Product Reviews

UniBond Sealant Remover

UniBond Sealant Remover
Average Customer Rating:
3.182 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
6 of 11(55%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Review 1 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the label
21 Jun 2014
By
, South of France
"An excellent product, applied over Silicone it breaks it down and allows easy removal."
Review 2 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works!
6 Nov 2013
By
, London
"I was told not to waste my money on a sealant remover as they don't work but decided to buy this one anyway as previous reviews were good. It actually works, so glad I did!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It actually works
13 Nov 2012
By
, Guildford
"Never used this kind of stuff relying on scrapping off the old mastic. But had a customer with a gold coloured shower enclosure that had been plastered in white mastic,
followed the instructions covering the old and left it for an extra hour to soften. And it worked a treat just wipe the old stuff off.
Tried it on another job but didn't let it soak for long enough.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAKES REMOVAL A DODDLE
29 Oct 2012
By
, Cornwall
"I use this regularly to redo the sealant around baths and showers to maintain a spotless finish to the 15 bathrooms in our holiday accommodation. Apply the remover on top of the old sealant like you would the original sealant. No need to struggle removing old sealant first with a knife. Leave for 1hr and remove softened sealant with paper towel. If you can leave overnight it goes solid, even easier to remove. Clean with damp cloth and finally with white spirit.
I hope this product will come back into stock pronto.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
handy stuf
3 Apr 2011
By
, Aylesbury
"Little expensive but good thing. This removes the silicon of each brand. However, after removing the old silicone, I recommend to clean tiles and grout thoroughly from the residues of silicone remover, otherwise a new silicone does not catch on."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well.
23 Jun 2014
By
, Bedfordshire
"First time using this type of product. Did all I asked of it. Followed the instructions to the letter. Applied product, waited 3 hours, job done. Cleaned off area where it had been with methylated spirit as per instructions, new sealant went on good as gold!"
Review 7 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too slow
2 Feb 2013
By
, Banbury
"We refurbish bathrooms on rental properties which can be removing and replacing silicone - waiting 3 hours for it to work is just too long. May be a great product if you've got the time!!"
Review 8 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless Product
17 Mar 2014
By
, Lowestoft
"I bought this silicone remover to remove the silicone from around a bath so that I could reseal it. I cut out as much as possible of the old silicone with a Stanley knife and gunned on the Remover as instructed. I proceeded to wait for over 3 hours. Thinking that as only a small amount of sealant was left on the bath it would now be a simple job to remove it and have a perfectly clean surface. When I removed the remover all the remaining silicone was still attached to the bath and tiles and I had to carefully scrape it all off with the Stanley knife. The remover had done absolutely nothing and was a complete waste of money. Don't buy it, it doesn't work!!! This is the first UNIBOND product I have ever had trouble with but it is useless.
P.S. It was definitely silicone I was trying to remove, I know, as I applied it five years ago."
Review 9 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of time and money
12 Aug 2012
By
, Preston
"Having scraped off all but a thin film of the old sealant, I expected this expensive product to cope easily with the residue. How wrong was I... after two applications (which, following the instructions meant an aggregate waiting time of at least 6 hours) most of the residue remained. In the end I had to start over again, this time using a professional alternative (which incidentally was less expensive!).
As well as being ineffective, this product comes in an unhelpful nozzle applicator, no doubt because this is cheaper for Unibond given the nature of their product range. However, a brush-on liquid, or aerosol, product is far more suitable for removing old sealent which rarely presents itself in a neat line for a nozzle."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a patch on the old product
23 Mar 2012
By
, Oxfordshire
"Thoroughly disapointed! Having used a previous version of this product before, and been completely satisfied with how it worked, I am shocked that they are trying to sell this stuff. hardly removes even the thinist layers of remaining silicone! Stear well clear, but I am still trying to find another alternative."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Unibond Silicone Sealant Remover 300ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let down
30 Aug 2009
By
, Leeds
"This new product is very poor, having used silcon remover in the past from screwfix. I got most of the silicon with a knife and only had a thin film to remove, the previous make would have done this no problem, but this product did not disolve the silicon as stated.
And yes I did follow the instructions on the product. Please get the old product back that worked very effectively, give this a very wide birth as you will be doing a lot of scrapping even after using it!"
55 of 55 people found this review helpful.