Product Reviews

Makita 115mm Grinder 240V

Makita 115mm Grinder 240V
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Review 1 for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best 115mm grinder
29 May 2015
By lloydy09
, south wales
" great tool , the best 115 mm grinder on the market
great value for money!
"
Review 2 for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best smallest grinder
24 Mar 2015
By Tikservice
, Bradford
" I always use Makita grinding power tools. Very good quality and reasonable price. "
Review 3 for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good little machine
27 Jan 2015
By Welshie85
, Newmarket
" I'm surprised to get a makita at this sort of price so had to get one as my last one died. Does everything so far my old one does couldn't be happier nice size too..... "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A nice powerful little tool
15 Jan 2015
By Ditsey
, Ayrshire
" After reading some of the reviews on this item I had to visit a local screwfix store and check the item out. The tool fits nicely in the hand, being quite slimline, although perhaps slightly heavier than others it balances well. Yes the trigger switch action is a little awkward to use intially, but it will loosen a little with use, and I believe is part of makita's safety system that hasn't changed for many years. This is a pro tool used by pro's and made by one of the best power tool manufacturers in the world, who's name spells out quality. Nicely priced as well, and should last many years of heavy use! "
Review 5 for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Grinder
6 Nov 2014
By LesB
, North of Glasgow
" Do not understand complaints in other reviews about the switch- perhaps Makita has changed or improved the design. I have no reason to complain about mine -works well with a positive feel.This is a replacement for a cheap grinder than only lasted 3 months before spindle lock failed. The quality of manufacture and materials shows on the Makita and I expect this to last as well as their other products. I have a Makita drill driver that has survived 4 years of heavy use and is still performing very well. "
Review 6 for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super grinder, minor flaw
10 Apr 2015
By Teacake
, Isle of Skye
" Bought this when doing some work on a relatives house and didn't have my own grinder with me. Went for Makita over cheaper makes as I've always found their tools good and reliable. This grinder is light and very slim bodied but it's performance is excellent. Switch is a bit odd until you get the hang of it - a sort of push and tip action to get it to lock on. The only minor irritation is the shield around the disc - it doesn't have the flexibility in it's positions that I'd like. Maybe it's because I'm a left hander but I couldn't always get it where I wanted it when using the machine in tight spots. That said it's a great value for money, decent quality machine. "
Review 7 for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little grinder
26 Mar 2015
By frankthetank
, portsmouth
" I've purchased the Makita grinder after my previous, other brand, burnt out. Makita has always been my preference for power tools as they are affordable and reliable. I expect this to last a lot longer than the one that has recently given up.
Great grinder.
Great value.
"
Review 8 for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good grinder for the price
25 Jul 2014
By bedfordband
, Ontinyen Spain
" I bought this to replace my bosch 115 grinder.
Whilst I agree that the on/off switch can be a little difficult once you get used to it, it's ok and does have lock on the switch, so if you have a lot of cutting (metal/tiles) it's fine. I bought this one in Spain at a cheaper price than in England.
Yes I would recommend this grinder.
Now looking at Makita Cordless drills as my previous Makita the batteries are starting to loose the charge after 20 years of daily constant use.
"
Review 9 for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
grinds well.
20 Nov 2014
By manoffewwords
, sussex
" as a grinder its great, its just the switch, you have no hope if you wear gloves or cold hands, others wise its great. "
Review 10 for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother
24 Mar 2015
By ciderslurper
, Weymouth
" Bought this grinder just over a year ago after my (10yr old) milwaukee packed up. Now I need a new one after this one did the same today. Apart from the length of cable, everything else on this tool WAS poor. Especially the on/off switch. Don't bother buying it. "
Review 11 for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dodgy switch
10 Jul 2014
By Duckham
, UK
" Wish I'd read the earlier review before buying!
My grinder went back the first time I used it as the switch was so stiff.
Screwfix replaced it no problem as it was inside 30 days.
The switch on the new one was fine but quickly got to be just as bad.
This time it's going back to Makita for repair - it's outside the 30 days so they won't swap it for a different model unfortunately, which is my recommendation !
"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Makita GA4530/2 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolute Rubbish On/Off Switch
9 Feb 2014
By BOB69
, Lincs
" I'm a big fan of the Makita brand owning 6 other Makita power tools, but this grinder was the biggest let down ever. Although it feels nice in the hand, has a good quality mains cable, comes with a metal grinding blade and was not a bad price, the extremely poor on/off switch means I will be returning this to Screwfix Monday morning for a full refund.
The switch is so bad that after 30 seconds of use I put this grinder back in its box and used my clapped out Bosch that I've had for 10 years!
Wish I'd read the reviews for the othe Makita grinders before buying this
"
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.