Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V Combi

Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V Combi
Average Customer Rating:
4.379 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
27 of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Review 1 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value
30 Jan 2016
By
, Essex
" My experience with diy stores own brands of cordless tools is that once the battery dies, you can't get a replacement. So when I saw this Hitachi with 3 batteries at an irresistable price, I didn't hesitate. A relative who is in the building trade only uses Makita and Hitachi, so I felt confident the drill would be well built and reliable.
It is comfortable to hold and well balanced. The batteries charge very rapidly. Strongly recommended. "
Review 2 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great VFM Set
26 Mar 2015
By
, Eastbourne
" Was looking for a replacement for my faithful old combi (dropped from a ladder) and it was a toss up between this and the other Hitachi Li-Ion version at the same price, but the three batteries swung it and I have to say I'm very happy thus far, everything arrived quickly, I had two batteries charged in an hour and this really is a punchy little beastie (in fact I managed to strip out a screw head being a little over enthusiastic). Too early to tell about long term performance or reliablity but with a 3 year gaurentee and for the price this is currently the best deal out there... "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product at a great price
9 Mar 2015
By
, East Sussex
" A good drill driver at a very competitive price. Worked out cheaper than buying replacement batteries for my old drill. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value Drill
6 Aug 2014
By
, Bromsgrove
" Comes with a decent case which also holds the charger and three batteries.
I used the click and collect service which worked well and picked up the drill within minutes.
Instructions are fairly comprehensive and although the English is a little awkward in places they were easy enough to understand. Batteries charged rapidly although there is a warning not to charge more than two consecutively, presumably because the charger gets quite warm.
The drill worked really well on the first few jobs I used it on, mostly the hammer function.
Haven't had it long enough to check reliability but it seems well made.
At the price offered it represents great value for money.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely piece of kit
5 Aug 2014
By
, Bristol
" A huge step up from my previous cordless drill - lighter, better balanced, two speeds, but, most importantly so much more power for so much longer.
The batteries re-charge very quickly, and snap in and out just as they should.
I'm just a DIY-er, but this feels like a proper professional tool, for a very reasonable price.
Very pleased. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drillar price
30 Jul 2014
By
, oxfordshire
" my last hitachi drill was purchased in 2002
still going strong but batterys dont last
replaced with this model with 3 batterys
now what needs SCREWING
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hitachi Drill
30 Jul 2014
By
, York
" Very good drill at a very good price 3 batteries make this a bargain "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, reliable products
17 Jul 2014
By
, London
" Have owned several Hitachi products including 2 similar drills. One of those was nicked (kind of a positive review, I suppose) the other lasted more than 5 years of continuous work, till batteries died (replacement more than new drill- bad point - but common to all manufacturers). If this one does half as well, I'll be very happy. Feels good so far!
Hitachi generally seem to be one of the best, most reliable of makes.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliable as ever Hitachi
12 Jul 2014
By
, Clacton on Sea
" I switched back to hitachi as I find that other main players were not as reliable as promised . Having used my hitachi electric drill over 26 years now and still performing it far outlasted anything Makita or DeWalt could deliver. Only matched by my Atlas Copco SDS drill for reliability and My Hilti Sds. Don't be seduced by expensive alternatives whereby you are paying for the name brand only. Trust in Hitachi.The three battery option should be standard on all drill/drivers for us tradesmen. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value
16 Jun 2014
By
, wakefield
" I have been using this drill over the last week on jobs in the garden, worked very well and very good value "
Review 11 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 Years on
13 May 2014
By
, Suffolk
" After using this drill for 3 years now, I have nothing but praise, it has never let me down on any material. I use it almost every day.
Granted that it uses a lot of power when on full torque, but no tradesman would use it that way all the time, and with 3 batteries not a problem.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfactory Performance
27 Dec 2013
By
, Cambridge
" I rate myself as a serious DIYer not a Tradesman. This Drill was adequate for my needs but if you are a Tradesman I would suggest that you spend a bit more and get yourself the Lithium Ion Battery model to ensure you don't run out of Battery power. If your going to be driving serious sized screws for an eight hour day you need to guarantee power if you want to earn money. No Power equals No Work equals No Pay!!!
That said it keeps me going on my DIY projects for a day due to the benefit of having three batteries. Previously I have brought cheaper drills that don't have the build quality "
Review 13 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hitachi cordless drill
16 Oct 2013
By
, Nunthorpe
" Excellent with "three batteries" light and easy to use. "
Review 14 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value
1 Jul 2013
By
, Essex
" Bought this drill on the Screwfix £99.99 offer, used it to build a kitchen, and haven't regretted it for a moment.
The Hitachi is joyously light, compact and powerful compared with my old drill. The batteries - THREE of them - last a lot longer than some people here are suggesting, or at least mine have done so far. Time will tell.
I particularly like how well the keyless chuck grips the bit without having to draw blood when tightening the collar.
At under £100 you can't go wrong. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
highly recomended
16 Mar 2013
By
, berkshire
" this drill is top notch, had one for around 3 years, one of the original batteries was starting to burn out, bought this one when it was on offer mainly for the spare batteries. it has never struggled with anything i have used it for nor has the original one. "
Review 16 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hitachi cordless drill great
7 Mar 2013
By
, Bognor Regis
" I purchased the Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill to replace my old cordless drills.
The reason for the Hitachi is because it came with two spare batteries which meant that I did not have to worry about stopping to recharge the battery or pay out for a spare battery.
The drill itself works very well as both a drill and screw driver.
I am glad I opted for this model.
"
Review 17 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, especially DIY
15 Feb 2013
By
, Lancashire
" Had this drill/driver for a few years now and have used it to finish off my last house and to start on the new house.
I tend to use it for everything from drilling into masonry, metal and wood and mostly for anything needing a screwdriver throughout the house.
It always works faultlessly and I find the features great - the collar to set the torque/drilling action has a lovely light feel, espcially compared to my old B&D driver.
The standing angle is ideal for putting down between actions, and the overall weight is good without being too light/heavy.
The standard bit it comes with has had some hammer from me but is still spot on.
Would buy another in a shot. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drill driver
12 Mar 2015
By
, Dorset
" Fantastic value more than happy works really well good solid case supplied with three batteries "
Review 19 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Initial observations
4 Mar 2015
By
, Wild, windy, Wales
" Too early yet to comment on reliability (although you forced me to tick a box - so I ticked 3), however, been using it for a few weeks now and very impressed with the way it handles. It's fairly compact so gets close to most work-pieces. It's weighty so stable in your hand. Very wide range of preset torques so enables good control to drive screws flush into wood, Hammer action is good. Easy to interchange drill bits, It comes with 3 batteries - and you need them. They charge up quickly which is just as well because there's not a lot of life in them. Alarming at first, but once you set up your charger, with 3 batteries there's always one ready as one dies. Glad I bought this and not my old make! "
Review 20 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good value and good drill
8 Jul 2014
By
, Caernarfon
" Batteries only take half an hour to charge. Plenty of power in drill, and well balanced. I've now got 2 of these drills, I think that says it all. "
Page : 1 2 next>