Product Reviews

DrywallBits PH2

DrywallBits PH2
Average Customer Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
9 of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Review 1 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
useful bit for plasterboard!
22 May 2015
By jonnydiy1983
, Manchester
" these bits take a little bit of getting used to. I used them with an impact driver. Key is not to push when driving in the screws then the bit spins out leaving the screw head recessed the perfect amount. The bit can fall out the driver sometimes but they are great value. Didnt really need 5 so gave 2 away to my dad and a mate! "
Review 2 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great discovery
4 Apr 2015
By Homebuilder45454
, Wiltshire
" Who ever invented these should get a medal! My heart sank when I realised that, having bought some drywall screws, I'd have to get some PH driver bits as well as the PZs I usually use. But then I found these babies in the SF catalogue and haven't looked back. Basically, they prevent you screwing the screw too far into the plasterboard, which can crack it or cause it to come loose. It's a simple trick but one which makes screwing in hundreds and hundreds of drywall screws, if not actually a pleasure, then much less of a chore.
If you're hanging some plasterboard then these bargain items (they come in packs of five so buy a couple) are an essential accessory.
"
Review 3 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drywall Bits
28 Feb 2013
By Andy58
, Bristol
" this is an excellent product at a great price with no bad points "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over 6000 screws on 1 bit
14 Jan 2013
By DIYSie
, Halifax
" Read the reviews of everyone else and have to put in my 2p worth.
Great idea, was doubting they would be helpful but thought for £4 worth a shot. Brilliant, perfect depth every time. I was told top put in more screws the better in each plasterboard, I got an average of 50 per board and so far have done 125 boards, leaving scope for wasteage i'd say about 6K 42mm drywall wall screws done on ONE single bit and its still going. I used them with the ringmagent adaptor for single hand use on a 10.8v driver. faultless. Well done to ever thought of them. Ok its not as fast as the Makita collated drivers, but they are £300 and you pay more for the screws, if you can find em too...I was doing an extension (big'n) and labour was not a problem.
Pro's - great if you have a decent amount of plaster boards i.e. more than 100 screws then worth every penny!
Con's - not knowing about these before. They come in packs of 5. Why? as a single one goes on forever ;-) "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drywall Bit
8 Oct 2012
By Mikey1111
, London
" Fantastic idea, works really well and at less than a £ each you cant go wrong "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal tool for the job
11 May 2011
By Pelhama
, Crawley Down
" Works perfectly and does exactly what it is supposed to - can't ask much more. "
Review 7 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Been missing these
13 Oct 2014
By StupidRulesForNicknames
, Stoke St Michael
" I used to use these in Canada 12 years ago. Lost my last one a few years ago and really missed it. I was very pleased to see them in stock at ScrewFix. I'm not a professional but have put up a few boards in my time and find these drywall bits sink the head just right to get a great finish without punching through the paper. My only gripe about them is that the bits seem a little 'slippy' on the screw heads. I was using EasyDrive screws and there was an occasional tendency for the bit to jump out of the screw head. It might be down to my sloppy technique, or the screws, but I don't have the same issue with with my normal driver bits and spax screws. Highly recommend these if you don't want to have to think about it when driving screws into dry wall. "
Review 8 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Idea
6 Oct 2011
By HandyMike
, Rugby
" The Phillips #2 Laser Standard Drywall Bits are brilliant if you are only installing a small amount of drywall or doing repairs. they allow you to set the screws below the surface accurately without the need for expensive drill guns. Ideal addition to any diyers toolbox. "
Review 9 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Need adjusting before use
10 May 2015
By Anonymous
, Kent
" These work great when they are set to the correct depth, out of the bag the bit sticks out too much so the screw punches through the skin of the board. I stuck one in the vice with the screwdriver pointing up, put a screw on the end of it and tapped it down a bit with a hammer. It was a bit trial and error to get the correct depth but once its done it works a treat! "
Review 10 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What happened!!
23 Nov 2012
By willsy
, Wokingham Berks
" Sorry but really got to have a moan about this product.
Ive been buying these handy drywall screw bits from screwfix for years now but what has happened???
The bits I bought most recently I am severely dissapointed with. I live in France and do a lot of plasterboarding. I consider myself to be proffesional not just the occasional diy user. I have the electric and battery pro drivers but to be honest I prefer to use these bits on the end of my drill driver.
I recently purchased 6pks of these to take back with me to France. When I got back and opened them and then went to use them, well!!! I cant say on here what came out of my mouth!!!
For some reason best known to themselves (probably cost) Screwfix have changed their supplier!! There was obviously absolutely Zero product testing (by a proffessional) coz if there was they would all have been thrown straight into a huge bin!!
Whats the problem?? Well, Firstly they are now metal, not the little old reliable blue plastic bits which spun (which where fine for years) now they are a metal cap is fixed to the bit which, as was suggested by 'doityourselfdoitright' a year ago (bits changed for even worse ones now), causes the pb to be unecessarily marked by the binding metal cap. But worse - much worse than that, the philips bit protrudes down past the cap far too far causing the screw to be driven far too deeply into the board and therefore 'popping' the pb skin rather than sitting snugly into it (the pro's and even diyers will know exactly what I mean). this makes each and every screw driven in absolutely useless and in no way acheiving what they were bought for!! In short these new bits are NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE!!!! and should be withdrawn IMMEDIATELY (I hope someone from Screwfix is reading this!!) I just wasted my money on these substandard bits!!
Thats my opinion of this item - I am sure Im not the only one. Please Screwfix, BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL blue plastic ones!!!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice Idea but...
10 Jun 2013
By Anonymous
, Watford, Herts.
" This should be the perfect product but was not to be.
The price is cheap enough but half the bits in the packet seemed to be the wrong size and when the screw can wobble about you can't screw in drywall screws without them going sideways, "camming-out" or falling off the bit.
The bits that were the right size lasted reasonably well but the bit provided free in a box of a thousand dry wall screws lasted a lot longer.
From other mixed reviews it is possibly down to who provides the product on the day but I was so disappointed.
We need a "Pro" version of this product. "
Review 12 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality
28 Dec 2011
By doityourselfdoitright
, Blackpool
" Thes bits are very poor. The steel is soft and fits the screw poorly. The plastic stop is fixed so revolves with the bit and sinks its self into the board if you are a little over firm. I had similar bits from here a few years ago which were superior. The plastic spun freely, the bits were hard and lasted. I know because I put 10,000 screws in with 2 bits. These new bits are lucky to last 100 screws. NOT recommended sorry. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Phillips #2 Standard Drywall Bits Pack of 5
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish Drywall Bits
23 Sep 2011
By Topkat
, Cornwall
" The bits wore out after just a few screws, probably mild steel. "