Product Reviews

50mm All Weather Combi Padlock

50mm All Weather Combi Padlock
Average Customer Rating:
3.647 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
14 of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Review 1 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Squire 50mm All Weather
25 Jan 2015
By SuperDexta
, North Yorkshire
" Needed two locks for road side gates, already have one that has been in use for a few years now, and stood the test of time "
Review 2 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lock for the Job
20 Dec 2014
By Boots16
, Worthing
" Idea padlock for our needs strong and handy size. very good value. "
Review 3 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality combination lock
2 Oct 2013
By Matster
, Shropshire
" I was after a padlock to put on a rear garden gate and realised that a combination lock would mean that we can get in and out without the worries of having a key.
Very easy to set up with clear instructions and a little tool, took all of 2 minutes to set a unique code. The lock feels nice and sturdy and has a good finish to it. Good feature is that you have to press a button on the base to 'pop' the lock which means that it gives no indication of being in the correct position to any strangers unless they press it.
The more compact and protected versions might be more secure for higher valuables but this lock was ideal for its purpose. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to use or change code
17 Jan 2013
By Grazuncle
, Birmiingham
" I looked at other reviews before buying this. I looks good and performs well. Has a quality feel too.
We had a problem with the last brass key operated padlock and the thought of having 12 keys cut again for a new one put me off another key padlock.
You set the combination you want when the lock is open and you have to use the little pin lever (supplied) to select the digits you want. you can't do this easily without as the numbered wheels become quite stiff to turn..
Tip; remember to advise users with the code to spin the wheels when they snap the lock shut. I know it's 'obvious' but we have had two occasions where the lock code was left in place and all you had to do was push the button at the base of the lock to open it... !
I'd buy again. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Combination Padlock
12 Aug 2011
By Decker
, Canterbury
" Good robust keyless padlock. Combination select well "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only locks worth using
14 Jan 2015
By Dumpy01
, hampshire
" I use these locks to secure outside access at 3 schools and have found them to be the only locks that endure the weather and usage without the constant need for WD40 "
Review 7 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value combination padlock
5 Jan 2015
By Anonymous
, North Yorkshire
" It's a robust and neat four digit combination padlock perfect for mid range security. I like the fact that it is easy to reset the number and particularly like the clarity of the numbers and the ease of turning the drums to select the code number. Poor legibility and difficult to turn drums have been a big problem with other combination padlocks I have used. Can't really comment on reliability/durability until it has been in use for a few years; hence my score of 3 for reliability.
A combination padlock is ideal for situations where a number of people or frequently changing people need access as it avoids the cost and inconvenience of key copying and sharing. I'm using it for a communal apiary.
"
Review 8 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works
6 Sep 2013
By RTee
, Manchester
" Squire 50mm All Weather Combination Padlock 26mm Shackl It works and does the job for a reasonable cost. What more can I say! "
Review 9 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good easy -to-use lock
10 May 2013
By TT1RR0M
, Darlington
" Good exterior lock with easy to read numbers and easy to adjust "
Review 10 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliable Combination Padlock
31 Aug 2012
By RobinRHDR
, New Romney
" We will only use these padlocks because they have proven track record with us using them for many years outdoors. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid Combination Padlock
2 Aug 2011
By Mtby
, Reading
" This padlock looks and feels very well made. Resetting the code was easy.
It seemed a bit pricey but having used it it is worth the cost.
"
Review 12 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I hope the design is better
18 Mar 2010
By beergardener
, harlow
" I have purchased several of the previous version of this lock and they all suffered from the weather! Bearing in mind it is a weatherproof lock it would become very stiff after a short time and in the wet virtually impossible to unlock as all the tumblers would rotate at the same time. It needed regular spraying with wd40.
The new lock not only looks different but the setting up is different as well.It feels much smoother when rotating the wheels and this one goes from from 0-9 (the previous version was 0-8!) I feel a little guilty in only rating performance and reliability at 3* but this was based on the previous version. I will do another review if it performs better.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK lock for a while
5 Jan 2015
By peteWestSussex
, west sussex
" Us this to lock a gate in everyday use by many hence needing a combination. This is probably the fifth one over about 4 years. They are ok for a while then seize up. I just cant fins a reliable one. "
Review 14 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Combination Lock
2 May 2012
By Anonymous
, Devon
" I had the same issues as Beergarden with my locks seizing or breaking internally. However I must point out that on contacting Squire locks they have agreed to replace all 10 locks I purchased as they are covered by a 10 year guarantee. They will even refund the postage on the old locks I have to return to them. Seems very fair to me. "
Review 15 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dissappointing
9 Jan 2014
By Paul2806
, Doncaster
" First attempt to set the code and the tool provided broke! The round trip to get another one effectively doubles the price. "
Review 16 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't but this padlock !
30 Dec 2013
By StumpyJunper
, Midhurst
" I purchased 3 of these padlock for use on my garden sheds. All 3 have now seized and am unable to bring them back to life with WD 40. The words 'All Weather' in the description needs looking at by Trading Standards! "
Review 17 for Squire Steel All Weather Combination Padlock Black 48mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does NOT do what it says tin!
2 Dec 2012
By TuftyG
, Reading
" I bought 5 of these for 2 outdoor gates, used on average about once a week. All have now failed, the tumbler becoming stiff and eventually the lock button on the bottom not springing back making them unusable. They are not in severely exposed or harsh environments just average outdoor conditions.
They are the new style with 9 digits and refund or not, these are not cheap locks and I expected them to last (with lubrication). All have now failed in less than a year (all 5 within 18 months total - pitiful) "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.