Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Extension Support Rod 2Pk

Extension Support Rod 2Pk
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 of 30(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Review 1 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like a second pair of hands
27 Mar 2015
By kopkev
, north wa;es
" ideal for work to ceilings, holding up boards (only used on my own for small boards at moment)
easy to use, although would have expected some instructions in box, but quickly worked out how to use
"
Review 2 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must for any builder
15 Mar 2015
By GNewton
, West Sussex
" Very happy with these they are of very high quality and easy to use and very well priced "
Review 3 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top props
2 Feb 2015
By 69bodger
, dorset
" I've had the pump up one's before ok for a bit then they start slipping, but these blow them away they're good quality and work as mini acros thumbs up from me "
Review 4 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plaster board Props
26 Nov 2014
By Replacia
, Oxford
" These props are the bee's knees. Quality in design. Cant fault them, real value for money. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
forge steel props
18 Nov 2014
By inquisitor888
, exeter
" recently purchased some forge steel props mainly for boarding ceilings.
couldnt believe the strengnth of these props.
they are so much better to use & a lot stronger than my old pump action type.
i would be lost without them now
"
Review 6 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tool
6 Nov 2014
By cesltd
, Carshalton
" To put it simply, these props are absolutely essential if you want to plasterboard ceilings safely on your own.
I was pleasantly surprised with the robust build quality at this price. They are very easy to use, and have an excellent feature of having screw holes at both ends so you can secure them to the floor when boarding a pitched ceiling, and you can put wooden battens at the top to secure large boards. Just a shame I don't have more ceilings to board! "
Review 7 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superp props
11 Oct 2014
By a1plastering
, southampton
" I purchased these plasterboard props after having broken about 10 pairs of the mastic gun type pump up props over as many years .
Normally I steer clear of the forge steel brand as it seems a bit DIYer but these props have proved me wrong, they are rock solid and I use them daily for very heavy trade plasterboarding work with some really heavy boards .I feel totally confident working under propped boards and would highly recommend anybody to spend the exra few quid on these rather than the cheaper " mastic gun type"
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Support Rods
16 Jul 2014
By PottingGuy
, Retford
" I needed to support a lightweight timber roof whilst constructing a potting shed and thought a heavy duty prop or similar would be needed.
I searched Screwfix and found these supports. After reading the reviews (mostly by dryliners) I thought they would be the solution.
They certainly were! Lightweight but perfectly robust enough for the job.
The holes in the upper and lower pads were perfect to fit wider timber plates to spread the load and made the supports even more stable whilst the roof panels were put in position.
For jobs not requiring the use of a heavy duty prop these are spot on. Highly recommended!
"
Review 9 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a hand
3 Jul 2014
By AJGosport
, Gosport
" Had a delivery of 30 sheets of plasterboard and a ceiling to put up 3 metres high these props couldn't have been more useful the twist for fine adjustment is great to, this is a great product and as always wish we had purchased them sooner. "
Review 10 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
plasterboard props
6 Jun 2014
By inchworm
, sarf coast
" Really good quality product, nicely made lightweight supports - a kind of light duty acro. good for re-tensioning suspended ceilings too. "
Review 11 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing piece of kit
6 Apr 2014
By AdeptPropertyMaintenance
, Hitchin
" I'm always wary of the 'Forge Steel' product range (sorry) but after reading the reviews for this product I thought I'd give them a go.
I had to put up 27 sheets of class 0 (fireproof) plasterboard which is a lot heavier than the regular plasterboard. I cannot recommend these supports highly enough, the quality of these supports is amazing, so easy to use and especially one handed. I'm considering getting enough set they are that good.
Well done Screwfix :) "
Review 12 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just great
13 Dec 2013
By Welshrestorer
, Surrey
" I now have 6 of these, they are very useful. As well as their "advertised use" for supporting plasterboard I've used them as "clamps" for holding skirting/ kitchen upstands etc... in place and with suitable covering, created isolated work areas to keep dust contained while I work.
They are very useful and sturdier than others I've come across . Bought my original 4 about 5 years ago and they're as good now as when I bought them (and they've had a lot of use). Bought another 2 about 2 -3 weeks ago and I think they're just great. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good quality
17 Sep 2013
By Stevie1977
, Suffolk
" I've been a carpenter for 15 yrs and these are fantastic bits of kit. They don't feel flimsy and cheap and for £20 each ???? I don't know how they produce them for the money. A must have for every site worker and general diyer "
Review 14 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy supports
14 May 2013
By yoxfordboy
, London
" I bought these to supplement my existing props when putting up long lengths of plaster coving and ceiling plasterboard. The old props rely on a friction grip to lock the height. This can sometimes slip as you are twisting the prop to do the final tightening. These props are much better since they have a positive ratchet mechanism to get close to the desired height which can not slip when you are twisting the prop to get the final required height. They also feel much more robust. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than others
2 Jan 2013
By displaze
, Bucks
" I bought a similar product from another supplier and returned them within a day as the plastic failed in several areas in nomral operation. These although more expensive are far stronger and better made. Well worth the extra money and appear very reliabible. "
Review 16 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
18 Nov 2012
By Ford
, Reading
" Enables me to put up plasterboard ceilings by myself. I've put up three ceilings in my house now using these and they really are excellent. You can loosen them slightly to move the board accurately into place and then they hold the board tightly while you drive the screws in. I put a length of timber between the props and the board to spread the load (I didn't bother securing the timber to the props) "
Review 17 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spot on!!!!!!!!!!!!
17 Aug 2012
By Ratboy
, Sheffield
" Started trying to board out the ceiling of a victorian terrace loft - warped rafters, inaccurately set out timber framing, walls running out of square - an absolute nightmare! Bought these out of desperation, having failed with two of us to get the boards accurately cut (each one had to be offered up and marked as everything was that far out) and fixed at any rate. All I can say is I wish I had had them when I started the project as they would have saved so much time and effort. As for the product, I was sceptical about buying FS as most of their stuff is DIY grade, but I was really impressed with the quality of construction and ease of use. They can be flicked out to about the right size and then fine adjusted with the screw thread with one hand. The locking mechanism and all components seem to be very well made and I would have no hesitation buying this product or recommending it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not just any pole
1 May 2012
By Haagendazs
, kent
" very good pole i used to support a garage roof while cutting a window into the side wall which was supporting the roof beam. very good and better than the photos show. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An extra pair of hands
16 Apr 2012
By Cavetto
, Cambridge
" Essential equipment when boarding ceilings, far better quality than the other type of support rod that SF sell. "
Review 20 for Forge Steel Extension Support Rod Pack of 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
plasterer
27 Feb 2012
By matt09
, Notts
" these two are your best friends when boarding ceilings, no more balancing the board on your head whilst trying to hold a screw and the driver.
only problem ive found is that the metal clasp that interlocks with the prop doesnt last forever. i have had my pair for about a 2 years and the first one went a few months ago and the second has just snapped off today.
despite that i reckon il buy some more as they are easier and quicker to use than the other type on here.
"
Page : 1 2 next>