Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Bailey Drain Rod Set 12Pc

Bailey Drain Rod Set 12Pc
Average Customer Rating:
4.087 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 of 23(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Review 1 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
30 Jul 2014
By Ghosthunter121
, London
" great value for money cleared the drains worked a treat and attached nicely to my exisiting set. "
Review 2 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for the job
28 Jul 2014
By CastawayBob
, Ilfracombe
" These rods are perfect for clearing of household drains as long as you use them properly, went together well operated as they should. perfect price too!! "
Review 3 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job
13 Jul 2014
By Wallywaltona
, Grimsby
" Worked wonders for me today. Woke up to find my waste drain cover bulging! Not a pleasant job at all unblocking it but this set came to my rescue.
Highly recommend for similar applications, and a very good price to.
Happy customer "
Review 4 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ace piece of kit.
24 Jun 2014
By fitzy1948
, Midlands
" Well made product, did the job with ease,good value for money. "
Review 5 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drain rods
18 Jun 2014
By billy4
, Camberley
" They were just the job for me clearing a blocked drain in a few seconds, well done. "
Review 6 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best drain rods
16 Jun 2014
By Paulnikki
, Nottinghamshire
" Excellent product ever does exactly what it says cleaned outside drain perfectly "
Review 7 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drain rodding set
7 Jun 2014
By PhilFlute
, Tadley
" Excellent and sturdy set of rods. This is the second set that I have used to extend an older set. The joints are secure and pinned to ensure they do not part in use. The description says steel threads but they look like brass. Either way they do no corrode. The last blockage cost me £150 to call out a specialist drain cleaner so this time around I thought I would give it a go. Using the worm screw fitment it took me less than 10 minutes; could not have been easier although not the most pleasant job "
Review 8 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like rodding...
17 Oct 2013
By Leewurf
, Northampton
" Bought 2 sets of these to help us feed a cable through a cluttered and pretty minging underground conduit. Worked perfectly. Surprisingly light, just the right amount of flex and the pieces screwed together easily.
Bought the storage bag at the same time which nearly fits both sets of rods.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best drain unblocker
2 Dec 2014
By harvtrax
, surrey
" I was only running around last week trying to borrow a set of rods for another property - this week my own drain blocked. A fantastic investment, quick to screw together and lightweight, the threads are a little wonky but not a real issue and effective at clearing the blockage. Already paid for itself !
Thoroughly recommend. "
Review 10 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just the ticket
27 Nov 2014
By DiyRay
, Nottingham
" Having established that we had a blockage about 6 or 7 metres along our main sewer outlet, I was deliberating between buying this cheaper set at £22.99, or go for the more expensive Bailey set, which has blue coloured rods and comes with a 'drop scraper' and holdall, for £39.99.
I decided to go for the cheaper option and bought these rods and then the drop scraper and holdall separately, which saved me a fiver.
When I got the rods out of the box I could see what previous reviewers had referred to, when saying that the pins had not always been inserted correctly at point of manufacture, but I double checked that all the joints were fine.
These rods do look a bit cheap and not particularly durable.
But the bottom line for me, was that they cleared the blockage with barely any resistance, they are flexible enough to get around bends and they stood up to the job.
The alternative would have been a £150 call out charge, so just being good enough on the one occasion is good enough for me.
Only time will tell just how durable they are, but if I get one of them stuck down a drain some time in the future, they have at least paid for themselves on this occasion.
As long as you remember to keep rotating them clockwise as you go, they should stand up to most minor blockages !
"
Review 11 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for rootballs!!
27 Nov 2014
By Windswept
, Southampton
" I had roots pushing through a downpipe cover and clogging the gutter drainage. Couldn't get my hand around the bend in the pipe and couldn't clear the blockage (and didn't fancy the cost of DynoRod etc!)
Bought these for the double screw attachment and hoped they would be flexible enough to go around a plastic 90 bend - they were perfect. Monkey wrench on the rod and they bit into the roots and enabled me to pull the whole root mess out cleanly.
Brass fittings seem well made, the rods are sturdy but flexible and there are plenty of them. No bag or anything to put them in but that's a small price!
"
Review 12 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
drain rod poles/kit
16 Nov 2014
By Blodwenpig
, Pontypridd
" did the job in hand .Bit too early to rate reliabity.
Build quality is fair early to say.My only problem is that it did not come a stronger bag. But you only get what you pay for
"
Review 13 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really useful rods
11 Oct 2014
By merli
, Newport
" Bought thse in a hurry and found them absolutely invaluable. Bought in haste but will keep them because they work a blessed treat. "
Review 14 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job!
6 Oct 2014
By Maloneranger
, Belfast
" The rods I borrowed from a neighbour did not give the length needed [~15m]. To get the length needed, I bought two of these, which was much cheaper than buying separate extensions. The run was straight, and I had no real problems. The brass couplings seemed very good - professional even. "
Review 15 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
baily drain rods
23 Aug 2014
By sewerman
, brixham
" well made hook is mega used today british made will use once a year "
Review 16 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value set
13 Jul 2014
By Decto
, Macclesfield
" As other reviewers noted, these will often retain a bit of a bend after use, especially if you've been round a tight corner. Doesn't impact on performance though.
Rods seem tougher than expected. The ends have a pin through the plastic. After some vigorous use trying to free them when I got them stuck in a hidden manifold the are still in good condition. I could have used a lot more force.
One reviewer said the pin holding the end was missing; this is clearly a manufacture fault, all ends on both my sets have a pin through the fitting. Worth checking before first use!
Overall pleased with them and they can hide away til next time.
Note: the water authority are now responsible for any shared drains on your property, you just need to worry about the bit until you enter the shared drain. "
Review 17 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Useful rod set
7 Jun 2014
By AmiServ
, Southampton
" Just the paddle I needed to get me back down the creek. "
Review 18 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just the job
10 Mar 2014
By decmate
, Banstead, Surrey.
" Good value drain rod set. Does what it is supposed to do, no problems. Unlike some other sets, it comes with 2 useful tools, the "corkscrew" and a plunger.
Not sure why other outlets sell a set of Drain Rods with a sweeps brush.
"
Review 19 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why change if it works?
4 Oct 2013
By Lofty59
, Herts
" A very simple tool to do the job. Not the answer to everything, nothing ever is but clearly does what you would expect it to do & will earn its cost easily on its first use. Good Value. "
Review 20 for Bailey Steel Jointed Black Drain Rod Set 12 Pieces
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Drain Rod Set
15 Dec 2014
By MinsterworthRebel
, Gloucester
" Wanted a set of rods to clean out a chimney, didn't want to spend the extra on a Bailey Blue set so thought these would do.
They did the job but I found them very rigid compared to drain rods I have used in the past. Think they may be a little too rigid and not bend enough if I were to use them on a blocked drain
"
Page : 1 2 next>