Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

1.6-2.9m. Extremely versatile supports with fine adjustment and twist and lock facility. Swivel base brackets with rubber pads on both ends for stability when working. Clockwise and anti-clockwise threads on feet allow fine pressure adjustment. Holes in swivel feet allow the surface area to be increased by attaching a larger piece of wood.

1.6-2.9m. Extremely versatile supports with fine adjustment and twist and lock facility. Swivel base brackets with rubber pads on both ends for stability when working. Clockwise and anti-clockwise threads on feet allow fine pressure adjustment. Holes in swivel feet allow the surface area to be increased by attaching a larger piece of wood.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Review 1 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Support Rods
16 Jul 2014
By PottingGuy
, Retford
"I needed to support a lightweight timber roof whilst constructing a potting shed and thought a heavy duty prop or similar would be needed.
I searched Screwfix and found these supports. After reading the reviews (mostly by dryliners) I thought they would be the solution.
They certainly were! Lightweight but perfectly robust enough for the job.
The holes in the upper and lower pads were perfect to fit wider timber plates to spread the load and made the supports even more stable whilst the roof panels were put in position.
For jobs not requiring the use of a heavy duty prop these are spot on. Highly recommended!
"
Review 2 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a hand
3 Jul 2014
By AJGosport
, Gosport
"Had a delivery of 30 sheets of plasterboard and a ceiling to put up 3 metres high these props couldn't have been more useful the twist for fine adjustment is great to, this is a great product and as always wish we had purchased them sooner."
Review 3 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
plasterboard props
6 Jun 2014
By inchworm
, sarf coast
"Really good quality product, nicely made lightweight supports - a kind of light duty acro. good for re-tensioning suspended ceilings too."
Review 4 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing piece of kit
6 Apr 2014
By AdeptPropertyMaintenance
, Hitchin
"I'm always wary of the 'Forge Steel' product range (sorry) but after reading the reviews for this product I thought I'd give them a go.
I had to put up 27 sheets of class 0 (fireproof) plasterboard which is a lot heavier than the regular plasterboard. I cannot recommend these supports highly enough, the quality of these supports is amazing, so easy to use and especially one handed. I'm considering getting enough set they are that good.
Well done Screwfix :)"
Review 5 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just great
13 Dec 2013
By Welshrestorer
, Surrey
"I now have 6 of these, they are very useful. As well as their "advertised use" for supporting plasterboard I've used them as "clamps" for holding skirting/ kitchen upstands etc... in place and with suitable covering, created isolated work areas to keep dust contained while I work.
They are very useful and sturdier than others I've come across . Bought my original 4 about 5 years ago and they're as good now as when I bought them (and they've had a lot of use). Bought another 2 about 2 -3 weeks ago and I think they're just great."
Review 6 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good quality
17 Sep 2013
By Stevie1977
, Suffolk
"I've been a carpenter for 15 yrs and these are fantastic bits of kit. They don't feel flimsy and cheap and for £20 each ???? I don't know how they produce them for the money. A must have for every site worker and general diyer"
Review 7 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy supports
14 May 2013
By yoxfordboy
, London
"I bought these to supplement my existing props when putting up long lengths of plaster coving and ceiling plasterboard. The old props rely on a friction grip to lock the height. This can sometimes slip as you are twisting the prop to do the final tightening. These props are much better since they have a positive ratchet mechanism to get close to the desired height which can not slip when you are twisting the prop to get the final required height. They also feel much more robust."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than others
2 Jan 2013
By displaze
, Bucks
"I bought a similar product from another supplier and returned them within a day as the plastic failed in several areas in nomral operation. These although more expensive are far stronger and better made. Well worth the extra money and appear very reliabible."
Review 9 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
18 Nov 2012
By Ford
, Reading
"Enables me to put up plasterboard ceilings by myself. I've put up three ceilings in my house now using these and they really are excellent. You can loosen them slightly to move the board accurately into place and then they hold the board tightly while you drive the screws in. I put a length of timber between the props and the board to spread the load (I didn't bother securing the timber to the props)"
Review 10 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spot on!!!!!!!!!!!!
17 Aug 2012
By Ratboy
, Sheffield
"Started trying to board out the ceiling of a victorian terrace loft - warped rafters, inaccurately set out timber framing, walls running out of square - an absolute nightmare! Bought these out of desperation, having failed with two of us to get the boards accurately cut (each one had to be offered up and marked as everything was that far out) and fixed at any rate. All I can say is I wish I had had them when I started the project as they would have saved so much time and effort. As for the product, I was sceptical about buying FS as most of their stuff is DIY grade, but I was really impressed with the quality of construction and ease of use. They can be flicked out to about the right size and then fine adjusted with the screw thread with one hand. The locking mechanism and all components seem to be very well made and I would have no hesitation buying this product or recommending it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not just any pole
1 May 2012
By Haagendazs
, kent
"very good pole i used to support a garage roof while cutting a window into the side wall which was supporting the roof beam. very good and better than the photos show."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An extra pair of hands
16 Apr 2012
By Cavetto
, Cambridge
"Essential equipment when boarding ceilings, far better quality than the other type of support rod that SF sell."
Review 13 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
plasterer
27 Feb 2012
By matt09
, Notts
"these two are your best friends when boarding ceilings, no more balancing the board on your head whilst trying to hold a screw and the driver.
only problem ive found is that the metal clasp that interlocks with the prop doesnt last forever. i have had my pair for about a 2 years and the first one went a few months ago and the second has just snapped off today.
despite that i reckon il buy some more as they are easier and quicker to use than the other type on here.
"
Review 14 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Props away...
2 Mar 2011
By Fobyac
, Reigate
"I bought these on the strength of the previous reviews and agree 100%. Well made and brilliant for holding things up whilst you fix them. When I think back to all the things I've struggled with over the years....
4 stars for performance only because it can be a little fiddly to set the ratchet and tighten them up to hold your piece in place - but I'd still recommend them 110%
"
Review 15 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Top quality!
17 Oct 2010
By Nuts
, london
"A seriously well made piece of kit which a photograph alone does not do justice. Highly recommended for supporting plasterboard etc."
Review 16 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Support in amazing dimensions
1 Oct 2010
By Tiggered
, Reading
"These have to be one of the most versatile, and underrated tools you can buy.
The build quality is good and there are two of them which is about the number you'd need for most things.
Every urban household should have a pair of them alongside other essentials like a mig welder and air compressor.
In extreme cirumstances they could even be pressed into service as ad hoc Kettukari for personal protection.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Useful product
6 Jan 2010
By Shouldbefishing
, Essex
"You get a pair of these which is adequete for holding up a sheet of plaster board while you get ready to screw it in position.
Not the sort of thing I use every day but handy to have in the van for when I do.
A nice touch is the fact that the swivel feet are mounted on threads that are clockwise one end and anticlock wise the other. This means that by rotating the prop you can increase or decrease the pressure to a very fine degree.
For greater movement the ratchet is easy to use.
The swivel feet also have holes in allowing you to screw a larger piece of wood to them if you wanted to increase the surface area.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jaguar
16 Mar 2009
By jaguar
, Hertfordshire
"A very good appliance to have at home it has 101 different applications one of my better buys I have reccomended it to friends"
Review 19 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Forge Steel Extension Support
7 Jan 2013
By Mondeo
, Norfolk
"Not yet used these but will use during a house extension. By the looks of them they have been well manufactured and will do just the job they were bought for."
Review 20 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Props
8 Sep 2011
By J4601
, Lincoln
"Very good giving you an extra set of hands.................................................."
Page : 1 2 next>