Product Reviews

Gutsy, lightweight combi drill featuring keyless chuck and high maximum torque for fast drilling, hammer drilling and screwdriving. Supplied with carry case.

Gutsy, lightweight combi drill featuring keyless chuck and high maximum torque for fast drilling, hammer drilling and screwdriving. Supplied with carry case.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Review 1 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfactory Performance
27 Dec 2013
By CoolHandLuke
, Cambridge
"I rate myself as a serious DIYer not a Tradesman. This Drill was adequate for my needs but if you are a Tradesman I would suggest that you spend a bit more and get yourself the Lithium Ion Battery model to ensure you don't run out of Battery power. If your going to be driving serious sized screws for an eight hour day you need to guarantee power if you want to earn money. No Power equals No Work equals No Pay!!!
That said it keeps me going on my DIY projects for a day due to the benefit of having three batteries. Previously I have brought cheaper drills that don't have the build quality"
Review 2 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hitachi cordless drill
16 Oct 2013
By Archiebald
, Nunthorpe
"Excellent with "three batteries" light and easy to use."
Review 3 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value
1 Jul 2013
By Paulypots
, Essex
"Bought this drill on the Screwfix £99.99 offer, used it to build a kitchen, and haven't regretted it for a moment.
The Hitachi is joyously light, compact and powerful compared with my old drill. The batteries - THREE of them - last a lot longer than some people here are suggesting, or at least mine have done so far. Time will tell.
I particularly like how well the keyless chuck grips the bit without having to draw blood when tightening the collar.
At under £100 you can't go wrong."
Review 4 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
highly recomended
16 Mar 2013
By najp1987
, berkshire
"this drill is top notch, had one for around 3 years, one of the original batteries was starting to burn out, bought this one when it was on offer mainly for the spare batteries. it has never struggled with anything i have used it for nor has the original one."
Review 5 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hitachi cordless drill great
7 Mar 2013
By Diy49er
, Bognor Regis
"I purchased the Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill to replace my old cordless drills.
The reason for the Hitachi is because it came with two spare batteries which meant that I did not have to worry about stopping to recharge the battery or pay out for a spare battery.
The drill itself works very well as both a drill and screw driver.
I am glad I opted for this model.
"
Review 6 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, especially DIY
15 Feb 2013
By FocusST
, Lancashire
"Had this drill/driver for a few years now and have used it to finish off my last house and to start on the new house.
I tend to use it for everything from drilling into masonry, metal and wood and mostly for anything needing a screwdriver throughout the house.
It always works faultlessly and I find the features great - the collar to set the torque/drilling action has a lovely light feel, espcially compared to my old B&D driver.
The standing angle is ideal for putting down between actions, and the overall weight is good without being too light/heavy.
The standard bit it comes with has had some hammer from me but is still spot on.
Would buy another in a shot."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Neat cordless
20 Oct 2013
By froggyman
, Bournemouth
"very smooth and quite light to hold.
Just right in its case with 3 batteries !"
Review 8 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bonza cordless
17 Oct 2013
By nagrom55
, Torbay
"Had my first Hitachi DV18DCL2 robbed out my van, replacing it with this was a no-brainer and extra batteries too. Its got all the guts of a corded drill, extra batteries, easy chuck, good hammer, good torque, forward/reverse, effective variable speed.............
why pay more ??
(unless u wanna pose with something german)
"
Review 9 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value for money
11 Mar 2013
By Turunch
, TA12
"Only 1.2Ahr , I've got 10+ various 9.6 - 18v Makitas, & is just as good & a relative cheapy too .
Hasn't quite got the toque grunt of 1.3Ah Makitas, somehow , but 3 batteries makes it very attractive & its 22 torque settings are a lot more sensitive .
Hammers good too
"
Review 10 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hitachi 18v
13 Feb 2013
By mick123
, Lancs
"I have had one of these for a lot of years. The body is good and build quality is good. It drills holes in lots of things, easy to use and copes doing doors all day, drilling and screwing, even with an auger bit. Bit hefty if you just want a screwdriver and brilliant all rounder in my opinion.
I have new makita too, but still rate this, served me well for many years, BUY IT,
"
Review 11 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value
12 Feb 2013
By mikeouk
, cumbria
"I use a combi drill every day for my job, and its always to drill 7mm into masonry, I needed to send it off for servicing so needed a combi drill to use in the mean time. Spotted this hitachi on offer, and because it came with 3 batteries decided to chance it. So far ive only used it for 2 days, but it seems to be able to cope with everything so far. The 1.2ah batteries dont last that long, but I have the charger in my van so as long as i put a battery on charge as soon as it goes flat, i can get by.
The build quality isnt as good as my usual (far more expensive) drill, but for the money I wasnt expecting it to be.
Over all, this drill is exceptional value. For anyone wanting a cheap and capable combi, id highly recommend it. its ideal for the DIY'er, not sure how it would stand up to the use I will give it, but once i get my other drill back, it will be only used a spare anyway.
"
Review 12 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Poor even for a DIY job
28 Feb 2013
By Lockout
, Chichester
"I am a locksmith and my drills do not get heavy long hours usage, but they get used every day in total no more than 30min per day.
I bought the drill because I thought it looked like a good prospect 2 x 1.2AH batteries and a chuck that went to 13mm.
I found the chuck was letting go of the drill bits as soon as they came up against any resistance in the metal it was drilling.
I had to keep trying to tighten the chuck in order to drill even a 3mm hole in even 2mm aluminum.
I feel that this is partly due to the slow RPM but mainly the poor quality of the chuck..
The batteries1.2AH I found lasted far far less than my Bosch 1.3AH drill
Plus (not that it would affect the performance of the drill) it made a horrible whining sound when in use.
I will be returning this when I next pass screwfix.
"
Review 13 for Hitachi DV18DVC2/JD 18V 1.2Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
just plain bad
20 Feb 2013
By fredbeare
, London
"Well I had this version when it came with a torch and three batteries
firstly ( and a minor point ) - screwfix do not sell spare bulbs for the torch
But my main concern is that after a year the batteries refused to hold charge for more than a few minutes. drill two holes or drive in more than half a dozen screws and the battery was flat The drill itself isn't very robust and is easily damaged if knocked or dropped
so without a working torch and batteries that were next to useless it went in the bin !
wouldn't recommend it even at that price. Go for a deWalt or Makita if you can. You won't regret it"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.