Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita 4" Belt Sander 240V

Makita 4" Belt Sander 240V
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Review 1 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard Days Labour
3 Jul 2015
By Woodtech
, Selby
" I have worked in a school for over 7 years as a technician and previous other jobs .
I had the in enviable task of sanding down and re-varnishing 15no. 4ft square work bench tops.
This was a daunting task, but my brand new Makita belt sander made it easier and it only took me three days to sand each desk twice with different sandpaper grades.
Three points 1. it is heavy if you are using it for a long period of time.
2 The easiest way to stop the cable getting trapped if to place it over your shoulder
3. The rubber cork and carbon plates can be replaced cheaply online.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Sander
5 Jun 2015
By DIY65DIY65
, Midlands
" I had a very large kitchen worktop to sand down in a church kitchen. This sander turned a daunting task into a pleasure. The sander is fairly heavy and that could be a problem on vertical surfaces. On a horizontal surface the weight was an advantage. I have always found Makita products to be the best and this sander has once again confirmed that belief. Don't forget to purchase extra sanding belts as there is only one in the box. "
Review 3 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Powerful
30 May 2015
By Mbot
, London
" Great tool cut my sanding time in half
The power cord can tend to get to close or comfort to the action so be aware, you may use all the time you saved getting a cord out of the sander
"
Review 4 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant sander
5 May 2015
By heavyhanded
, devon
" you get what you pay for. powerfull and well ballanced. makita is all good stuff. well built and reliable "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forget the Rest, buy the Best
15 Apr 2015
By Barry
, Lancaster
" My old belt sander finally bit the dust. Should I get a 'low cost' model or go for a 'proper' one? All my other power tools are Makita, so that was the way to go. I have no regrets so far. This belt sander is solid, powerful and quiet. If it is anything like my other Makita tools it should last for years! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita Belt Sander
27 Feb 2015
By WCardiff
, Carmarthen
" This is a great sander and well worth the money. Its a bit heavy if you are not working off a work bench and sanding on a level surface.
No variable speed control, but for this size sander you dont really need that function. It is very powerful so if you are working on vertical surfaces, get a strong hold before hand or it will take off a deep cut before you know it. Dust bag works very well. If you are doing alot of sanding (and/ or sanding hard-wood), its worth getting a set of replaceable brushes at the same time to avoid any downtime on site waiting for another delivery.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
19 Nov 2014
By dangerousbrian1
, tiverton
" Just buy one they are great.
Put 98% of the dust in the bag.
Sands timber with no effort.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a difference
31 Oct 2014
By Drotto
, Teesside
" I don't like belt sanders, but sometimes you just need them. I had a cheapo half the price of this and only used it when I had to for roughing down the steps in glue-up joints (don't kid yourself. . . you get them as well). Then I wd start the normal sandin process.
I gave in last week and bought the 9403 because I had 17 big glue-up panels to tackle. I couldn't believe the difference. After the first couple I ordered some fine grit belts. I can now do both sides of a big panel 80, 120, then 180 grit in 15 mins and it's smooth as a baby's bum. . . ready for scrapin or a final hand sand.
Only had it a week so based my reliability figure on other Makita gear I have.
. . . btw. . . it chucks a lot less dust about than before as well.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
makita 9403 240v
23 Jul 2014
By dave99
, cambridgshire
" Brought to strip down my uneven floorboards. It runs happily all day, great dust extraction, but not variable speed despite screwfix listing. Wore out carbon plate initially by pressing to hard, but eased off and replacement pad still going strong. Pad keeps belt cool for continuous use. Very well made and tough bit of kit. Only had a month so reliability rating feflects build quality "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
solid machine
21 May 2015
By claddingman
, birmingham
" this is a good solid machine, you get what you pay for and this has stood up to the test so far "
Review 11 for Makita 9403/2 4" Belt Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Serious sander
25 Jul 2014
By Thursday
, Isle of Wight
" When my second cheap sander burnt out, I bit the bullet and invested in this. It copes with hours of work, and it is surprisingly quiet. It is a bit on the heavy side, which makes for tired arms when sanding plasterboard joints on a ceiling, but it can get right to the edge of the work, and the dust bag really works. I should have bought one years ago, cheap tools are a false economy. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.