Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Pocket-sized detector pen for non-contact detection of AC voltage. Use against wire insulation.

Pocket-sized detector pen for non-contact detection of AC voltage. Use against wire insulation.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Philex 83010HS Electronic AC Voltage Detector Pen
Review 1 for Philex 83010HS Electronic AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
contactless mains tester
10 Oct 2013
By
, west stockwith
"great product works well reliable, i would recomend"
Review 2 for Philex 83010HS Electronic AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VERY good Power Detector
13 Aug 2013
By
, Royston
"Good power detection sensitivity, better than most other detectors that I have used. Also the Beeping sound makes the interpretation very clear. works well. Also that LED lamp on it is very useful to see inside devices"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philex 83010HS Electronic AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value
9 May 2013
By
, Luton
"What can I say a great product at a great price.
All the features and specification of the higher priced models and so far has proved really reliable.
Well recommended."
Review 4 for Philex 83010HS Electronic AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works perfectly
9 May 2013
By
, Norwich
"Have been venturing into the world of DIY in my new home and have needed to drill some holes in a cavity wall.
I thought I would get this to make sure I didn't drill through my wiring and it did the job perfectly. It easily and reliably detected electrical currents in the wall.
Who needs a detector at a higher price point when this does the job every time.
Recommended!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philex 83010HS Electronic AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Philex 83010HS Electronic AC V
9 Mar 2013
By
, derbyshire
"Philex 83010HS Electronic AC Voltage Detector Pen
brill easy to use
good on price"
Review 6 for Philex 83010HS Electronic AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Philex 83010HS Electronic AC
7 Dec 2013
By
, Glasgow
"A useful piece of kit for detecting breaks in cables. Not reliable enough to use for presence of a supply on terminals to be worked on.
The detection range is very limited and works only at one part of the tip.
As it says on the pen, always test on a known source before use.
"
Review 7 for Philex 83010HS Electronic AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not reliable !!
29 Oct 2013
By
, dartford
"i bought this after my Fluke tester was stolen.
It failed to work from the start. took it back and it worked when tested in store ??
i replaced the batteries.
so i took it away again. failed next time i used it. worked again when checked at home.
it's just not reliable enough for me to trust.
i'll be retuning it to store and buying the more expensive Fluke tester instead..
"
Review 8 for Philex 83010HS Electronic AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Quality - buy a Megger
18 Feb 2013
By
, Inverness
"Bought this as I was unable to get the Megger voltage pen in my local branch, and thought it looked like good value.
First impressions were that it has a poor quality casing, and then when tested the buzzer did not work, only the light. It is also a lot less sensitive than other pens I have used in the past.
Overall, I would not recommend this, if you know what you are talking about when it comes to electrics you will know that Megger are good quality and the extra money spent on a better brand is well spent in my opinion."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.