Product Reviews

UniBond Sealant Remover

UniBond Sealant Remover
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
16 of 22(73%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Review 1 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Expensive, but WOW!
22 Jul 2016
By
, Angus
" I had to reseal two showers. I tried No Nonsense stuff on the first one, with very poor results. Perhaps the tiny amount provided is just too little, except for small projects? For the second shower I used this Unibond cartridge. Wow! It didn't just loosen the old sealant, did dissolved it away! The longer you leave it on the better. "
Review 2 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Silicone remover
19 Jul 2016
By
, Leeds
" Bit overpriced in my opinion but did the job well. Bit on the messy side when removing but not really a problem, just have some wonder wipes to hand. First time I have used this and probably would again. Made the job easier especially where the silicone had been blathered on. "
Review 3 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked Well
14 Dec 2015
By
, London
" Removed a 10 year old shower unit which left a lot of very stubborn silicone in place. Removed as much as possible then used the Unibond and left for 3 hours... Cleared the tiles a treat. No stress or sweating just did the job. Highly recommended!! "
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best product remover
27 Feb 2015
By
, bury
" As an old lady pensioner trying to do a bit of DIY I was struggling to remove the mastic from the skirting board, I nearly bought some new skirting board as it was so difficult to remove the mastic but after buying the silicon remover it came off quite easily..... good buy !! "
34 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Product
28 Jan 2015
By
, Rotherham
" What an excellent product. Followed the instructions on the tube and it worked amazingly well. It succeed where other sealant removers had failed. A little bit overpriced, as most Unibond products are, but worth the extra money. "
16 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Silicone sealant remover
7 Nov 2014
By
, West Yorkshire
" Quite pricey but the most effective silicone remover that I have ever used, easy to control, effective, no mess. I will always use this in future. "
16 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How wrong was i
5 Nov 2014
By
, Birmingham
" I thought this product would be a waste of time how hard is it to remove silicon. My coleage made me buy this I even had a bet with him to say it would be a waste of time how wrong was I he removed all the silicon and made a far better job than I did in a fraction of the time. I not only lost face but I also lost money. Trust me follow the instructions and this product will save you a lot of hassle and money. "
30 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the label
21 Jun 2014
By
, South of France
" An excellent product, applied over Silicone it breaks it down and allows easy removal. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works!
6 Nov 2013
By
, London
" I was told not to waste my money on a sealant remover as they don't work but decided to buy this one anyway as previous reviews were good. It actually works, so glad I did! "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It actually works
13 Nov 2012
By
, Guildford
" Never used this kind of stuff relying on scrapping off the old mastic. But had a customer with a gold coloured shower enclosure that had been plastered in white mastic,
followed the instructions covering the old and left it for an extra hour to soften. And it worked a treat just wipe the old stuff off.
Tried it on another job but didn't let it soak for long enough.
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAKES REMOVAL A DODDLE
29 Oct 2012
By
, Cornwall
" I use this regularly to redo the sealant around baths and showers to maintain a spotless finish to the 15 bathrooms in our holiday accommodation. Apply the remover on top of the old sealant like you would the original sealant. No need to struggle removing old sealant first with a knife. Leave for 1hr and remove softened sealant with paper towel. If you can leave overnight it goes solid, even easier to remove. Clean with damp cloth and finally with white spirit.
I hope this product will come back into stock pronto.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
handy stuf
3 Apr 2011
By
, Aylesbury
" Little expensive but good thing. This removes the silicon of each brand. However, after removing the old silicone, I recommend to clean tiles and grout thoroughly from the residues of silicone remover, otherwise a new silicone does not catch on. "
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product
18 Mar 2015
By
, Widnes
" Does what it says it will with little effort... Used to remove old sealant from shower tray.. "
Review 14 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the Job
26 Oct 2014
By
, Northern Ireland
" It removed all the sealant I used it on but it does take a little longer than I expected.
It was difficult to get into a few tight corners so I used my finger which is not a wise move as it does cause dermatitis.
All in all I was very satisfied "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Leave Overnight
25 Oct 2014
By
, North Yorkshire
" Seemed to do the trick but the recommended 3 hours wasn't enough and the sealant I was removing wasn't too thick (approx 3mm). I left it overnight (12 hours) and the sealant came off easily the following morning. Would use again even though it is a little expensive. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well.
23 Jun 2014
By
, Bedfordshire
" First time using this type of product. Did all I asked of it. Followed the instructions to the letter. Applied product, waited 3 hours, job done. Cleaned off area where it had been with methylated spirit as per instructions, new sealant went on good as gold! "
Review 17 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Can get better for FAR cheaper
7 Oct 2014
By
, Huntingdon, Cambs
" To be honest, I had better results with the "No Nonsense" version and a scraper.... "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too slow
2 Feb 2013
By
, Banbury
" We refurbish bathrooms on rental properties which can be removing and replacing silicone - waiting 3 hours for it to work is just too long. May be a great product if you've got the time!! "
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless Product
17 Mar 2014
By
, Lowestoft
" I bought this silicone remover to remove the silicone from around a bath so that I could reseal it. I cut out as much as possible of the old silicone with a Stanley knife and gunned on the Remover as instructed. I proceeded to wait for over 3 hours. Thinking that as only a small amount of sealant was left on the bath it would now be a simple job to remove it and have a perfectly clean surface. When I removed the remover all the remaining silicone was still attached to the bath and tiles and I had to carefully scrape it all off with the Stanley knife. The remover had done absolutely nothing and was a complete waste of money. Don't buy it, it doesn't work!!! This is the first UNIBOND product I have ever had trouble with but it is useless.
P.S. It was definitely silicone I was trying to remove, I know, as I applied it five years ago. "
Review 20 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of time and money
12 Aug 2012
By
, Preston
" Having scraped off all but a thin film of the old sealant, I expected this expensive product to cope easily with the residue. How wrong was I... after two applications (which, following the instructions meant an aggregate waiting time of at least 6 hours) most of the residue remained. In the end I had to start over again, this time using a professional alternative (which incidentally was less expensive!).
As well as being ineffective, this product comes in an unhelpful nozzle applicator, no doubt because this is cheaper for Unibond given the nature of their product range. However, a brush-on liquid, or aerosol, product is far more suitable for removing old sealent which rarely presents itself in a neat line for a nozzle. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>