Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Suitable for draining nuisance water, powering garden water features and general duties. Submersible corrosion-proof body. Supplied with a fitted RCD for added safety. Float switch turns the pump on and off with changes in the water level. Not suitable for continuous use in fish ponds or water features.

Suitable for draining nuisance water, powering garden water features and general duties. Submersible corrosion-proof body. Supplied with a fitted RCD for added safety. Float switch turns the pump on and off with changes in the water level. Not suitable for continuous use in fish ponds or water features.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 400W Automatic Clean Water Pump
Review 1 for 400W Automatic Clean Water Pump
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Buy
13 Mar 2011
By Barch
, Lincolnshire
" I use a number of these pumps around our site. They are a 'fit and forget' pump, which is a good thing for me as once fitted they are out of sight (and out of mind).
Unfortunately I have not recorded just how long some of our pumps have been in operation but we are talking years! Three new pumps have been recently installed I don't expect to be replacing them anytime soon.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 400W Automatic Clean Water Pump
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent
27 Aug 2009
By chiki
, West midlands
" installed pump in a well and using it for filling a tank supplying domestic water in a rural house- has been running for a year now no prob at all. excellent value for money "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 400W Automatic Clean Water Pump
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clean Automatic Water Pump 400
22 Aug 2009
By tony4360
, essex
" well worth the money great little tool you only get what you pay for and little gem is brill "
Review 4 for 400W Automatic Clean Water Pump
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ruddy good pump
6 Mar 2008
By wizzer
, Derby
" 1st class pump, quiet, efficient and pumps 8metres vertically no problem!! "
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 400W Automatic Clean Water Pump
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value pump
23 Jul 2013
By umborne
, Devon
" I bought this pump to divert the flow in a ditch while I did remedial work downstream of the abstraction point. It did its job superbly well at much less than the cost of hiring one. The water in the ditch runs clean so I felt safe using this clean water pump instead of the similar dirty water one. There are two aspects which stop me giving 5 stars throughout. First, despite what the description and the Users Manual says, the serrated hose connections are for 1" and 1.5" hose. The 1.25" connection is a screw thread for an adapter (not supplied) to enable smaller diameter hoses to be used. As Screwfix do not stock 1.25" hose I had to use their 1" hose. However, this proved more than adequate, Second, it switches on automatically only when the water depth reaches around 400 to 500mm. This was too deep for my ditch, but by contriving a lower "pivot point" with a bit of a lash up, I managed to get it to operate at about 300mm which was just enough. It then pumps down to around 70mm. It ran trouble-free in automatic mode for 4 days while I completed the repairs to the ditch. "
Review 6 for 400W Automatic Clean Water Pump
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A powerful pump
12 Jun 2013
By HairyAnimal
, Gloucestershire
" Not used in anger yet so unable to rate the pump's reliability, but it certainly can shift a lot of water in a very short time. Despite the title describing it as a "clean water" pump, the specs state that it can cope with solids up to 5mm, so muddy, or even sandy water shouldn't be a problem to it. Pumping out a pond would probably not be a good idea though, and better suited to a dirty water" pump. I compared many pumps' specs/prices and this one seems to be good value. "
Review 7 for 400W Automatic Clean Water Pump
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It does the job
20 Jan 2013
By RobsJobs
, Bedfordshire
" Bought this pump to stop my cellar flooding following very wet weather..
It is capable of taking 1" or 1 1/4" pipe but loses points on the options for connecting the 1" pipe - the adapter has a male screw-thread but no collar to screw to it. In other words, with a collar and crush-seal, you should be able to attach a hose in much the same way as you would connect garden hose to hozelock fittings. I had to buy an additional jubilee clip to connect the pipe.
The pump performs well for its size but I question the method of adjusting and retaining the float-switch wire - it is literally forced into a cleat on the side of the pump handle. This is something you really need to watch because if it the wire pops out of the cleat, the water level will be much higher before the pump finally kicks in!! Also, the float-switch wire is very stiff: adjust it too short and the float will not rise to a steep enough angle to activate the switch. During cold weather, the water is that much colder and the wire that much stiffer. This resulted in an inoperative and completely submerged switch - while the cellar started to flood!! Fortunately I spotted this before too much damage was done. Finally, the pump loses an extra point on reliability because it his a built-in critical point of failure - it is fitted with an automatic RCD. Seems like a good safety point as the pump is submerged in water but, there are plenty of other electrical applications that are connected to water (power shower, central heating pump, etc) that are safe to use without one. So, picture this - it is a stormy night, you are away from home but happy that your pump is going to protect your cellar from the rising groundwater. Then there is a power fluctuation and the RCD trips off. The only way to reset it is to press the button - but you are not home!! I replaced the RCD with a fused plug. Is it safe to remove the RCD? Well, it is still protected by the house consumer unit and I would always recommend that you switch it off before touching it.
"
Review 8 for 400W Automatic Clean Water Pump
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
quite a sucker
5 Oct 2011
By Thepoet
, Immingham
" did a first class job of emptying my swimming pool "
Review 9 for 400W Automatic Clean Water Pump
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clean water pump
14 Mar 2011
By Kingofthevalleys
, Northwich
" Good machine which emptied my jacuzzi in less than 5 minutes, instead of the 4 hours it used to take using the hosepipe drain system. "
Review 10 for 400W Automatic Clean Water Pump
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very powerful pump
28 Jun 2010
By Grayzee
, Wirral
" I'm using this pump in a fish pond, I replaced a dirty water pump the same make for one of these. The dirty water pump had larger inlets and the risk of "chewing up" the fish was high. This pump like the dirty water pump has a float switch which de activates the pump in the event of the water being too low. The inlets have guards around them to stop larger stones etc going through the pump. the outlet fit's a standard 2" connector and the power is excellant it will empty a bucket in less than 5 seconds. Price is a little high hence 3 stars for that. Also 4 stars for reliability on the basis that the dirty water pump of the same make broke down after 13 months. Mind you it was running for the entire 13 months!. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 400W Automatic Clean Water Pump
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked well at first
1 Aug 2013
By Claire20
, Cheshire
" Worked well the first couple of times we used it and we were pleased with it, but then tripped out the electrics in the whole house and now does this every time we have tried to use it. "