Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Wall Repair Tape 50mm x 25m

Wall Repair Tape 50mm x 25m
Average Customer Rating:
2.308 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
4 of 13(31%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Review 1 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wall repair tape on ceilings
3 Sep 2015
By
, Woodley, Reading
" A number of hairline cracks came back on a freshly painted ceiling. I thought id give this repair tape a go even though it says for walls. I first parged in some pva into the cracks with a filling knife and wiped away excess. left to dry. Stuck this tape on and filled over with gyproc easifil. Next morning flatted off with a fine paper on sanding pad and then brushed over with slightly thinned white emulsion. Gave the ceiling one more roller coat after everything had dried off and voila...cant see it at all...ceiling looks perfect and clients happy - no hairline cracks. The tape is a little tricky to get off the backing paper but with a sharp snap off blade you can pick the fibre tape off the backing paper with the sharp point of the blade. It stuck very well to the dried off pva sealer, smoothed down well and filled over very easily as its so thin. A great get out of jail repair tape. Will be keeping some of this in the van for other jobs and applications. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well for my purposes
30 May 2015
By
, Brighton
" I actually use this tape for bookmaking. I use it to strengthen the hinges of my books so that they wear well and don't split. It works perfectly for that.
I haven't tried it for the purpose it was intended for which is cracks in plaster, so I can't comment.
"
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
an important tape to carry
1 Dec 2014
By
, london
" As a surface joint repair this works well. Its okay for p'boards that are surface filled and painted. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wall/Ceiling repair tape
5 Nov 2013
By
, Merthyr Tydfil
" I have used this tape to repair cracks in walls and ceilings.After placing the tape over over the crack I apply several coats of dry lining cement/compound and rub down when dry.lovely fine finish to paint over.Many of my friends are now using this method to repair those plaster cracks that use to keep opening up after painting but not any more. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
quick solution
16 Jun 2014
By
, Newcastle upon Tyne
" If you want to calm your concience with a quick solution...
I didn't have time to fix old plasterboard ceiling properly so I covered cracks with this tape before wallpapering it.
A month now, nothing bad happened.
In my opinion this tape is useful only in this kind of situations.
"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
O.K, but prepare for more work
24 Aug 2015
By
, Walton on Thames
" It covers cracks fine I guess, but it's made of a felt like substance that pulls very easily and stretches easier still. This makes it quite difficult to adhere it successfully to ceilings (as your working above your head) but ok for walls - just be patient and don't over stretch it or you'll end up with unwanted air bubbles and ridges. Once applied it's best to roller it into place to ensure a tight adhesion.
Once it's applied it's very visually obvious and sticks out like a sore thumb even though it's thin. Paint alone won't cover it properly (and the tape also disintegrates a little when wet paint is rolled over it) so you're best bet is to build up a thin layer of filler over the tape which you'll then need to sand to blend it all in.
It's a lot of work to achieve a perfect finish. Only use it if you absolutely have to. I can't recommend it as it has so many flaws, but I also couldn't find a better alternative that was readily available. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Advise 2 people to apply
21 Jun 2015
By
, high wycombe
" Used it to cover the joints on thin ply that was screwed to inside of a portacabin wall. Difficult to part from backing, and will stick to itself where it possibly can. You have to get the ends neat and all along the run with no wrinkles. it shows after painting and where wrinkled it looks a really botched job! Not the answer I thought it would be, for this job. "
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wall Repair Tape White
20 Feb 2012
By
, Bristol
" The problem is that when this thin tape is applied to a ceiling crack as I used it for on a flat ceiling, the straight edges of the tape stand proud of the surface and stand out like a sore thumb. I built up many paint layers both sides of the tape but it still stands out like a large sticking plaster on my ceiling. I can now not peel it off as it will rip all the paint back to the plaster. I AM NOT HAPPY WITH THIS PRODUCT!!!!! May work better on a contured surface - but beware! I took it back!!! "
4 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wall repair tape white
26 Sep 2015
By
, bishop auckland
" read about product on screwfix and decided to try it , very disappointed the self adhesive fabric would not separate from the protective layer for more than 150mm, after which the paper from the protective layer separated and stuck to the fabric making it unusable.
returned the roll to screwfix who were excellent
"
Review 10 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would be good but .....
29 Mar 2015
By
, Cambridge
" On the one reel I've used of this tape, it proved to be almost impossible to separate the tape from its backing, making it almost useless. Not only was it difficult to start separating the tape from its backing, but also the backing tended to tear as it was pulled off, leaving part of it irremovably attached to the tape.
The few very short lengths I did manage to use worked very well and I would have scored the product well if I'd actually been able to use it.
For the first time ever for a Screwfix product, I feel this one is a total waste of money, and wish I'd never bought it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointing Product
10 Feb 2015
By
, Bristol
" This is a very disappointing product. I note that other reviews refer to it being used before plastering. For that purpose, a better product would be plasterboard joint tape which is specifically design for that role.
The purpose of this tape is perhaps unclear. It is described as “Ultra-thin self-adhesive fabric. Ideal for repairing cracks in ceilings and walls. Can be painted over.” This would seem to imply that it can be used on a ceiling/wall which is already plastered. As one review has pointed out, simply painting over this tape will not cause it to become concealed. From my experience, three coats of emulsion have failed in this respect.
Cracked ceilings are a problem, this tape is unlikely to be the solution. "
Review 12 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
awful
24 Jan 2014
By
, cornwall
" difficult to write this without swearing.
do not use this unless you wish to put yourself in a bad mood.awkward to use,poor results and expensive.AVOID.
"
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wall Repair Tape White 50mm x 25m
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
must have been old stock
9 Jun 2013
By
, Weston super Mare
" I have used this tape before and it was brilliant but this time it was not fit for purpose,
To use it the edges need to be trimmed, otherwise the backing tape sticks at the edges, that then defeats the purpose of the tape because the edges don't stick.
I would avoid buying this product unless you ask how long it has been in stock.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.