Product Reviews

Wall Repair Tape 50mm x 25m

Wall Repair Tape 50mm x 25m
Average Customer Rating:
2.125 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
2 of 8(25%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Review 1 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
an important tape to carry
1 Dec 2014
By Laki
, london
" As a surface joint repair this works well. Its okay for p'boards that are surface filled and painted. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wall/Ceiling repair tape
5 Nov 2013
By Flanders
, Merthyr Tydfil
" I have used this tape to repair cracks in walls and ceilings.After placing the tape over over the crack I apply several coats of dry lining cement/compound and rub down when dry.lovely fine finish to paint over.Many of my friends are now using this method to repair those plaster cracks that use to keep opening up after painting but not any more. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
quick solution
16 Jun 2014
By kapi
, Newcastle upon Tyne
" If you want to calm your concience with a quick solution...
I didn't have time to fix old plasterboard ceiling properly so I covered cracks with this tape before wallpapering it.
A month now, nothing bad happened.
In my opinion this tape is useful only in this kind of situations.
"
Review 4 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wall Repair Tape White
20 Feb 2012
By Fixer1
, Bristol
" The problem is that when this thin tape is applied to a ceiling crack as I used it for on a flat ceiling, the straight edges of the tape stand proud of the surface and stand out like a sore thumb. I built up many paint layers both sides of the tape but it still stands out like a large sticking plaster on my ceiling. I can now not peel it off as it will rip all the paint back to the plaster. I AM NOT HAPPY WITH THIS PRODUCT!!!!! May work better on a contured surface - but beware! I took it back!!! "
4 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would be good but .....
29 Mar 2015
By Lecciman
, Cambridge
" On the one reel I've used of this tape, it proved to be almost impossible to separate the tape from its backing, making it almost useless. Not only was it difficult to start separating the tape from its backing, but also the backing tended to tear as it was pulled off, leaving part of it irremovably attached to the tape.
The few very short lengths I did manage to use worked very well and I would have scored the product well if I'd actually been able to use it.
For the first time ever for a Screwfix product, I feel this one is a total waste of money, and wish I'd never bought it. "
Review 6 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointing Product
10 Feb 2015
By AV8R
, Bristol
" This is a very disappointing product. I note that other reviews refer to it being used before plastering. For that purpose, a better product would be plasterboard joint tape which is specifically design for that role.
The purpose of this tape is perhaps unclear. It is described as “Ultra-thin self-adhesive fabric. Ideal for repairing cracks in ceilings and walls. Can be painted over.” This would seem to imply that it can be used on a ceiling/wall which is already plastered. As one review has pointed out, simply painting over this tape will not cause it to become concealed. From my experience, three coats of emulsion have failed in this respect.
Cracked ceilings are a problem, this tape is unlikely to be the solution. "
Review 7 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
awful
24 Jan 2014
By silmaj
, cornwall
" difficult to write this without swearing.
do not use this unless you wish to put yourself in a bad mood.awkward to use,poor results and expensive.AVOID.
"
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
must have been old stock
9 Jun 2013
By Trickcyclist
, Weston super Mare
" I have used this tape before and it was brilliant but this time it was not fit for purpose,
To use it the edges need to be trimmed, otherwise the backing tape sticks at the edges, that then defeats the purpose of the tape because the edges don't stick.
I would avoid buying this product unless you ask how long it has been in stock.
"