Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit

Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Review 1 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
22 Nov 2014
By Audiguypaul
, Wilts
" I've just used this to tank 3 sides of a 760 x 2300mm shower cubicle in a small en-suite, . It's the first time i've used it and found it fairly easy to use after reading the instructions and watching the video.
There was plenty of the tape and i've got about 1/3 left which i'll keep for later. My only small gripe is the price, it's a bit steep but after suffering with leaking showers in the past and seeing the damage it can cause then it makes the cost a little less painful. Overall worth it for the peace of mind and i'll be using it again on my other shower and bath in the near future.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
100% watertight
11 Sep 2014
By DevilS
, Weston-super-Mare
" Best waterproofing kit on the market
for the best price from ScrewFix.
Using this product,
I managed to convince many customers,
that wetroom can be done anywhere they like.
"
Review 3 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good item but should be @ £25
9 May 2014
By Rizo
, Croydon
" This is a good item to use but it should be sold at around £25 and not for £60. It is simply some sealent with a membrane and membrane tape. The product works well (I think). I used it to tank the walls before tiling on top and installing the shower cabinet. No leaks from anywhere so far but it's only been 2 weeks. I have trust in the product that it will do what it says. Mapei does good products all round. "
Review 4 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
15 Jan 2014
By TheBassman
, Molesey
" I used this to fix an ongoing issue with a leaky shower cubicle, the tiles had been fitted without any sort of membrane and the damp was going through the wall. I stripped off the tiles until I had uncovered the damp area, I let this dry and then used this kit, for the corners I used 2 pieces of tape then loads of the membrane liquid, it has been 6 months now and no repeat of the damp issue. I had enough left for a friend to do his shower as well "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product!
20 Oct 2013
By housefixer
, Surrey
" I was initially sceptical about using this product largely due to its cost. I used it to line all 3 walls around a bath into which I had fitted a shower. These are notorious for leaking so in reality, I decided to use this is desperation and followed the user instructions meticulously. I can now confirm 2 years later, that there is no evidence of a leak either on the ceiling below or directly under the bath. It's worth every penny and would thoroughly recommend it. "
Review 6 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best ever
10 Jul 2013
By Valdemaras
, Harlow
" Great product, easy to use, does the job if used corectly. "
Review 7 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
21 Mar 2013
By Dettybo
, Kent
" Used this to tank the walls to install shower enclosure in bathroom. Complete novices to shower installation DIY we used this to make sure that the enclosure is fully waterproofed. It's easy to use, good value for money and fully recommended. So far so good, no leakage around the shower tray! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fab
11 Aug 2012
By dor1
, swansea
" great product does what it says it does and easy to use. "
Review 9 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good buy
2 Aug 2012
By northernmonkey
, manchester
" A good quality tanking/waterproofing product and super value at the trade price.
Found the manufacturers stated 1.5kg/m2 to be more accurate than previous reviews, to acheive the recommended 1-2mm thickness. The 5kg MAPEGUM in the kit covers 3.3m2.
Only time will tell as to its reliabilty. "
Review 10 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Kit
2 Mar 2012
By nikaplumber
, Gloucester
" More than enough to do a 900mm x 1400mm shower going up the wall 2m with 2 coats. "
Review 11 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use great price
13 Aug 2014
By campfreddie
, Cloud nine
" As title says easy to use just remember the 1-2 hour drying times between the 3 coats. Couldn't find a similar product near this price. Excellent . "
Review 12 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shower Waterproofing Kit
30 Oct 2013
By Anonymous
, Wiltshire
" Another quality product from Mapei. Easy to use & apply. Will be using this again for future shower installations. "
Review 13 for Mapei Shower Waterproofing Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doing it right
7 Jan 2012
By HillClimb
, Bucks
" Just used this kit to tank the walls of my new shower (a 1500mm by 800mm wall-in with a tray). So had 3 walls to waterproof, totalling 7.5sq meters. The primer (which is about the worst smelling product I have ever used - bad eggs) was enough for 2 coats, had tape left over and plenty of the main mapegum tanking liquid membrane. Its a bit of the challange to not get wrinkles in the tape in internal corners if they are less than perfectly square. But applying the gum is very easy, dries quickly, is easy to clean and looks like a good surface to tile on. As a leading tile adhesive/grout manufacturer, I'd hope Mapei know what they doing with this tanking product and the Screwfix price makes this the best value tanking product from a premier league manufacturer. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.