review 1 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best power tool you can have!
30 Apr 2016
By
, Basingstoke
" This is my first review ever and I thought it's worth sharing how great of this product!Bought this today to sand a couple of pine tables. Very powerful and excellent results! Expensive but it's all worth every penny! Save time and money! Also great customer service at Basingstoke, returned a faulty item, got refund! "
Review 2 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Excellent Tool
19 Apr 2016
By
, Mansfield
" I was using a DIY grade belt sander for sanding solid wooden decorative slabs and decided to up grade to this belt sander and they are literally worlds apart. It halved the time to do the job.
I had used this particular sander before so I knew it was a good tool but forgotten how much difference having the right tool for the job makes. I would say it is a bit on the expensive side but defiantly a case of you get what you pay for.
As there are not many other 4" wide belt sanders out there I would say this is in a league of its own, a must have tool for doing multiple large surfaces. Some people say it is on the heavy side but I think it is not a bad thing as you can let the weight do the job for you and not have to push down on the machine.
Overall and excellent quality tool. Would defiantly recommend! "
Review 3 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good and up to the job
30 Mar 2016
By
, West Midlands
" I am building a 2m x 1M table and was getting bored with by small orbital sander. This beauty is fantastic. It's we'll build and powerful. Just need to watch when you first use it that you don't take off too much material and start slowly. One or two reviews mention the weight but to be honest that is an advantage because the machine does the hard work and all you need to do is steer it. Good for DIY or semi pro. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just Wow.
3 Mar 2016
By
, Staffordshire, UK.
" A `belter` of a sander. It really does a great job. Reliable, efficient, powerful and great quality. A bit on the heavy side though, for the wife! :o) "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Powerful, well built sander
1 Mar 2016
By
, London
" I have used a variety of cheaper sanders over the last few years and they all break, mainly as a result of dust and wood blocking the sander and entering the motor.
I was dubious that a more expensive sander would be that much better but it is.
The makita is heavy, it's also big, surprisingly it's also very quiet and easy to use. It comes with a long lead and has good dust removal. I managed to block it once and was happy to find that 4 screws removed the side panel giving easy access for cleaning, also ask parts are available online.
Would wholeheartedly recommend and it goes to show you do get what you pay for.
"
Review 6 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best sander
11 Feb 2016
By
, Cumbria
" One of the best sanders I've used. No problem tracking it. Belt stayed where set. Plenty of power. Didn't fill your face full of dirt. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Proper industrial tool.
27 Jan 2016
By
, Somerset
" Bought this to sand an oak floor and I am so glad that I did not penny pinch.
Tip: buy some decent zirconia belts.
Screwfix ones are good for the price though.
Tip: search our favorite online auction site for the replacement graphite backing pad. The chinese ones are good and if you hammer this sander you will need to get a couple of spares.
Dust extraction works fairly well but rigging it up to your henry or equivalent vacuum cleaner will improve this no end.
Power extraction of dust improves the working enviroment, keeps the belt and machine cooler.
As a previous reviewer has said, just buy it. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stop wasting your time & buy
22 Jan 2016
By
, London
" Took a bit of convincing that this was right for the job (floorboards) but I am so pleased I bought this from Screwfix a year ago. It's plowed through six rooms in my house now without any sign of wear or grumbles. If I clog it, it's because of my poor dust management (gotta empty the bag - obviously, but also stay clear of sanding up big things). On a few blockages you can simply unscrew the side and the machine is easily cleared - in fact the longevity of this machine speaks volumes when you see how much could be replaceable over the years. This is preferred over a stuck-tight machine that is dead once it's decided so (IMO).
This thing is powerful (slightly intimidating at first, for a newbie) but slowly you get to enjoy it.
Tips: Don't hold back on sanding belts, it's not worth your life trying to make the most of them. Buy enough and then get one pack more. First sign of losing sanding power? Replace the belt, life's too short for economies of sanding paper!
Tip 2: Buy spare pads - the stock one lasted only two rooms, the first of a replacement multi-pack (bought elsewhere) has shown little signs of wear. Also worried they may stop stocking these in the future, good to have spares now.
In short: great, powerful little sander that makes the job quick and easy. Stop playing with orbitals on large jobs, buy Makita! :) "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Choice
19 Jan 2016
By
, Norfolk
" I really don't know the first thing about tools and had no idea what I was looking for except a Belt Sander that my husband said he wanted. It didn't help me one bit when I saw that there was more than one Belt Sander so, going on recommendations and reviews, I bought the Makita 4".
On his birthday when hubby opened this, his eyes nearly left his sockets, his mouth acted as a fly trap and a "Wow" was heard as he quickly left for his shed where soon after Belt Sander noises were heard and I haven't seen him since!
Excellent purchase and hubby is a very happy bunny!!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No contest
31 Dec 2015
By
, Southampton
" I don't require a belt sander often so originally bought a Titan, which failed after a day. Tried a JCB which failed after two hours and the replacement lasted two days. Figured I should just push the boat out and spend the extra for peace of mind. The Makita is superior in every way. Dust collection is excellent, endless power and low noise. A brilliant piece of kit. I wish I had chosen it originally. You get what you pay for. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
3 Nov 2015
By
, Dorset
" The last one I had was 20 years ago, they haven't changed much and it is probably the best on the market today. Really worth getting for your workshop "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Sander
22 Oct 2015
By
, Tiverton
" Does what it to suposed too. Very easy to use. No added pressure needed. "
Review 13 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super sander
3 Oct 2015
By
, Blackpool
" Bought the other day for a project at home after using at work.Brilliant sander does all that's needed with the greatest of ease and a great price cheaper than anywhere else.Buy extra belts as you only get one. Recommend for all great tool to have "
Review 14 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best machine ever
2 Oct 2015
By
, Cumbria
" Since purchased have used it on a job and was extremely impressed with its speed at completing the job so effectively. Should have bought this a long time ago "
Review 15 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great long lasting belt sand
24 Aug 2015
By
, Weymouth
" There isn't a belt sander I would rather purchase than this one, it works well, will continue to work and won't disappoint. It is a bit pricey but I wouldn't settle for a lower quality sander. "
Review 16 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Powerful and solid 4" sander
18 Aug 2015
By
, Telford
" Very powerful solid sander. Yes it is heavy, but it uses the weight to perform the sanding tasks.
Used it for three hours since purchase two days ago, I am amazed at how powerful the 4 inch belt is performing excellent sanding on rough sawn wood.
Very impressed with quality and performance. I know this sander is going to be heavily utilised.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard Days Labour
3 Jul 2015
By
, Selby
" I have worked in a school for over 7 years as a technician and previous other jobs .
I had the in enviable task of sanding down and re-varnishing 15no. 4ft square work bench tops.
This was a daunting task, but my brand new Makita belt sander made it easier and it only took me three days to sand each desk twice with different sandpaper grades.
Three points 1. it is heavy if you are using it for a long period of time.
2 The easiest way to stop the cable getting trapped if to place it over your shoulder
3. The rubber cork and carbon plates can be replaced cheaply online.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Sander
5 Jun 2015
By
, Midlands
" I had a very large kitchen worktop to sand down in a church kitchen. This sander turned a daunting task into a pleasure. The sander is fairly heavy and that could be a problem on vertical surfaces. On a horizontal surface the weight was an advantage. I have always found Makita products to be the best and this sander has once again confirmed that belief. Don't forget to purchase extra sanding belts as there is only one in the box. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Powerful
30 May 2015
By
, London
" Great tool cut my sanding time in half
The power cord can tend to get to close or comfort to the action so be aware, you may use all the time you saved getting a cord out of the sander
"
Review 20 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant sander
5 May 2015
By
, devon
" you get what you pay for. powerfull and well ballanced. makita is all good stuff. well built and reliable "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>